We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very much average. Good location on the beach, rather tacky hotel. We had booked through a travel agent & had a voucher for the breakfast. Reception & management insisted this was just a 'suggestion' of breakfast and tried to charge us for breakfast, instead we opted to eat out & sought a refund through our travel agent.
Everything about this hotel is okay for a night or two, but wouldn't stay there any longer. The branding of the hotel was odd, and everything seemed a bit tacky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visceral_lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    786
    292
    151
    112
See reviews for
748
1,216
102
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stephen S is amazing and does the most for his customers.... very friendly and very attentive..... has made amazing drinks and hope he is here next year when we come back.. hope he can be the bartender for our wedding which will be here. Thank u to him personally. ..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwells373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamlet, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My family of four recently returned from out first trip to St. Pete and the Grand Plaza Hotel. We had a 4 night vacation that was very restful and pleasant. Prior to making reservations, I read reviews for all comparable hotels on the beach in St. Pete. All of which had their share of pros and cons. In the end, I decided to try the Grand Plaza. Though many reviews commented on issues with housekeeping, I did not find that to be true at all. Our room was very clean with no signs of negligent housekeeping. I have to praise the customer service at the hotel. From the time we checked in until the day we checked out, every employee was pleasant and most helpful! Some of the reviews also commented that the food at the hotel restaurants was mediocre or less. I do not agree with that at all! We ate at all three restaurants during out stay and were pleased each time. They were a little pricey, but exactly what I would expect for hotel restaurants. I must say that our dining experience at Spinners was exceptional! The food, service, and view were all beyond our expectations! The pool area is a little small, but very well kept and comfortable. We saw several weddings on the grounds during our stay. They were beautiful! Although some of the reviews I previously read complained of the noise level late at night from wedding receptions and live entertainment at Bongos, we did not experience either. Our room was a direct ocean front room on the fifth floor. We were directly above the pool and had NO issues with noise throughout our stay. The one and only complaint I have about our stay stems from my own error in judgement. With 2 older children, my husband and myself, I should have insisted on booking a suite. The regular room is very small to accommodate 4 people for four nights. The bathroom is also minimal space. I think both would be fine for 2 people or maybe even 3, but we were very cramped. However, we did not let the size of the room interfere with our vacation. We enjoyed it just the same! As far as the beach and the view, both are beautiful beyond words! I spent most of the time in awe of my surroundings! With no additional resort fees, parking fees, wi-fi fees, etc, I feel that this hotel is a good value for the location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I love St Pete's. Over the last few years we've stayed in apartments a short drive away from the actual beach, but we decided to go back beach-side this time. I have to say, it's changed quite a lot since our previous visit. It's much more commercialised with water slides, jet skis etc and it's extremely busy - more like being at a Spanish family resort. It's not our little piece of paradise any more which is a shame.

Good points......the hotel itself is really lovely. There were lots of staff around and all of them were very friendly and always went out of their way to help. Check-in was easy and quick. Our room was modern, clean, spacious, light and airy. Probably the best hotel room I've ever stayed in around that area. We were on the Sirata Hotel side and we had an amazing view of the beach/ocean.

The location is perfect for the beach and close to bars, shops and restaurants. The air con in the room was excellent and definitely needed as it was soooooo hot. Bathroom was nice with a good shower and bath. There was a safe and a fridge that worked fine.

Bongo's beach bar is a great place to go for food and drinks. Staff are really nice and attentive. Don't sit here too long at the weekends if you go to get over a relationship break up, because all you'll see is one wedding after another!!

Now to the not so good points. The hotel has around 9 floors and there are two lifts which take forever to come when it's busy. The corridors and the lift don't have air-con, so it's a bit uncomfortable and sticky if you have to wait around for a long time. The hotel was really noisy at night over the weekend. The place reminded me of Blackpool (in the UK) because there were so many loud, drunken people around in the corridors and in the lift (which I've never experienced before in St Pete's) and unfortunately we had a party of them staying in the room next door!! One guy in particular was soooooooo loud and he came in at 2.30am to carry on the party. We didn't bother asking for a room move because there were so many party people around we'd probably just have ended up next to another rowdy lot. The pool is way too small for the size of the hotel and all the sunbeds were taken very early in the morning.

I would say, don't stay here if you want a relaxing, calm beach holiday away from it all. But do stay here if you want a party atmosphere with lots of hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Talk about pleasantly surprised...my wife and I were really pleased to have stayed there 6/29 to 7/5. We have never seen such excellent customer service top to bottom. Even when the reception desk was slammed everyone was more than happy to help out, answer questions and try to assist in any way. It's an older building that has been kept up really well which is obvious. Having restaurants on site that serve good food, reasonably priced, is a big plus. The rooftop restaurant setting has views that are simply spectacular and all tables are on a slow rotation so you get a 360 panorama that takes about 30 minutes. FYI the raspberry cheesecake is to die for!

The weather was windy all week which was fine since it was July in Florida. It is true that the sand does not get hot and burn your feet. There are beach cabanas for rent for $25 all day and $15 from 2 to 5. We passed. For us it was more enjoyable to walk up and down the beach.

There is a liquor store across the street (if you're so inclined) and a Publix market in a strip center about a quarter mile away. Next door is Crabby Bill's seafood which we tried and would not go back or recommend.

Rooms have a decent fridge, safe and microwave included. No resort fees either. We were on the west side with a partial ocean view room and the view was great. If we go back to St. Pete Beach, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebluewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

There are only a couple of things that could make this place better. One is a hot tub. I usually pick hotels with hot tubs on purpose because I have a back injury but I chose this one (which does not have a hot tub) because I got a good deal through my employer. The other thing would be to make the hallways not as hot. Our room was 60 degrees when we first went up there but the hallway was hotter than it is outside. Also our mini fridge was not really cold at all but I didn't have anything to put in there so I didn't complain. Bathroom could use a little more cleaning around the fixtures.

Other than that it was great. Bath water got boiling hot which was awesome. Generally clean, tv, microwave, AC worked perfectly though it was a little loud. We were happy.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor and preferably on the side not facing the Sirata because it's really loud th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurviveEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was based on trip advisor reviews. This was our first trip as a couple without the 2 teenage kids in tow so perhaps a second honeymoon........You know when you book somewhere and you see something else you wish you had done instead? This was not the case, we chose the best spot on st Petes. Best location, best beach bar, best view.....fab! I'm accused of researching holidays too much but it paid off this time. Clean, friendly, good value for money, walking distance to beach bars and restaurants. There is a fridge and microwave in the room and a supermarket across the road for drinks and snacks but the pricing for breakfast is really good so the microwave was redundant for our stay. Service is superb throughout (albeit a little too 'intense' for us Brits sometimes, we just need to be asked once if our food is okay, not every 5 minutes!! Not a complaint however, rather this than poor service which is what you will not find here). Good: location, cleanliness, rooms cleaned daily, food, bongos, view of the beach, prices, service, friendly staff. Bad: nothing!! Loved it. If we to return, this is where I would be in a heartbeat! Book, sit back and enjoy and get margaritas watching the sunset with your feet in the sand...heaven..

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammyE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel is located directly on the beach and Gulf of Mexico. The Resort features a wide selection of luxurious guestrooms with furnished private balconies and all the best full service resort amenities for the leisure or business travelers. No hidden resort fees. At NO further charge you get FREE use of Fitness Center, FREE Unlimited Wireless Internet Access with your own computer, FREE Electronic Safe in your room, FREE Parking, FREE Coffee & Tea 24 Hours a Day, FREE Local Phone Calls. Featuring 3 Restaurants - Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge, Bongos Beach Bar & Grill, and the Palm Room Restaurant. 2 Lounges, Heated Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Grand Plaza Beachfront Hotel
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing