We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great beach hotel but loud at weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sirata Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great beach hotel but loud at weekends”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

we arrived from our Orlando week looking forward to a really relaxing, calming week here,well it was a Saturday afternoon and all didn't go to plan.... We didn't get a beach view although I had upgraded to a suite (apparently Monarch/Cosmos don't have any beach front rooms so don't be excited if you have booked with them!) so I was initially disappointed but infact we grew to realise this was a very nice room with bay views palm trees and plenty of space so I shouldn't have been put off. What was then terrible was the rowdy party that followed opposite (in the beach view room!!) 1030pm until 6 in the morning a constant stream of drunk, loud and crazy teens, my husband called security at 4 in the morning but it didn't work. After the morning mess of sick in the hall and litter bags galore all was quiet for the rest of the week all bar a few people returning late. The week got better and better- the beach is stunning, sunsets incredible and the hotel was very pleasant with small pools but we always got a space. We ate at Rum runners which was fair to average and the compass grill which we didn't like at all, gloomy and unwelcoming but there are plenty of places around in walking and car distance. So all in all great for a cheaper family holiday but I would not put it in the luxury market just because of the location. rating would be good- not average but its not very good so I had to choose that to rate

Room Tip: avoid weekends, enjoy the back of the hotel away from the noisy bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,349
    625
    276
    211
See reviews for
1,347
1,124
95
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland And Labrador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent a weekend at the Sirata with the 3 kids after a hectic 5 days in Orlando/Disneyworld. We wanted something on the beach, with a restaurant and bar on site and the Sirata was the perfect fit that met all our needs. Room was well maintained, with kitchen (stove/fridge) and A/C was ice cold. Sirata provided and extra cot for us that easily fit in the room.

Beach was great. We rented jet skis and did some parasailing which are located on the beach behind the hotel so no need for a long walk or driving to those activities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JASwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

People saying the rooms are outdated must not be familiar with the area. Most hotels have been there since the 70s if they've survived most of the storms so they are on the smaller side. When I went I felt the design was updated as much as it could be.
I was very comfortable in the room, but spent very little time in there! Had a blast at the beach, in the water, at the bar and barhopping to the bars at the other hotels with my friends. It was the last really fun adult vacation I had before the baby came!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank bogdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I got back on Aug 22, 2014 from a 3 night stay at Sirata! Our room was wonderful. Just steps from the beach 3123. Very roomy and a furnished kitchen with lots of coffee. The staff was wonderful. You are in walking distance from several places to watch the sunset. They provide towels and have a way to sign up for various water activities. I went on the 2 hour boat trip to Shell Island. Founds a dozen big sand dollars which was a real treat, plus saw a manatee and lots of dolphins. The boat driver got the dolphins to follow in our wake and took lots of time for us to take photos. There were just 5 of us on the boat so lots of attention. The only negative was finding out when we checked out that we were charged $8 a night for parking. I'd rather have it added to the room charge since there was no where else to park. I would go back again. There are 3 pools and they even had one for adults only while we were there.

Room Tip: We were in 6123 which was right next to the ocean front rooms and plenty big. They seems to have re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pflgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Travelled with two kids (14 & 7 yrs) from the Uk on an Orlando flydrive, Stayed here for four days upon recommendation for a beach break and to visit local friends. I booked a bay view suite and had requested a room with two proper beds due to musculoskeletal problems.

Reception staff were very helpful on check in. some guests pay additional parking so check whether it is included in your price or be prepared for an extra bill. Information on check in was good and staff helpful and friendly. I witnessed them deal with a number of complaints at check in and check out and they seemed to handle them as well as they could and remained polite at least.

When we got to our room we were really disappointed. The corridors were carpeted but very dirty in appearance, the lift had spilt powder in it (looked like sugar or washing powder) and dirt and it remained like that for the time we were there, the stairwells had stubbed out cigarettes, also not cleared up during our entire stay. The room was dark and dingy, the carpets your feet stuck to as you walked and the kitchenette was very cheap and old, in desperate need of upgrade. It all seemed shabby and dirty. (We immediately asked for a different room and were told to ask again the next morning..) When you open the hotel door, you walk the bedroom through to an open vanity sink unit (opposite which is a door to the tiniest of bathrooms) and then through to the kitchen/diner area that has a microwave, coffee machine, sink, fridge utensils etc, sofa, breakfast bar, table and tv with patio windows onto a small balcony overlooking mostly the road, carper and shops with the tiny glimpse of a bay (bay view) to the far right.... but as soon as you opened the sofa bed you didn't have room to walk round the bed to the kitchen area. We had to make the sofa bed up ourself as well, and the air con did not turn off (not even when the patio doors opened) so it was freezing that night.. As expected my sleep on a sofa bed made my bursitis flare up, and I spent the next day limping... but we were moved the next day and I downgraded to a normal room with two beds (no kitchen area) - i was not offered a refund on the difference even though the hotel could not provide me with the two beds we had booked in a suite room. The next room was brighter and the entry was via an external walkway - like a motel (the external walkway was also carpeted!) which meant it was dirty and sodden from overflowing air conditioning units and storm rain - they really need to strip up the carpets and tile!! The room was better - two queen beds, no kitchenette and a very tiny bathroom to one end. it came with fridge tv and coffee machine also and overlooked the pool. the old zircon unit worked ok, but it was under the window so if you were in the nearest bed you got hit most! Unfortunately my husband and I got bitten to death in this room, and looking up pictures of the toy but very itchy bites we can only deduce them to be bed bugs (very different to mosquito bites), we sprayed ourselves and the beds each night to no avail!

The pools are small, and the hotel busy so don't expect to actually swim...but great for dipping and keeping cooler. Towels are provided, Cabanas are $25 for the day. Good points, the rum runner and harrys bar are beautifully located and very casual areas to stay and enjoy the beach . We hung out at Harrys bar all night one night, pulled out guitars and had a lovely time relaxing with friends - one of our best nights of the holiday. I think in cooler months they light fire pits as well which must be really lovely.... . The beach is absolutely beautiful, white soft sand. sunsets amazing - the sea was warm, there is no real surf, but you could do some belly boarding. You also need to do the 'stingray shuffle' so that they disperse if you approach them, but we never saw any. We did see jellyfish on the beach, but not in the sea... It is truly a beautiful area which we would revisit, but I would stay elsewhere for accommodation.

Room Tip: dont bother with a bay view, try a high room with a pool or sea view to make it a nicer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacobsyummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curtis A, Manager at Sirata Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jacobsyummymu,
We were disappointed to read that you and your family did not enjoy your stay at our beautiful beachfront resort. We agree the Sunsets are amazing as is the white sand and warm water. Our goal is to provide a relaxing fun filled vacation for you and your family. I am so sorry we let you down. I was happy to read we were able to move you to a more suitable room. We appreciate your frank and candid feedback and do hope you will reconsider visiting us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had beach front ground floor room. Didn't think about having a room facing the west will give you maximum sun exposure. It was blazing hot outside and the room air was inadequate. Needs a better a/c, was blowing barely a breeze. We could see several repairs to the wall from previous damage, just felt old and low class. The room and grounds staff were all very friendly. Seemed to be happy and in a good mood.
We did have an issue with front desk concerning beach cabanas. Apparently, if you are staying multiple days, they want you to pre pay for the cabanas for the entire period. We wanted only one day. We had to stand our ground and do just one day. I would suggest you do get one though. Makes beach experience so much nicer. However you have to mark your cabana somehow or the beach cruisers will avail themselves of your cabana.
These issues were offset by the way they handled our medical emergency. We had a family member with a serious med problem and had to leave with one day remaining on our reservation. It was around 2pm and I expected to be charged for our remaining day we couldn't stay. I was pleasantly surprised they went with an early check out and forgave our remaining day. That was a classy move and much appreciated. We would like to return someday and give it another shot though.
Plenty of restaurants close by, within a mile or two.

Room Tip: You want beach, you got beach. You want fancy and beach, go to Miami.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandbarAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

You can't go wrong with St. Pete Beach, but you can definitely stay in a nicer hotel.
Pools were lovely and appreciated the towel service.
My room was an extremely dated plain hotel room facing the road. It was very dark and "dingy" feeling. The washroom was very small.
The bar and it's food were lovely. If you spend very little time in your room, and get a superb deal, then it's ok.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicanlove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Property: Sirata Beach Resort
Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2319
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing