We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Shabby Chic - shabby with roaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island's End Resort
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Shabby Chic - shabby with roaches”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were in FL for an annual reunion and were returning guests to Island’s End. Last year we stayed in lovely Unit F which is right on the water. Unit F is kitschy cute whereas Unit B where we stayed May 1-5 is worn and tired. The kitchen is in the bedroom. The sheets were pilly and the comforter needed cleaning. Worse, each day brought us a new giant cockroach. The first was discovered in the bathroom on day 1. Next cockroach was found when it crawled on my ankle while I was standing in the bedroom - it felt like a bite and was a horrible experience. We told management who tried to placate us by telling us it was a Palmetto bug. (Palmetto bug is a cuter name than the American cockroach). No offer to change rooms or even an apology. The bathroom door is dirty and the bathtub looks dirty and water stained. The community washing machine was filthy.

Even worse was the shabby treatment given to us by the owner. We are middle-aged professional business women. We returned after a late evening and one of us thought she had lost her wallet. She went outside to look for it and unfortunately, woke up another hotel guest. The next morning while at breakfast on the deck of the office, the owner loudly and publicly said that we had woken up the entire place the night before looking for the wallet (but not her and she lives onsite-just yards away). We profusely apologized as we felt terrible, but the owner wouldn’t let up-she went on and on about it; we were stunned by her meanness. Her berating us was not simply unprofessional, she was contemptuous. She continued to scold us as if where we delinquent teenagers. She even said something derogatory about us having breakfast so late (10:45am-we were on vacation!). We found out later by a nice staff person that only ONE person complained and they had checked out so we couldn’t apologize directly to him. Because it was raining, we stayed in that afternoon – we had to shut the blinds because we could see the owner peering over at us from the office deck while she cleaned.

Breakfast is served only once a week. The resident dog is super cute. The staff is very nice, warm and helpful. The location is good. The place needs updating and a good cleaning. The dust behind the dresser is half an inch thick (an item slid behind the dresser, so we had to look). The cockroaches were disgusting. The treatment by the owner was inexcusable. No one in our group of four will ever stay there again. We relayed our poor treatment to the others in our reunion group of 12 along with the local people we know there. Such poor business relations to alienate and be so disrespectful to guests – exponentially bad considering how many people we know.

Very expensive hotel for intolerably poor treatment and worn furnishings ... and cockroaches. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Unit F is great - right on the water. Private and away from the leering eyes of the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WereOff2SeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islands E, Manager at Island's End Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am sorry you had such an unhappy stay with us this time. Unfortunately for us, the palmetto bugs and / or cockroaches are always a big problem. We did have Orkin come out and spray after you noticed them. I do not know why Unit B has more that the others. Our working theory is because it is surrounded by trees that they like to hide in.

As for the treatment by the "owner". That person is not the owner, she is an employee. She has been spoken with. You should not have been treated that way. If there was a problem with noise, it should have been addressed in private. No matter what, our goal is to make our guests excited to come back.

Breakfast is actually served 3 times per week; Tuesday and Thursday have a continental breakfast while Saturday has a hot breakfast.

I am glad you enjoyed Gunner (he's mine), I know he loved the attention you girls gave him.

We never want guests unhappy, so I hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayonet Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My Brother and SIL just got married here on 5-10-14. The grounds are well maintained and quaint in a beachy Florida style. The views spectacular! Rooms were clean and stocked with the essentials. What puts them above 5 stars are the employees. I can't say enough good things about them.

They went above and beyond their job to help make things happen and in doing so took a lot of stress off the wedding party not only during the set-up, but throughout the evening.

From setting up lights, to having a stash of plastic table covers to offer up when we were short. Saving the Mother of the Bride a trip out to the store. When the corsage pins were misplaced, they even had those. Guests were greeted for us as we scrambled to finish getting ready. Melodie even changed into a nice dress that matched our colors and stayed late into the evening to make sure things went smoothly.

Thank you for the hospitality! You gals are amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property, exceptionally clean lodges and GREAT fishing. Melody, property manager, was a joy to talk every day. Had the opportunity to meet the owner who was so friendly and showed us around property. This is a dog friendly property and have their very own mascot, Gunner. Sunsets are beautiful so make shore you walk the shoreline under the dock.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our second year at Island's End was just what we needed after the Winter of 2014: We talk about our return all year, but during those cold, snowy days it is especially nice to look forward to our trip south, come April. The peaceful setting, ocean view, access to the beach and cordial staff keep us coming back - We are have booked for 2015. We are in cottage "C", in the center of the grounds: Living room, one bedroom, bath and full kitchen, perfect for us. Fishing off the end of the pier is an enjoyable pastime for some of the guests, I prefer the relaxation offered by the hammock and lounge chairs, soaking up some much needed warmth. Walks on the beach or the streets of Pass A Grille are a good way to start the day - Taking the dog next door to the unofficial dog beach is a blast too. Yes, this resort is pet friendly, and I think/know our dog Auggie had the best time, Two or three days each week the staff serves a breakfast that serves as an opportunity to network with the other guests who are willing to share their adventures and of stories of home. If your looking for a place to relax, shed life in the fast lane for awhile, this could be the place for you. We had a wonderful time, left just a few days ago, those memories will keep us going for another year until we rejoin our friends in the place we call, Paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is our fifth year in a row to spent part of March and early April at Islands End. We have added even more time for next year planning a full three weeks here as an escape from the frigid North. We like our compact Unit E with a view of both the morning sunrise and evening sunset from our front door deck. This end of the peninsula is quiet and relaxed and the staff is attentive to our needs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights- on tour of colleges. It really is at the end of the island.
We stayed in Unit A which was charming. There is a living room kitchen as you come in and a walk out to the pool- which is right at the back door -and to view of the water. Beyond the patio there are big rocks and then the water( no water access). From the deck chairs we could see dolphins jumping and boats going by. It was lovely. Patio faced south so flooded with sunlight all day. We had great sunrise and sunset views since we were at the islands end.
A small hall leads to a full bathroom and a bedroom on the left- with king bed. To the right was another bedroom with a king bed and water views. If you went thru the bedroom there is another room with a couch and TV and a full bathroom at the end- with a whirlpool tub. Also with nice views of the communal patio and water beyond. It had a separate door to that area.
So if you need all 3 bedrooms, you do need to walk thru one bedroom to get to the room with the pullout and have to walk thru that room to get to the bathroom. We only needed 2 bedrooms, so no issues for us.
Unit A was like an old homey comfy cottage. Comfortable couch and chair to watch tv, and very clean.
A short walk took us to the beach.
It was also an easy walk to restaurants in pass a grille. We had great Italian food one night and grouper another night. Not all the restaurants are open every day. We were there a Monday and a Tuesday.
I would happily stay there again if we are back in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank YazB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We celebrated Our Jessica's 16th in Unit A in Aug '13... a week of great fun & the unit is Fantastic... We had a photo shoot & the grounds gave us Great pics....the summer of '13 we stayed in Unit D, E, & A....we're planning this summer so Units B&C are next.... everyone of the staff is superb..... The AM breakfast were served in the Gazebo with a flair & plentiful... This is THE place to stay for a real homey feel of olde time Fl.....Thanks to the staff for making Our celebrations the best in all the years we've PAGed......Looking forward to Our 2014 summer....

Room Tip: ALL units are 100% recommended.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaMonaEsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sabal Palms Inn
Sabal Palms Inn
#4 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island's End Resort

Property: Island's End Resort
Address: 1 Pass a Grille Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4326
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island's End Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Island's End Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island`s End Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Island's End Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing