We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Another Day In Paradise"”
Review of Coconut Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Malone, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Another Day In Paradise"”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My wife and I spent two fantastic weeks in room #10, at the "Coconut Inn, Pass a Grille". The inn is nestled in a residential/commercial district, just a short walk from a pristine, white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico. Pass a Grille is a laid back historic community, with friendly folks and great restaurants. Everything you need is within walking distance or a short bus or car ride away.

This is our third year in "Pass a Grille" and our first at "The Coconut Inn". The inn was built in the early 1920's and has been recently renovated. It is quaint and very clean, with a nice pool. The manager Eddie and his wife Anna were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Joe, the owner of the inn, also went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. He even came to the room one afternoon to invite us out to have a beer with him at one of the local establishments. How many owners would do that.?

The room has a full kitchen, hard wood floors, flat screen television, wifi, a balcony with a table, and a view of the gulf. The bathroom is small but very nice, with the original black and white tiles and fixtures.

All in all we were completely satisfied and already plan to return to the "Coconut Inn" next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    115
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
231
304
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Loved, loved, loved our stay at Coconut Inn. Can't recommend it more highly. We were there for 5 nights with extended family. Stayed in #11 (one bedroom), #6(big studio) and #4 (small studio but great view and patio area). Staff is awesome. Emigdio made sure we had everything we needed. Anna was sweet, funny and helpful. Location is perfect; just steps from gulf beach and 1 block to Intracoastal waterway. Our 7 year old had a great time in the pool. Short walk to restaurants and shops. Amazing sunset views. We rode bikes all around Pass a Grille and borrowed the beach chairs and boogie boards at the beach. I can't wait to return. Best vacation ever.

Room Tip: Ask questions. They are very forthcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meleo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

As much as I would like to keep Coconut Inn my little secret, I have to be honest with you. This is a wonderful place to stay for so many reasons. Besides being located in a quaint town with a beautiful beach, this inn is very nicely run. It is clean and private. With only 11 units it never feels busy. The tiny pool is perfect to relax in and they provide bicycles, beach chairs, noodles, and boogie boards. The staff is wonderful too. We met Emigdio the very first day and he took excellent care of us during our stay! The grounds are very well kept and the location of the inn is perfect. We never moved our car once we got there. Within a minutes walk in any direction there are plenty places to eat. My family will be visiting the Coconut Inn again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jekrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The Coconut Inn is my paradise! Just 40 min outside tampa on the beach is a great getaway! The Inn is kept very clean, simply decorated so easy to have bouncing excited kids with you, the pool is just the right size for younger swimmers, and for lounging in, has a ledge on both ends they love to play on.. The inn provides beach chairs to borrow, toys for the beach and pool so u dont need to lug everything from home, The rooms are CLEAN, and I cannot say enough about the staff. They go out of their way to help you and make u feel at home always with a smile. Eddie went out of his way to accommodate me for checkin, Anna always has the most beautiful smile and her answer is "yes" to everything you might need! She also remembers you from summer to summer and makes my boys giggle when she calls them the lifeguards! And Emigdio so wonderful in his housekeeping duties and keeping the room clean and free of all the sand we all kept bringing in! I also have to say that of all the times I have stayed here I have also met some of the nicest people...They have studios and one and 2 bedroom rooms. All of which to me with 2 kids are the right size! They have small kitchens and all supplies, a grill by the pool is a big hit kids can swim and then come out and eat a fresh grilled dog! Or u can go for a very short walk and grab an ice cream cone or dinner first if u like! Its central location is perfect but not close to the bars and restaurants where u get the noise. Management asks to not be rowdy at the pool late night, and of all the times I have stayed there I have never been woken by a next door neighbor or a loud pool party... The Inn is located in Passe a Grille, a quiet walkable beach town, with the friendliest people, great food and drinks. A beach hut on the beach serves food/drinks rents beach cabanas has bands and small art shows. I would recommend this to all my friends but I would be worried they would book all the rooms and I would be stuck in Tampa! HA! (they all know i love this place) If you are considering it just book it because rooms book up quickly that is what I have learned!!!

Room Tip: book early ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommaktampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I just returned from a weeks stay at the Coconut Inn. Myself, my husband and my parents stayed in #1, the 2 bedroom suite. From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends. Eddie and Anna went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything we needed on our vacation. The rooms were spotless, and the daily cleaning service was a huge plus. My only complaint is that the pool had very little shade, so those with sun sensitivity may want to bring along an umbrella. Thank you again to Eddie, Anna & their Staff for making our stay incredible!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Coconut Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Dear KaTu79 - thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated Eddie and Anna's wonderful hospitality. We feel very lucky to have them! Your suggestion of an umbrella for shade by the pool is a good one and we will be sure to keep a few extra on property for that purpose. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Found this place on TA and I was not steered wrong!! It is in a quaint little area so if you are looking for high rises and lots of bars this is not the spot for you. My husband and I came here for a "babymoon" and it was perfect. It is steps from the beautiful gulf but also has a very nice pool. We got a studio on the second floor and from there you can see the water. The best thing about the Coconut Inn is the service!! If you need anything at all, the staff is very accommodating! I will say that the room itself is quite small, as is the bathroom but the location, service, and cleanliness make up for the size! There is a small kitchen that has the basics- coffee pot, microwave, small oven, dishes, fridge, etc..... There is no hairdryer or toiletries (except bar soap), just FYI...... We will be returning to the Coconut Inn as soon as possible and plan to bring our whole family next time!

Room Tip: 2nd floor studios do have partial view of gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Coconut Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Dear Belagirl - thank you for your review and congratulations on your babymoon! We look forward to seeing you again soon and keep in mind that there are larger rooms if you'd prefer a little more elbow room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FLorida
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2011

WE'RE BACK!!! Here we come again, can't wait!!! June 9th, 2011 won't be here soon enough! This will be our third trip to the Coconut Inn. We are local Tampa residents but like to spend a few days on the beach by ourselves every year. Pass-a-Grille Beach is where we got married so this is like a mini-honeymoon for us. The rooms are ALWAYS clean and comfortable and only one-half block from the beach (just across the street!) in a great location! We love watching the sunset and the Hurricane Restaurant is the perfect place to do so. Eddie and Anna always go out of their way to meet all of our needs. They are super friendly and make every moment of your stay wonderful. We were just at the beach on Mother's Day and stopped by to talk to Eddie. We would recommend the Coconut Inn to anyone going to Pass-A-Grille. I'm sure we will continue to be yearly guests for many years to come.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampa_FLoridaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Coconut Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
thank you for your wonderful review! We never tire of hearing from guests who are part of the Coconut Inn family and feel a special connection to Pass-a-Grille. We look forward to many more years of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
93 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,570 reviews
3.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sabal Palms Inn
Sabal Palms Inn
#4 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Inn

Property: Coconut Inn
Address: 113 11th Ave, 113 11th Avenue, Historic Pass-a-Grille, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Inn is steps away from the sparkling Gulf of Mexico on historic Pass-a-Grille Beach. Recently renovated, Coconut Inn offers brand new modern studios, one bedroom and two bedroom units. All units have fully equipped kitchens. Enjoy the pool, complimentary bicycles, gas grill, beach chairs and free Wi-Fi in the outdoor courtyard. Laundry facilities available. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber of Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. 2015 Winner of the SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Coconut Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing