We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! They Really Know Seafood.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dockside Dave's - CLOSED

Dockside Dave's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! They Really Know Seafood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I were staying in St. Pete Beach and decided to byspass some of the fancier establishments and try Dockside Dave's based on the online reviews. I am so glad we did!

You could easily drive by this "hole in the wall" location and not realize it is home to some of the best seafood in the Tampa Bay area.

We had the seafood bisque which was surprisingly light and extremely tasty. We both ordered the Captain's Platter with grouper, scallops and shrimp. Based on our server's suggestion, we tried the country fried batter which was amazing. Lighter than your typical batter fry, it had seasoning and added an excellent taste to the dish.

All in all, everything was amazing and not a crumb was left on our plates.

We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoleGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    129
    34
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Two times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Love this place, the wait staff is fun and very attentive. Always get the shrimp, this time it wasn't as good as normal, but we still went back a 2nd time. I even love the waffle fries.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canfield
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

we ate here our first day at St. Pete Beach. Small place on Gulf Blvd, not a lot of atmosphere, casual dining. Our party had 3 grouper dinners, a salad, and grouper nuggets. The onion rings and calamari are very good. I would pass on the key lime pine, not "limey" at all, on a chocolate graham cracker crust. Weird combination.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mimi68Canfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best Fried Grouper Sandwiches Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was traveling on business and spending a week in Tampa St. Pete area. My business associate suggested Dockside Dave's for the fried grouper. My all time favorite fried grouper sandwich is at Islamorada Fish Company. This one ranks right there! It is fresh awesome grouper. Very crisp beer batter! So Tasty! It was about an 8x8 inch piece of thick grouper. Amazing! It is now on my list of places I have to return to. Thanks Dockside Dave's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patstnt0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reviews are Right - Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had the grouper sandwich and onion rings. Best grouper sandwich I have ever had. This was my favorite meal in St Petes. Everyone of us loved it. Must stop by here. Try the horseradish sauce with the onion rings. Writing this review makes me wish I was back there. Very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Girl1Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dockside Dave's also viewed

 
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing