We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$236
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Inn(St. Pete Beach)
US$203
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
US$173
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
US$459
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,826)
Filter reviews
2,826 results
Traveller rating
1,369
843
325
164
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,369
843
325
164
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspinners restaurantrevolving restaurantbongos beach barpalm roombreakfast buffetthe penthousepete beachpartial beach viewlive musicbeach weddingprivate balconyking bedocean frontgreat drinkswatch the sunsetcrabby billsoutdoor bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,137 - 1,142 of 2,826 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

cant say enough about the grand plaza...we were married here last year, we had, as far as we know the only pirate wedding, Katie was our AMAZING wedding coordinator, she went the extra mile and really worked with us and our needs....the room was incredible,the staff were sooo helpful and fun....now we are back for 2 days for our anniversary....staff is STILL awesome, a few that really stand out are sonya, the waitress from hell! in at 530 am an then off to beach bar for lunch(we own the Old Cape Cod Kitchen in Largo...that girl is one hell of waitress) George from jersey an chopper...bartenders at bongos....oh, and chad from the breakfast buffet...they all were top of their game.....gonna book our room for next year before we leave for our second anniversary....awesome job guys! keep up the great work!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 816...looking due west...sunset view and private balcony....
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from May 27 to June 3, 2014. We had read some good reviews about it and some poor reviews, but I have seen many times that a lot of the "poor" stuff seems to come from people who likely create their own problems because there was nothing poor about the Grand Plaza. We heard some people complaining while we were there, and the biggest problem I could see was that the complainers were people who paid for a three-star hotel and expected a five star experience. Now to the hotel and our experience.

We arrived more than two hours before check-in and expected to have to wait, but they had a room ready for us immediately, and it was exactly as described when we booked it through a travel site. The room was clean, bright and comfortable with a balcony that gave us a northwest view of the Gulf, a view of the bay, and a spectacular view of every sunset. The furniture was dated, but we didn't come there to inspect the furniture or to spend a lot of time in the room - it was a room that was perfect for two, and it was set up (with a Murphy Bed) for four, but it would have been too crowded for more than two persons.

The staff at the hotel was clearly a five star staff in every respect from the front desk to the housekeeping to the restaurants and to the maintenance department. Employees were clearly marked as such, and everybody greeted the guests with smiles and friendly words, and every time we saw someone from the management staff, all guests were greeted with a smile and asked how our stay was. Of course, when asked about dining, they included their own restaurants, but they also remarked about other restaurants, types of food sought, directions, etc. without hesitation.

The breakfast restaurant had a buffet or menu, and the buffet was fairly-priced and the food was hot (or cold, e.g., fruit, milk, juice, etc.) and all pans were being filled continually so there was no wait and there were both indoor and outdoor seating. Bongo's, the beachside restaurant for lunch and dinner was also fairly priced with an extensive menu and friendly and efficient service, and for those who wished to not sit outdoors, the rooftop restaurant, Spinner's, had the same lunch menu with the same prices. We ate at Bongo's for lunch just about everyday and were never dissatisfied with the food or service. The only negative was that smoking was allowed, as with all beach restaurants in St. Pete Beach, and it was a problem the first day we tried it, and it was caused by us picking a table close to the bar deck. Other days, we sat further away from the bar upwind from the breeze and had no problem. There was always plenty of seating, even on the weekend when the hotel was full (also there were 3 or 4 weddings held then, too) - they simply added more tables, chairs and umbrellas to accommodate guests. We had dinner one night at Spinner's and it was excellent (with an outstanding view, of course, with the restaurant revolving). Lastly, we did room service, and it was fast and efficient and every bit as good as the property restaurants, and the menu and prices were exactly the same as the property restaurants.

The only "bad" thing that we found was that the wireless internet service was poor to non-existent during the day and evening and was OK early in the morning and later in the evening, but it was included in the room rate. We actually got great internet service from a neighboring hotel that was an unsecured site, and charged it's own guests $10/day for it. The only other negative was that our rental car driver door handle was damaged when someone had tried to use a dent-puller to yank out the lock but was unsuccessful getting in, but there had been several cars broken into the night before. The hotel hooked us up with the police who took a report and gave us a case reference number for the rental agency. Lastly, the king bed was too soft for me, but my wife liked it fine, and that's not a negative for the hotel. Had I asked for some way to remedy it, I'm certain they would have tried.

The beach itself was fine. The sand was a little rough at first, but it was soft and powdery the closer you get to the water. There is a beach service right in front of the hotel that rents cabanas, boat rides, paddle boards, etc., at a fair price and allows it to be charged to your hotel room.

Some of the complaints were heard were:

(1) A group was complaining on the elevator on Sunday (after the three or four wedding parties had checked out) that they had to wait until check-in time to get in and found that unacceptable, but, gee, I think that is why there is a set check-in time so rooms will be ready when you arrive on time. These people obviously don't travel enough to know that many places will not allow guests to check-in until the established time even if their room is ready - as I mentioned earlier - many complainers create their own problems.

(2) Several groups were complaining that they took their kids to a neighboring hotel to a huge water slide they had on the beach in front of the hotel and the cost to ride was like $15 for 2 rides, and $20 for an hour and $30 for all day, but it was "free" for the hotel's guests. Of course, their "beef" was that the Grand Plaza should have had the same thing for their guests. What they failed to consider (because they probably never checked) was the difference in price for the two hotels which we did, through TA, for about 10 of the hotels at SPB. The neighboring hotel had rooms for the same price as the Beach Plaza, but they had none with a view and/or no balconies. Rooms with a view and balcony cost significantly more. The hotel also had a $30/day resort fee, $10/day internet fee, and $15/day parking fee. Plaza Beach had none of these fees. Nothing is "free" - it's figured into the room rate in some way.

The Plaza Beach gives guests an excellent experience with a fair rate for a three star hotel that is directly on the beach. It has everything any reasonable people would need as couples or families. Their biggest asset is clearly the friendliness and efficiency of the entire hotel staff. When we come back to SPB, this is where we will stay and recommend to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Side rooms are cheaper than Gulf-front ones, but the view from the side rooms is still excellent , and if you get the northwest view, you will be right in front of the elevators, but we were not disturbed by noise from the elevators or people because the rooms are well-insulated against noise. If you ask for the southwest view, then there would be no elevators there - you would just have to walk further both ways.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lietestec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, laid back but classy. Stayed for a week, noticed most people come and go over 3-4 days Watched 3 wedding during our visit. There is a beer and liquor store direct across street, you can get a cooler and take by the pool, which was nice. Live music at Bongos at all times and never a disappointment. Advice is to eat at bongos (reasonable) there is a produce and deli that has awesome homemade food and cheap. Go into St Petersburg for food, you'll save more money than eating on the strip. Wish we would have figured it out in the beginning, but Bongos has great burgers. We went to Spinners for lunch and similar menu (cheaper for lunch). There is a grocery store down the street, Publix that we purchased lunch meat for the fridge in our room. We had to get the fridge switched out the first day because was not getting cold; but they were there within 10 minutes. Room service coffee was great in morning (coffee they have in room not strong enough for me lol). I will go back to this hotel even for a few days visit.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Autumn239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by my families stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bongo's had pretty good food and a great atmosphere. The room was very clean as were the public areas. Was nice to get upgraded from a bayview to partial oceanview on arrival. Would definitely consider this hotel when staying in st pete beach area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsulyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Bottom line.. you won't find a better location anywhere on St Pete's Beach, unless you want to go all out and pay top dollar for the Don Cesar! The Grand Plaza is a lovely hotel. Large, modern, well furnished rooms with our own private balcony and fridge for refreshments! It's right on the beach as you can see by the name and sitting in the evening with a cold drink watching sunset from our balcony was bliss! It's within walking distance of loads of places to eat and drink. Even the fun of Jimmy B's is a short stroll along either the beach, or the road. My only small gripe is that the check in was at 16:00. We felt that was quite late, especially since we'd been driving most of the day when we arrived at 13:00. This is something that they should maybe look at. Otherwise, all the staff we encountered were wonderfully polite and courteous, the rooms and the hotel itself just lovely and the location second to none.. can't wait to go back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surfbluesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews