We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not the Ritz but a great beach getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sirata Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its not the Ritz but a great beach getaway”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I am writing this review from my traditional oceanfront room that I have stayed in for 2 days. The room is overall very clean. All furniture seems new. The king size bed mattress is a little harder than I am used to but that is a minor issue. The room has a unstocked mini fridge which I prefer rather than a mini bar. This way I can stock it with whatever I choose. This particular room has a balcony with typical balcony chairs and a little table. There is a wall AC unit that does a decent job. I like it really cold so it cant keep up with that but it is still comfortable in the room. The bathroom is on the smaller size with just a shower, no bathtub,

We arrived at the resort around 2pm and our room was ready when we got here. There have been previous reviews which mention that parking can be an issue and it can. We got a spot but a little bit away from the room. Check in was smooth with no issues. The resort is pretty big so navigating your way around can be a little confusing.

There are a few restaurants/bars on the property. We went to Rum Runners and Harrys. Both were nice and great views. They are outdoors so it is hot and muggy. If they had some fans that might make it a little better. Food was average. Nothing special but nothing bad either.

Lots of weddings and other functions always going on. From our room you could not hear anything from the adjacent rooms but you can hear the doors closing and people talking in the hallway. I am using the free wifi and have not had any issues with speed or connectivity.

The beach is awesome and is really what people come here for. The hotel is old but updated many times. If you're looking for a luxury place such as the Ritz or Four Seasons this is not it but it is a clean, fun well run property. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsarge442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    1,346
    623
    276
    211
See reviews for
1,341
1,119
93
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked this hotel through a Southwest Vacations package. I called the day before we left to confirm our room and ask when we could check-in. They said 4:00 pm. Told them would be there around 1:00 and if could provide a room earlier, we would appreciate it. They agreed.
When we arrived, it was crazy busy. Person manning the parking lot was letting everyone in so we drove in and attempted to check-in. They said it would be about an hour and would call us. Three hours later at 4:00, we went to our room.
The room was on the corner of the building. It was incredibly small. It didn't really seem like a hotel room but more like a large closet. It smelled, was very dark and dirty. There were stains on the walls and the tile in the bathroom was black. The beds were so close to the t.v. cabinet at the end of the beds. Just no room at all. The bathroom was right off the room, not in a hallway as you come in the door or anywhere else; just right there. The toilet and shower were in a separate room from the sink and it was so small, the door barely closed.
There are three pool but they are small and everyone was allowed inside (even though they had signs everywhere that the pools are for hotel guests only, nobody was checking and we saw people coming in off the streets and just walking in). There were so many people in the pools and it was very hot so the pools were not cool at all. We sat on some lawn chairs surrounded by people smoking and drinking.
All that said, the worst part was the customer service. I called the front desk when we went back to room and asked for another room. I explained why it was uncomfortable. They said they didn't have anything. I asked if I could 'bump up' to another room. I would pay more if needed but couldn't stay in that room. They said there wasn't anything. They did not say, we are sorry? Can we do anything to make it better? If another rooms becomes available we'll call you? Can we come see what your concerned about? NOTHING! So we left.
We take one vacation per year and it's short. Staying in a dark, dirty small room on a busy corner of the hotel is incredibly dissappointing. But the worst part is knowing they don't care. When we checked out, I told them why and they didn't say anything then either. They were short and just said okay.
I coudn't understand their response and thought maybe because we booked through Southwest Vacations, that's why they were so dismissive. But I don't know. We did get a good price for the vacation but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BRizzo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear BRizzo2014,
Thank you for sharing your candid comments. We are so sorry you did not have a great stay with us. Southwest Vacations is one of our premier partners. Your association with them was not a factor in your room selection. The day you checked in was a sold out day for us and you were right it was very busy. We try diligently to check in guest before our 4pm check in time, but this sometimes is not possible. There is no excuse for how we responded to your request for a different room. We did not have the option to upgrade you or move you, but please accept our apologies for not being more sensitive to the situation. We train our staff to be friendly and responsive. I am sorry we let you down. Thank you for choosing the Sirata Beach Resort and do hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A recent trip nearly ruined by a mistake in booking Postcard Inn. PCI is NOT appropriate for families or couples looking for a beach getaway.
The folks at a local restaurant, Steam, connected us with the family owned Sirata... They got us checked in, matched our rate, checked on us multiple times. The property was clean, upscale, non pretentious... The bar at Harry's was enjoyable- great bartender- Dominic. Our room was clean, beautiful.... Everyone at the Sirata that we saw really seemed pleased to help! Obviously- that family is in the right business- hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jan H,
We were delighted to read you thought our resort staff was so caring and non pretentious. We have been a family owned resort for over 50 years and take pride in our friendly employees. We train our staff very hard to be responsive and attentive. Thank you for the recognition. We anxiously await your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend here in August. After a few minor disappointments, it turned into a big disappointment. Let's say we are those quiet ones who share our experience amongst family & friends to avoid such a property.

The desk staff seemed awfully confused. They also couldn't offer any info on the weather forecast for the weekend, other than "its going to be sunny & hot". The room was freezing - something we often don't experience at hotels. The thermostat was dropped to the lowest setting on the highest fan. I'm surprised it didn't freeze up! Have to say the only good surprise was one of the grounds men who was taking the trash out, held the elevator door open for us while walking down the hall, and then after wished us a good night. We saw him again the following day of which we were greeted with a smile and a good day! Finally a young man dedicated enough to engage with the guests.

The 2nd night, we just couldn't believe the demeanor & behavior of the other guests. We had our door knocked on at 1:30am of which appeared through the peek hole, to be a teenage girl with an ice bucket. In a mid-sleep panic, the girl ran after disrupting us. Then only to continue going in and out of her actual room next door. Amongst the parents who abandoned their teenage crew to go party at 2am, these teens continued throughout the night to go in and out of their room(s) slamming the door and screaming in the halls. I swear they didn't get to bed, as promptly at 5am, they were at it again. Security was called by a neighbor across from us, without result. Without sleep from the night, we just wanted a relaxing day at the beach....

We were warmly greeted at the beach side restaurant, only to be deceived by what should have been a quick breakfast before relaxing in the sun. A slow customer base, we were so surprised that it took over 40 minutes to get our egg breakfast. We watched several guests get custom omelets while we waited for a menu egg sandwich. After awhile, our server disappeared. We couldn't even pay for our meal. After an hour and 15 minutes, we finally got out to the beach, ...

After stepping into copper wiring and other odd items within the sand, we had enough. This place is done and we won't be returning. Can't believe I am saying that Fort Myers Beach may have been better maintained with its cigarette buds than this beach area, and with more attentive staff...

Room Tip: Try to select something quite, but you never know who is going to be placed next to you. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YourSecretShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear yoursecretshopper,
Thank you so much for your constructive comments. Please accept our apologizes for the issues you encountered with unruly guests and slow service in our restaurant. I have forwarded your comments to the Director of Security and the Director of Food and Beverage. You can rest assured improvements will be made. We are so sorry the noise issue marred your visit. We are known for our quiet and relaxing atmosphere. This certainly was an isolated incident. On the bright side, we are glad to hear you were greeted warmly and treated special by our grounds staff person. We do hope to see you on your next visit to St Pete Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived on 10th August. Excellent check in and had a free upgrade. Excellent staff all throughout the resort. Lovely on site food not overpriced. Beach lovely and clean. Pools heated with towels provided. Comfy beds and resort lovely and clean. Would definitely visit again :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first visit to St. Pete Beach and the Sirata, what a beautiful place. We arrived around noon on Friday, checked in and gave my cell number to let me know when the room would be ready. We went to Harry's Beach Bar for lunch where they served a very good fish sandwich. Took a ride around the area, returned about 3:00 when the phone rang that our room ready, an hour before check in. This is a pretty big place so it took a little time to get our bearings and find our beachfront room. Nothing fancy but very comfortable, and what a view of the white sand and gulf! Stopped at Compass Grille and looked at the menu but decided to give Rum Runners a try instead. What a nice beachfront bar/restaurant. We ended up spending most of our time (2 dinners and 2 breakfasts) here, plus a nice pool. So relaxing, listening to the entertainment, watching the Rays on several screens, watching the ocean, enjoying a few cold rum runners and oh those sunsets!. Best weekend I've had in a long time. Now to find an excuse to come back. Please don't tell anyone about this place, let's keep this a secret to ourselves.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Tim S,
Thank you so much for the wonderful praise. “BEST WEEKEND IN A LONG TIME” is our goal for you. We appreciate you pointing the great food and beverage options and relaxing atmosphere at the award winning Rum Runners grille. We agree the Sunsets are amazing. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family and I went on vacation last week and stayed at the Sirata Beach Resort in St. Pete Florida. The resort is located right in front of the beach. This is what we really wanted.
The hotel is old, looks old and feels old. However, management tries to keep things running the best possible way.You can see they really try.
There are 3 pools in the resort and they are all tiny. This was disappointing since my kids are nuts about pools and it was not really enjoyable to share a tiny pool with so many people.
The resort's most valuable asset is the personnel that works there. I have stayed at the Hilton, Hyatt and many other well known franchises and never ever had the level of service and cordiality I encountered at the Sirata. Every body that works there is super nice. I called maintenance a few times, and every single time the person would showed up at my door within minutes of my call and fixed the issue. That was great.
I strongly recommend this hotels for its location and the people that works there.
Almost forgot to mention something else. The burgers at rum runners are incredible delicious. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Property: Sirata Beach Resort
Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2319
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing