We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Inn on the Beach for our wedding last spring and went back again this spring. It's a peaceful and relaxing place. Sheila and Dee and the rest of the staff are helpful but not overbearing. The layout of the hotel, with all of the rooms facing a courtyard, creates a quiet sense of community with other guests. The beach, which is just across the street, is much more natural and less commercial than other places in Florida. There's an assortment of chairs and umbrellas available to take to the beach. We never had any problems getting chairs or an umbrella. We stayed in the Egret room for both visits and spent hours on the private gulf-view patio. Inn on the Beach is within walking distance of several great restaurants. We love Inn on the Beach and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MQ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    105
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
118
395
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We have recently returned from a four night stay in the ‘Inn on the Beach’. It was a lovely experience. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms called ‘Sunflower’ which was beautifully clean and very well appointed. We arrived late so the room was left unlocked for us with the lights on, this was most welcome after a long flight from the UK. During our stay we visited the Shell Key Reserve ate at ‘The Brass Monkey’, ‘Sea Critters’ and the ‘Seahorse Restaurant’ – all were very good. We watched the sunset from a very cold and windy roof terrace at ‘The Hurricane’. The weather was unexpectedly cold during our stay so because of this Sheila organised a bit of a pizza party and get-together on the Friday evening which was very thoughtful and a great way to get to know our fellow guests. Nothing was too much trouble for the Sheila and the staff and should we ever return to Pass-a-Grille the ‘Inn on the Beach’ would always be our first choice to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you, MJV10, for taking the time to share your experience about Inn on the Beach with others. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit - and the pizza!! Also glad that you enjoyed the food at some of our local restaurants; we are very lucky to have so many food spots within walking distance. I have passed your kind comments along to our staff as well - we have a great team of which we are very proud. All of us want to help you have a memorable, relaxing visit to our beautiful community. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed at the Inn several times over several years. I have never been disappointed by the Inn,any of the acoomodation I have stayed in or by the hospitality of Sheila,the Innkeeper and her staff. I LOVE the Inn and everything about it. So relaxing, just like Pass a grille ! Hoping to go back SOON. (Trouble is, with all the good write ups ...there may just not be room at the Inn!)

Room Tip: Just choose whichever takes your fancy, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbeachhutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have been to Inn on the Beach every spring for fifteen years. We would never think of going anywhere else for our spring break. Innkeeper Sheila McChesney and her staff make every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The location is near restaurants and right across from the beach.. Much of their business is repeaters like us. I think that says it all. We are already booked for April of 2014.

Room Tip: We always stay in Room 7, the Blue Hibiscus. It has a huge deck that is in the sun for most of the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldteacher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNonBeach, Manager at Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Oldteacher25 - we thank you for being some of our favorite, longtime, repeat guests, and for taking the time to share your experiences with others! We are so grateful for your loyal patronage every year and would not take that for granted - we know there are many choices out there for places to stay. I have passed your kind comments on to our awesome staff - we are very lucky to have them as well - it takes a village, as they say:) Looking forward to seeing you next spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Inn for 1 night and enjoy our stay very much. The room was very clean, spacious, well equipped and has a nice view to the ocean.
The girls running the place are very friendly and helpful. We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moriah, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Since many years, I have enjoyed to spending as much time as I can manage at this lovely little Inn just across the road from my favourite beach. With its attractive rooms decorated in colours guaranteed to please the eye and relax the mind, its bright courtyard in which palm trees flourish, its friendly clientele and outstanding Innkeeper and staff, I can count on the Inn on the Beach to deliver an annual dose of relaxation that leaves me looking forward to my next year's stay. I have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

For the third time in three years we returned for seven days to the Inn-on-Beach in Pass-A-Grille. We prefer to have space and find it in the cottage which received another very careful but lovely redecoration. Sheila has such a fine taste and understanding how travelers like to enjoy some time in this very nice accommodation. It seemed to be perfect last year, now it is more than that. We enjoyed every minute we stayed inside the rooms. The second week in March brought some 60s F but with the sun we enjoyed a long breakfast on the terrace before we went out to Pass-A-Grille. You will not find anything comparable in the area. I rated the swimming pool to be the Gulf of Mexico. But be advised to book well in advance. I will definitely return in 2014

Room Tip: I can recommend any room which is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdharry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,562 reviews
3.2 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1401 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, beach-casual, friendly Inn with updated, comfy rooms located in the historic community of Pass-a-grille, southern end of St Pete Beach. Daily coffee service, weekend breakfasts, beach towels & chairs, BBQ grill, parking, and WiFi provided at no additional charge. Peaceful, walking and biking-friendly area, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, boutique shops, and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Inn On The Beach St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing