We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Inn”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2008

My wife and I just got back from a great weekend at the Inn on the Beach at Pass-a-grille. We stayed in the White Ibis room for two nights. Everything in the room was wonderful with a great balcony view of the beach. Sheila, the innkeeper, was helpful with restaurants and activities. Beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas were available daily. Coffee was ready each morning and continental breakfast was fairly standard fare. I would definitely recommend this inn to friends and stay again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmckin9061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2008

Stayed in Shangri-La at Thanksgiving. The weather was wonderful and the apartment-like room we had was perfect. We were able to cook our Thanksgiving dinner in the oven and have a beautiful sunset while we ate.
The staff are friendly; everything is clean; beds are comfortable and free wi-fi is the best. My husband and I love being able to walk from our bedroom to the beach in our bare feet. The freash fruit salad on Saturday mornings is a delicious treat!!! Thanks Sheila!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annajomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Having spent the previous few nights at top-class hotels a little reluctant to "downgrade" to a "motel-type" establishment but we had to economise and knowing the Pass- a- Grille area from previous visits I was fairly confident that we would find something suitable. Our first choice was fully-booked but seeing a vacancy sign outside The Inn on the Beach checked in for 4 nights. The establishment is friendly and run most efficiently by the Innkeeper Sheila. Our room (Spoonbill) was spacious and well-appointed with a great little balcony overlooking the beach. Free wi-fi and complimentary weekend breakfast were added benefits. Our only disappointment was the lack of a proper wardrobe for our clothes- one of those flimsy canvas things just looked out of place in the otherwise smart room and could easily be replaced by something more substantial. Altogether a pleasant stay, although room rates are not cheap as you definitely are paying for the location on this stretch of beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank greytraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Old reviews of this property on Trip Advisor must have been done prior to the new Innkeepers taking over within the past 5 years. It was the recent feedback that prompted me to give it a try.

First of all, Pass-A-Grill is not like anywhere else in the St Pete/Treasure Island/Clearwater areas . . . and what a GREAT thing that is. Unspoiled, uncongested, under developed, and a little forgotten about; giving this place the charm and relaxing "Key-Westish" laid back feeling. The beach is long, sandy and loaded with shells. The water is a crystal clear sea foam green and the sunsets are un-paralleled anywhere in the state.

Inn on The Beach is located just about half way between the beginning of the Pass-A-Grill beach and the end of peninsula. There is a quiet beach road between the inn and the walk over to the beach area. The inn is relatively small and its aged architecture makes it appear old; but it has been nicely updated and maintained by the new owners. We arrived after regular check-in, and even though the innkeepers where not available, our room was ready and waiting for us.

We had the Hibiscus room which was ground floor near the breakfast area. I think it may have been the same room as one of the reviews I read here. The room had two entrances/exits; one from the main courtyard and another to a secluded, sunken side porch area. Painted in hues of green and coral the room was clean and well maintained. The kitchen area seemed to be recently updated and the bath was nicely finished in tile with nice fixtures. The only thing missing was a fan in the bath, but it proved not to be much of an issue. This room did have the glass-block wall that looks as if it was once a doorway. While other reviews of this room complained about the light and noise, we did not experience any issues with it. I can say that I would prefer a mirror to the glass block, but it was not a problem. The bed as “ok” and the pillows, we both thought a little on the hard side. The bed was on a wheeled frame with no headboard, and it did move a bit.

In the morning there is a reasonable assortment of Bagels, English Muffins, Cinnamon Bread as well as fresh fruit, cut pastry, butter, cream cheese and jam. Coffee and orange juice were available, but Tea would have been a nice option.

Inn on The Beach is a great escape from the hustle and commercialized part of St Pete. I would not recommend this property to families, but for couples looking to truly get away it is great. If you are high maintenance you will not get along well in this town. Pass-A-Grill and Inn on The Beach are a treasure to the Old Florida Style.

Other – Even if you do not stay in Pass-A-Grill try the Black Palm Restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MardiGrasGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

So, my partner and I stayed here for 4 nights last January.

First of all I want to say that the area is very pretty.
Passe-a-grille is charming, and is very Key-west like (minus the drunk people) versus the commercial strip of St. Pete Beach.
There are a few restuarants within walking distance.
The beach is literally right across the street and is wonderful, sugary sand with lots of shells and clear water.

We stayed in one of the more inexpensive rooms on the bottom floor. Our room was clean, and the bed was comfy. there was a full kitchenette that was awesome. There was a glass-block wall that looked like it was installed to block-up a doorway that leads to the courtyard area, which I didn't like. There was straw blinds to cover it, but it didn't do any good to prevent light from coming in at night.

During our stay there was a horrible rainstorm. A tornado actually came through about 60 miles north! Our windows started to leak really badly. We called to notifiy the innkeeper (left a message) and decided to flee East for a night. Upon our return, they had replaced the blinds and fixed the leak. This was great, but I expected a discount to compensate for the issue, which I never received...it definately looked like they had problems before with leaks at the windows.

Anyway, I would recommend this place to others, and in general it was a nice and clean place to stay. I just wouldn't stay on the bottom floor again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

My husband and I stayed at Inn on the Beach in Pass a Grille Beach last week for our week long vacation and we cannot say enough positive things about this place! We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. We visit St Pete Beach and Pass a Grille Beach almost every year and will be booking our next stay here. I should mention that we did not stay in the Inn, we rented one of their apartments next to the Inn. We stayed in the one they call "Love Shack." When we arrived the lady who runs the Inn, Shelia was so nice and made us feel welcome. She even personally walked us to our apartment. It was located on the upper level and had high open cathedral ceilings and hard wood floors. The paint colors and decor were peaceful and serene. The bathroom has a pedestal sink and stone tiled stand up shower. There are many windows in the unit and so you can open the blinds in the day and let the sun light in which just makes it so bright and cheery. It was spotlessly clean and had a fresh smell. The bed was heavenly! Some mornings we found it difficult to get out of bed, it was sooo comfortable. It has very soft egyptian cotton sheets and the pillows are soft and feathery and the quilt on top was also very soft. It has a large balcony/sun deck with a nice patio set and a private parking space just for this unit. We felt very at home here and would stay again and again. We thought the price was quite reasonable for what we ended up with. The apartment is quite a bit larger than we could tell from the photos online too. It has a fully equipped kitchen and so we bought groceries and enjoyed our own meals. The location is across from the beach, but very, very close. We walked across several days in a row and also drove down to the end of the road where there is a fishing pier, but you have to pay to park there. We also were able to our daily excercise by walking around the block, but we also walked on the beach too.There are several restaurants and shopping very close, some of them within walking distance. On our last day, we didn't want to go home. It was so quiet, peaceful and relaxing. We would definitely recommend this to any and all and we will be back. Shelia, the Inn keeper even bid us farewell as we were packing up our car. This place is a gem and we will return! Thanks so much for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayzeehaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Inn on the beach in Pass a grille was just what we wanted. Its more of a B and B vibe than hotel with all the vacationers gathering in the coutryard each morning for coffee and conversation. Our room had a small kitchenette and a king size bed with an awesome balcony over looking the Gulf of Mexico. While we found the bed a little firm for our liking it was do-able. The bath was small but clean. This inn is older but has been well maintained and appears to have recently been updated. The innkeeper Sheila is very friendly and can get you whatever you need. Overall I would say it was a great deal for the money and would suggest it to anyone.
Pass a Grille is on the very southern end of St Pete beach and has almost no multi story condos or hotels. It is much quieter than St Pete Beach proper and still has some of the charm of Old Florida. It has great shelling and beautiful sunsets and is about 40 min from Tampa International airport.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sndedit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,938 reviews
3.2 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Address: 1401 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £179 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, beach-casual, friendly Inn with updated, comfy rooms located in the historic community of Pass-a-grille, southern end of St Pete Beach. Daily coffee service, weekend breakfasts, beach towels & chairs, BBQ grill, parking, and WiFi provided at no additional charge. Peaceful, walking and biking-friendly area, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, boutique shops, and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Inn On The Beach St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing