We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but very comfortable and very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small but very comfortable and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

It is family owned. We have been going to 2 of their three properties and we have always been very welcomed. The Plaza Beach hotel is right on the beach. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The Staff is very nice and so are the owners. It is a full equipped room with kitchen. It's charm is that it is on the beach, We go there when our dog is not with us. The Palm Beach is across the road it has fully equipped studios and also suites dogs are allowed and welcomed.

Room Tip: I will send pictures later as I do not have them with me right now. We have also been to their other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horse72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    483
    109
    43
    32
See reviews for
691
659
67
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

OK, this is the first review I've ever done on any hotel (I'm a geezer). But here's my quick review. This is a small motel, right on the white-sand beach. It's not fancy, but it is very well appointed--refrigerator, flat-screen TV, comfortable beds. The property, with a swimming pool, is nicely taken care of. Helpful staff. International clientel. Nearby restaurants. Really a pleasure to be here. We have a son at nearby Eckerd College, and I guarantee we'll stay here each time we go to visit him. If it were a real fancy motel/hotel, I would give it five stars. But for my family travel purposes, it's an outstanding place to stay. The only downside: no free newspapers for the guests. (And I still haven't figured out where to get a New York Times newspaper!)

Room Tip: Each room has a narrow view of the ocean, but the four rooms on the west side squarely face the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank attytriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
First Review Ever, WOW. Welcome to our extended family. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful. We look forward to seeing you here on future trips when visiting your son at Eckerd College.

I have you news on your newspapers. You are correct; we do not provide a free newspaper at your door step like other hotels. We were the first Green Lodging Property and continue to excel with many different ways we try to preserve, protect and recycle. One of our green standards is to protect unnecessary paper waste. Many of our guests get their news from their television, complementary computers in the lobby, or their personal computers and Smartphone’s since we provide free Wifi. We do have two newspaper stands on property next to our vending services providing both the St Petersburg Time and the Tampa Tribune for guest choosing to read the paper. Oh, and by the way, I walked over to Walgreens across the street to ask about the New York Times and they said that they do carry it. So next time you come down for vacation or to visit your son, you’ll have your favorite newspaper just across the street at Walgreens.

Thank you again, and welcome to our extended family.

Robert Czyszczon
Plaza Beach Resorts
Family Owned and Operated since 1988
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

On our holiday to Orlando, we had booked tickets to watch the Tampa Bay Rays baseball team and decided rather than drive all the way back from St Pete, we would stay overnight at a beachside hotel. We didn't want to spend a lot and on searching found this little gem! 2 double beds plus convertible couch in each room, full size fridge and small kitchen with table and chairs, a small bathroom and an open area to hang clothes plus parking right outside your front door. This was room only but about five minutes walk away across the road (cross at the crossings as quite busy), there is a small shopping precinct with a Publix which sells the usual supermarket fayre but also hot meals. We used them for breakfast and lunch. We had a ground floor room and we were a short walk to the beachside swimming pool. There were plenty of beds round the pool and it was a reasonable size for a small hotel. The beach at St Pete is fabulously white and soft. There are also tables and chairs so you can eat near the pool rather than in your room. My only regret at this hotel - I had only one night there. Next time I would like to stay a week and just chill.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are bookable at extra cost and these have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Plaza Beach Hotel is a clean, well managed, well-situated two-story un-fussy hotel where you can have a peaceful time right on the Gulf in Saint Pete Beach, FL. The rooms are immaculately clean. Large screen TV (if that matters to you), friendly, accommodating staff, and close to everything. The Trolley ($4.50 for unlimited rides all day) is right out front. It can take you 3 miles south to Pass-A-Grille (the "Key West" historical area of St. Pete Beach with restaurants, bars, gift shops, and fantastic sunsets that the whole community watches each night. Very friendly!). An hour's ride north takes you to St. Petersburg to the Salvador Dali and the Chihuly museums. On the way to there, get off at 74th St in St. Pete Beach on Cory avenue to a very charming local crafts/gift store/post office area, and a great breakfast place, "Steam Coffee Shop.'
I booked on Travelocity and so did not specify which room I wanted. When I arrived, I realized I'd prefer an upstairs balcony room. The staff changed my room with no problems at all.
Another nice feature at the Plaza Beach Hotel is the daily free 4-5 pm happy hour in their "board room." Free beer and wine seated around a large table with the other guests. They included Canadians, Scots, Danes, as well as people from many other states in the US. This made for great conversation! What a nice feature.
One morning, I walked the 3 miles down the beach to Pass-a-Grille for breakfast at the excellent Paradise Cafe, right on the beach. This is just a an excellent setup and you totally do not need a car to lots of nice stuff. Even if you just swim, walk, and eat, it's a great vacation.

Just for context, I am not a world traveller, and usually keep my vacations pretty simple. I was more than pleased with my experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

"Resort" expectation will disappoint some, but this is a great beachfront property in the vein of an old-fashioned mom-and-pop shoreline motel with everything updated: clean, painted, recent renovations, newer appliances and flat screen TVs, newer bedding, small but efficient layout, small lounge but packed with happy hour, fooseball, computers ... and did I mention beachfront? Clearly many returning customers, and we can see why: beach toy loan box, extra beach towels, great front desk suggestions for area attractions and dining, cleanliness. My only constructive criticism is that I had trouble logging into the free WIFI. We'd come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrier96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Just superb. From the staff to the room to the location on the beach to the amenities (pool, mini golf etc.), this place is just superb. I was blown away by the cleanliness and size of the room I had booked. It was just me on a last minute trip to St Pete and I got a remarkable last minute deal for this place, and I couldn't have been happier. Wish i had had more time to stay another night or two.

Stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukadamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onaway, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Clean, good value. Stayed here with my daughter. We were comfortable, had everything we needed. Close to restaurants, stores, the beach. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I had a suite, which was small but modern, clean, and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevOnaway_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by tripadvisor and is famous for its sugar white beaches. Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the gulf. All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing