We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Affordable Motel; Fantastic Location, WET Room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Affordable Motel; Fantastic Location, WET Room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I came here with my parents and boyfriend for a 26th Birthday get-away long weekend. The price of the hotel was really great considering it is RIGHT on the beach. The pool was small but, because there are only 30 some rooms, there were never that many people in or around the pool so that was really nice.

The motel was tacky and dated looking on the exterior but the rooms were nicely updated though the bathroom was tiny. The only big problem we had with our room was our AC until was not filtering any of the moisture out of the air and possibly pushing moisture in the room because everything was extremely damp; sheets, clothes, towels and our swimwear and beach towels never dried. When we tried to tell the front desk they just tols us that was "normal". The other rooms had buckets outside to catch the water from the AC and we notice that daily people were having to empty them. Our bucket was bone dry so clearly something was not working correctly.

The staff was friendly enough but, being my 26th Birthday, I was hoping to find some entertaining things to do that 20-somethings would enjoy and the front desk had very little to suggest. They did suggest we go to an area that they said had plenty of shopping and entertainment (not John's Pass) and when we got there the few stores that were once there were now out of business. It was a complete waste of a trip.

They offered free high speed internet but the signal was so low that I was not able to connect to it which prevently me from being able to work on the freelance work I had brought with me.

I'm not a fan of big fancy hotels so I thought this would be the perfect fit based on the reviews. I think next time I'll opt for a step up and something a little more adult friendly, rather than kid friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YeloCreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    488
    109
    44
    32
See reviews for
704
667
68
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here while dropping our student off at nearby Eckerd College. Location was perfect. Close to the campus. Easy access to St. Petersburg and St. Pete Beach. Being right on the beach was excellent. Pool was wonderful. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, stores, etc. While the rooms are older, they are well maintained and kept very clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Price was perfect. The only things that were a bit sub-par: Strong odor of cleaning liquid lingered in room for quite some time after housekeeping each morning; free coffee not available before 8:00 am; afternoon wine and beer only available for 1 hour between 4 and 5 p.m. Nonetheless, a nice place to stay. Give it a try, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeydadpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Clean, comfortable rooms! Exceptionally maintained grounds and pool! Short walk to the beach, restaurants and grocery store! NOTHING negative to be said!

Room Tip: We have two kids under 6. Stayed in Room 119 on the back side, opposite end of the pool, less walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michellee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my three young adult children. The beachfront location is ideal, walking distance to all amenities. Well-equipped modern kitchenette, all newly renovated rooms. Happy hour for all guests daily, with free wine and beer. Plenty of easy accessed parking spaces. Many little extras - floats for the water, games, computers. Quiet. Ten minutes from Tropicana Fields if you're a baseball fan, as we are! Great, clean, simple accommodation from which to take advantage of all the area has to offer. Family owned and operated. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happycampers1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Plaza Beach resort is an odd place, and the high rating it seems to have on Trip Advisor does not add up.

On the positive side, the "resort" is on a beautiful, but crowded stretch of beach. You could not ask for easier beach access. The pool area is nice, with plenty of shade and lots of chairs/recliners. the staff, while not overly friendly, kept the place pretty clean and it was obvious they are tring to upgrade some areas, while doing their best to keep older areas from showing too much wear and tear. I have seen the word "tacky" used in prior reviews to describe the room and grounds decor. I guess that depends on your sense of style. The decor is lacking any "modern" touch, but some folks may like it. The rooms and kitchen area we used were clean. the flat panel TV's in both rooms were nice. We did enjoy the game area adjacent to the pool.

On the negative side, this place is an older style motel wedged between high rise condo's. it is on a busy street, with lots of traffic noise (we had a room that was closer to the lobby). There was no view, unless you find a parking lot and gas station pleasant to look at. I beleive that you can ask for a room with an ocean view, but based on how the resort is oriented, they only have 4 rooms with that option. Most rooms open up to the parking lot or a bizarre, run down miniture golf (4 hole) course. the bedding and mattresses were old and dingy. Some of the windows were missing screens. And the place was big on signs all over the place letting you know that if you do this or that you will lose privileges for non-compliance. really? Not very welcoming. And the one at the pool regarding pool usage and diarrhea was really just a bit much!

For perspective, this was our 3rd stop on a beach tour of Florida. Our stops included Naples (Naples Beach and Golf Resort) and Vero Beach (Costa d' Esta). St Pete Beach was our last stop and the most disappointing. it was also the most expensive place we stayed and by far, delivered the least. We will not go back to St Pete Beach, mainly because we found the place to be a concrete jungle compared to Naples and Vero Beach. If you do stay here, negotiate the cheapest rate you can - it will make it a bit easier to handle.

Before I close, I do want to say that the manager of the site responded to some of the more negative issues that I raised and was professional and gracious. I do think they are doing the best with what they have there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lb_tidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Because we know that these reviews titled “Old and tacky Great beach but rooms not worth the money.” and “Pretty disappointing for the money” are from the same family, we will answer them with the same reply:
Thank you for posting reviews. We are glad that you found the beach beautiful, that you enjoyed the pool area. We are also pleased to hear that you thought your room was very clean and that you thought staff was efficient.
You booked our most economical room, which does not offer a view of the Gulf of Mexico. We do have several rooms with a view of the water and even rooms with private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. We could have easily upgraded your Deluxe Efficiency Suite to a Superior Gulf View Suite for only $30.00 per night during your stay if you had requested a room with a view.
You mentioned that St. Pete Beach is “concrete jungle” and that the Plaza Beach Hotel is “wedged between high rise condo's”. The Plaza Beach Hotel is a 2-story building; on each side of us are both 5 stories buildings- not high rise condos which can be up to 20 stories in some other beaches. We actually like being tucked between these two buildings; it offers us a private beach and seclusion from all the other hotels on the beach. There is a public beach just 2 properties north of the Plaza Beach Hotel and a large public park just across the street from the Plaza Beach Hotel- not the “concrete jungle” like you describe St Pete Beach to be. Yes, St. Pete Beach is more developed than Naples and Vero Beach; we have lots of great hotels, 84 restaurants, two grocery stores chain, three pharmacy chains; truthfully, NO Other Island in the entire state of Florida has the infrastructure or all the amenities that our small six mile island offers.
You mentioned the signs all over the property. We have placed these signs for the safety and enjoyment of our guests. We do not want people jumping, screaming and partying hard by the pool disturbing the guests just trying to read a book or enjoy the sunset. We also have signs for people to watch their steps where the ground level changes- again for the safety of our guests. You may have missed some of our more fun signs- the ones that mention the Happy Hour with Free Beer and Wine daily or the one that mentions a video contest for guests to win a week vacation with us.
You mentioned old sheets: Our sheets are contracted through a nationwide company. They are washed and inspected by them as well as inspected by us once they arrive. Any sheets not meeting our standards are rejected and not used, if you received a bad sheet, than I apologize for that, since we missed it at inspection. If you would have brought that to our attention, it would have been quickly replaced.
You mentioned that you noticed that we are upgrading the property. We are constantly upgrading the property. You mentioned you notice the plasma TV- we upgraded all the TVs in all the rooms to plasma TVs. We also installed granite countertops on all the kitchenettes. All the furniture for the rooms was custom made to our property and arrived in December 2010. All the bathrooms were renovated last year, with new fixtures and tiles. In your review, you mentioned, that our bathrooms were small, old and outdated, clearly not true, since they were completely renovated less than a year ago. Our bathrooms are smaller, not large like everyone is used to in new homes, however, our bathrooms our new, clean and work perfectly.
We are sad that you only gave the Plaza Beach a two star review especially since some of your review was more of St. Pete Beach than of our property. You mentioned several great things about us, but ended up giving us a low grade.
You wrote on your review- “I am surprised at all the great reviews on trip advisor. Something fishy there” and “the high rating it seems to have on TripAdvisor does not add up”. First of all, we would like to inform you that Trip Advisor has a highly reputable way of preventing false reviews and they are always investigating and punishing properties that write their own review. All of our employees have been advised to never post a review on Trip Advisor for our own property. We have never written a review for our own property and never will. This is an insulting and unfunded accusation. Second of all, must say that 99.9% of people that stay here love the quality of the rooms and the excellent personalized service. I am sorry that you were part of the 0.1% that didn’t.
Exclusive Boutique hotels are not for everyone. If you prefer or like large hotels with crowds of people, multiple pools but packed with people, elevators and escalator, drunken people hanging out at the pool bar, paying for parking, paying for wifi, paying resort fees and lots of other stuff, than stay at the larger hotels and Not at any of our boutique hotels.
If you prefer a true vacation with relaxation, where you feel like it’s only you and a few other families, couples, or business traveler, very private, very exclusive, and you can almost feel like you have the entire hotel to yourself, no crowded pools, no drunken people walking around, everyone respecting on another with simple rule like “No loud music after 9:00pm” and amenities like free parking, free wifi, free pool towels, a social hour with free beer and wine to get to socialize with our guest. If you enjoy what I just described, than any of the three Plaza Beach Resorts are perfect for you. Please also read all the other positive reviews that other TripAdvisor guests have left us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I liked the lcation right on the beach, but this wasn't really my cup of tea.
As a Brit it reminded me of an old British seaside chalet. Large rooms with kitchenette and clean and tidy enough, but without being negative or unkind, this just wasn't my kind of place, but that's probably just St Pete generally. Great beach as I said and nice pool area but I couldn't help feeling that this town was well past it's sell by date. The city centre and pier seemed quite run down with most of the shops shut down - and this wasn't a seasonal thing, it seems economic problems have hit this area quite badly.
The hotel staff were very friendly though and there were free drinks for guests for an hour but I didn't go - I went in search of an Outback steakhouse and was pleased to find one about 15 minutes drive away. Free parking is always nice touch and there seemed to be plenty of space.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great to see the place has not been forgotten. Keeping up with 'progress' isn't easy. Great upgrades.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billinda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing