We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, low key resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sirata Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice, low key resort”
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We very much enjoyed our quick two night retreat at the Sirata! It was clean and had all the essentials although its no luxury hotel. We sprung for the ocean view and had a very nice balcony on the second floor of building two overlooking the beach. We hit up Rum Runners for lunch one day and drinks the next, where they kept the yummy strawberry daquiri's coming! The Cobb Salad and wings were very good. The open layout and fountains in the courtyard was nice for a beachy getaway. Our last morning we went for a run on the beach and found many beachlovers enjoying the nice walk up and down St Pete Beach. We were rewarded by a small group of dolphins playing in the waves right in front of the Sirata! We jumped in for a refreshing swim and they showed us they weren't shy! The sand isn't as fine as clearwater but you certainly escape the crowds and can enjoy a much more laid back, chill out attitude. And much more affordable then tradewinds. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — clean friendly
  • Disliked — not the most comfy bed, small bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachpebbles47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    1,349
    625
    276
    211
See reviews for
1,347
1,123
95
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
215 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Don't let the word resort fool you. It is a motel that just happens to be on a nice beach. Easily the tackiest place I've ever stayed. Seriously, it not better than a Motel 6, but it's a lot more expensive.

  • Liked — Nice beach
  • Disliked — Roaches
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rdeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2008

My daughter and her fiancé planned their wedding reception at an environmental center near Ft. Desoto State Park in St. Pete Beach area. I planned the rehearsal dinner and breakfasts for both Saturday and Sunday at the Sirata Beach Resort just north of the reception location. We had about 80 people book rooms at the resort and had the rehearsal dinner Friday night. The weather was wonderful so we were able to use the Beachfront Breezeway which overlooked the Gulf and caught an awesome sunset with tiki torches. We ordered the Buckanner’s Treasure buffet dinner for 100 people and the food was outstanding. All evening long, I was complimented on the location of the reception, service and quality of the food. We also had breakfasts on Saturday in the Date Palm Room and Sunday in the Mediterranean Palm Room. We had buffets both days with an early continental breakfast (6:30-8:30 am) Sunday to accommodate those who had early flights. We were very pleased with the helpfulness of the staff and the quality of the food. The Date Palm has a beautiful balcony overlooking a patio.
In addition, I booked suites for my husband and myself and the bride and maid-of-honor. The bride’s suite became the hair salon Saturday morning, with views overlooking the Gulf. We had two hairdressers who worked on either side of a table in the suite. My suite was for makeup and was next door on the sixth floor.
We could not have been more pleased with the service, food and helpfulness of the Sirata Beach Resort.

  • Liked — On a beautiful Beach with great Food and Serrvice
  • Disliked — 4:00 check in
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyMOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Main complaint -- cockroaches in the bathroom (Building 1, 3rd floor). When I reported this to the front desk manager, her reply was, "Sorry about that, but we do have bugs in Florida." I was not satisfied. I had to insist upon dealing with the general manager until the front manager offered to comp me some of the room service charges (almost equivalent to one night's rate).
My other complaint is the quality of the beds. About the worst sagging spring mattress I've ever slept on (including european hostel beds from 20 years ago).
Otherwise, the food at the Sirata is okay, staff is very friendly and pool/beach services are what you'd expect. Be forewarned, it's not the cleanest place. Sirata is quite shabby.

  • Liked — pool/beach services
  • Disliked — the cleanliness of the rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astridVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sirata Resort Apr. 16 thru the 23.
it was absolutely wonderful. The staff was very friendly and the setting was wonderful. The rooms were very clean, we had a room on the gulf side which was great, the sunsets were beautiful. and we sat on the balcony and just enjoyed the view. We highly recommend this area of St. Pete Beach and the Sirata, you can be sure we will return.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATran331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Sirata during our April break from work (we're teachers) and had a wonderful, relaxing time. We arrived at the hotel at 11am and I was swimming in the Gulf of Mexico by 11:30. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they called our cell phone when it was, and had our luggage directly delivered to our room (thanks Paul from bell services!) while we were on the beach so we didn't have to miss a moment of our beach vacation.
The three places on the property to eat (Harry's Beach Bar, Rum Runners, and The Compass Grille) had decent food, no five star meals, and all three places had the same menu with the exception of The Compass Grille which had the bar menu plus a few more choices. My friend and I joined the Sirata Club (it's free to join, see their website or the people at check-in) and recieved 10 percent off our food and drinks at all three places.
When we didn't want to eat at the hotel we walked to local places (thanks to Polly at the front desk for suggestions and a map) and enjoyed local cuisine. We also walked to the local grocery store (Publix, about 4 blocks away) our first day and picked up groceries for breakfast and lunch to store in our room since we had a decent size mini-fidge. Bat's Taxi took us back to the Sirata with our groceries (too heavy to carry, plus we had milk) and it was only $4. We also found a great souvineer shop where everything was less than $5 in the Dolphin Village Shopping Center, which is where Publix, CVS, Bennigans, and Chick-Fil-A are. There's also a beach mart across the street from Sirata for any forgotten beach gear like chairs, umbrellas, sunscreen, floats, bathing suits, etc.
While we were there our room was adequate, and like other reviews the sheets didn't want to stay put on the beds but the room keys worked for us. It was clean and no insect sightings. We had a beachfront room with 2 queen beds in building 2, which is where I'd like to stay if I go back because it was a great location. Our balcony (we were on the second floor) had 2 chairs and a small table where we enjoyed our breakfast and lunch as well as the gorgeous sunsets. Don't pick a ground floor room because all you can see from it is the trees, dunes, and people walking by your door. Housekeepping was so-so and didn't come around until about 3pm, but very prompt when we asked for more towels. We also really enjoyed the fitness room which had something for everyone to workout with.
Overall, it was exactly as we hoped it would be. We didn't plan (or pay for) a five star vacation and this was the three star it claimed to be. All of the staff (especially Lara from Harry's Beach Bar) and guests we came in contact with were extremely pleasant. It was a low-key family friendly atmosphere. I'd definitely go back!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — We couldn't get a late check-out time.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMathTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We had a great stay at the Sirata. They let us check in early. We stayed in one of the beach front rooms and loved it! Waking up to the sound of the waves...the sunsets were spectacular...and the wildlife was extraordinary. We took along our Canon G9 and had a field day with pictures and took some excellent shots (even our 6yr old took some amazing landscape pics)! We ate at Crabby Bill's a few times and loved it. My husband loves Chick-fil-a, so that was on the list as well. There is a beach goods store across the street with reasonable prices. There is also a liquor store across the street with a wide variety of items for every thirst. We went there and got our drinks b/c the prices at both of the bars on the Sirata property were steep. The gym was well-equipped. The whole resort was clean and fully staffed with friendly people. The keys were very sensitive, but the front desk responded well and we got new ones immediately. Our daughter enjoyed the pool and the jungle gym. There are several places within the property to relax and read a book by waterfalls and blooming flowers. It was a wonderful experience. We will be back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank We3Getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Property: Sirata Beach Resort
Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2319
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing