We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found the Inn on the Beach!”
Review of Inn on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we found the Inn on the Beach!”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We were looking for a last-minute family getaway to the west coast of Florida for the new year. Since we spend a great deal of time outside while on vacation, we don't have much use for high-end resorts that focus on pampering and sitting still. But we know that the quality of beach accommodations can vary widely, especially when dealing with the more casual properties that we prefer. That's why the Inn's website intrigued us - the rooms seemed to be up-to-date, well-decorated and comfortable with a good offering of amenities, all for the price we would normally see for 'no-frills' accommodations.

I'm pleased to say that the Inn exceeded all of our expectations and gave us the perfect balance of relaxation and accessibility to Pass-A-Grille. We were in easy walking distance of the historic district, and the road we had to cross for beach access was certainly not a major highway or even a highly traveled city road.

Our room - the Orchid - had two beds so it was perfect for our family of three. We loved the decor and were impressed by the tile work, cabinetry and fixtures. The kitchen area was well-done. with like-new dishes and newer appliances. Definitely heads-and-shoulders above what we usually encounter when staying at the beach. This is definitely more of a B&B or inn than a typical beach hotel.

We peeked into a few other rooms and found the decor to be just as creative and inviting, though I believe most of the other rooms only sleep two. Some of the rooms have sitting areas as well.

On New Year's Eve we enjoyed live music from one of the guests playing in the courtyard, and every time we walked through the courtyard we would see at least one guest outside reading, grilling, enjoying coffee or just soaking up the sun. Very friendly crowd.

The on-site staff was very helpful, from the time we made the initial inquiry call until our check-out.

We will definitely be back - though we might make this a destination for a couples-only weekend since space would be tight if we tried to fit all three of us in any other room.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leecanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    100
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
107
372
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We had a long weekend in the Sunflower room. We loved the decor - ceramic tiles and bright oil paintings were complimented by the other colors and spaciousness. we loved walking right across the street to the beach, with the beach chairs that they provide in-hand. The residential area of Pass-a-Grille is laidback and relaxing - we simply enjoyed the beach and the short walk to the 8th/9th avenue restaurants and shops, including the beachside grill and an ice-cream shop. we also enjoyed the short (15 min.) drive to Fort deSoto County park's north beach for a day. That beach has nice shaded areas in addition to open beach and swimmable waters.

Both of the inn-keepers, Sheila and Linda, were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions (where to snorkel, other beaches to go to, restaurants, etc.). the other guests were also friendly. The drawback of the Sunflower is that you can hear noise from the room above and outside in the courtyard, although that might be solved by running the AC for white noise.

we would definitely go back, and we hope to!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maspaseos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

My wife and I just got back from a great weekend at the Inn on the Beach at Pass-a-grille. We stayed in the White Ibis room for two nights. Everything in the room was wonderful with a great balcony view of the beach. Sheila, the innkeeper, was helpful with restaurants and activities. Beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas were available daily. Coffee was ready each morning and continental breakfast was fairly standard fare. I would definitely recommend this inn to friends and stay again myself.

  • Liked — Beach view, roomy, Sheila, weather
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmckin9061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Stayed in Shangri-La at Thanksgiving. The weather was wonderful and the apartment-like room we had was perfect. We were able to cook our Thanksgiving dinner in the oven and have a beautiful sunset while we ate.
The staff are friendly; everything is clean; beds are comfortable and free wi-fi is the best. My husband and I love being able to walk from our bedroom to the beach in our bare feet. The freash fruit salad on Saturday mornings is a delicious treat!!! Thanks Sheila!!!

  • Liked — all-encompassing room (comfy bed, wireless internet, beach proximity, freeway access)
  • Disliked — having to leave!!!!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annajomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Having spent the previous few nights at top-class hotels a little reluctant to "downgrade" to a "motel-type" establishment but we had to economise and knowing the Pass- a- Grille area from previous visits I was fairly confident that we would find something suitable. Our first choice was fully-booked but seeing a vacancy sign outside The Inn on the Beach checked in for 4 nights. The establishment is friendly and run most efficiently by the Innkeeper Sheila. Our room (Spoonbill) was spacious and well-appointed with a great little balcony overlooking the beach. Free wi-fi and complimentary weekend breakfast were added benefits. Our only disappointment was the lack of a proper wardrobe for our clothes- one of those flimsy canvas things just looked out of place in the otherwise smart room and could easily be replaced by something more substantial. Altogether a pleasant stay, although room rates are not cheap as you definitely are paying for the location on this stretch of beautiful beach.

  • Liked — friendly, clean, efficient
  • Disliked — n proper wardrobe
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greytraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Old reviews of this property on Trip Advisor must have been done prior to the new Innkeepers taking over within the past 5 years. It was the recent feedback that prompted me to give it a try.

First of all, Pass-A-Grill is not like anywhere else in the St Pete/Treasure Island/Clearwater areas . . . and what a GREAT thing that is. Unspoiled, uncongested, under developed, and a little forgotten about; giving this place the charm and relaxing "Key-Westish" laid back feeling. The beach is long, sandy and loaded with shells. The water is a crystal clear sea foam green and the sunsets are un-paralleled anywhere in the state.

Inn on The Beach is located just about half way between the beginning of the Pass-A-Grill beach and the end of peninsula. There is a quiet beach road between the inn and the walk over to the beach area. The inn is relatively small and its aged architecture makes it appear old; but it has been nicely updated and maintained by the new owners. We arrived after regular check-in, and even though the innkeepers where not available, our room was ready and waiting for us.

We had the Hibiscus room which was ground floor near the breakfast area. I think it may have been the same room as one of the reviews I read here. The room had two entrances/exits; one from the main courtyard and another to a secluded, sunken side porch area. Painted in hues of green and coral the room was clean and well maintained. The kitchen area seemed to be recently updated and the bath was nicely finished in tile with nice fixtures. The only thing missing was a fan in the bath, but it proved not to be much of an issue. This room did have the glass-block wall that looks as if it was once a doorway. While other reviews of this room complained about the light and noise, we did not experience any issues with it. I can say that I would prefer a mirror to the glass block, but it was not a problem. The bed as “ok” and the pillows, we both thought a little on the hard side. The bed was on a wheeled frame with no headboard, and it did move a bit.

In the morning there is a reasonable assortment of Bagels, English Muffins, Cinnamon Bread as well as fresh fruit, cut pastry, butter, cream cheese and jam. Coffee and orange juice were available, but Tea would have been a nice option.

Inn on The Beach is a great escape from the hustle and commercialized part of St Pete. I would not recommend this property to families, but for couples looking to truly get away it is great. If you are high maintenance you will not get along well in this town. Pass-A-Grill and Inn on The Beach are a treasure to the Old Florida Style.

Other – Even if you do not stay in Pass-A-Grill try the Black Palm Restaurant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MardiGrasGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

So, my partner and I stayed here for 4 nights last January.

First of all I want to say that the area is very pretty.
Passe-a-grille is charming, and is very Key-west like (minus the drunk people) versus the commercial strip of St. Pete Beach.
There are a few restuarants within walking distance.
The beach is literally right across the street and is wonderful, sugary sand with lots of shells and clear water.

We stayed in one of the more inexpensive rooms on the bottom floor. Our room was clean, and the bed was comfy. there was a full kitchenette that was awesome. There was a glass-block wall that looked like it was installed to block-up a doorway that leads to the courtyard area, which I didn't like. There was straw blinds to cover it, but it didn't do any good to prevent light from coming in at night.

During our stay there was a horrible rainstorm. A tornado actually came through about 60 miles north! Our windows started to leak really badly. We called to notifiy the innkeeper (left a message) and decided to flee East for a night. Upon our return, they had replaced the blinds and fixed the leak. This was great, but I expected a discount to compensate for the issue, which I never received...it definately looked like they had problems before with leaks at the windows.

Anyway, I would recommend this place to others, and in general it was a nice and clean place to stay. I just wouldn't stay on the bottom floor again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaky window
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Inn
Coconut Inn
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.2 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
2.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Beach

Property: Inn on the Beach
Address: 1401 Gulf Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, beach-casual, friendly Inn with updated, comfy rooms located in the historic community of Pass-a-grille, southern end of St Pete Beach. Daily coffee service, weekend breakfasts, beach towels & chairs, BBQ grill, parking, and WiFi provided at no additional charge. Peaceful, walking and biking-friendly area, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, boutique shops, and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Inn On The Beach St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing