We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time family style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gulfport, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old time family style”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed in mid-January when the weather was the best. Staff was very helpful with any questions. Room was very confortable and clean. Were surprised how many guests were staying for 1 to 3 month stays. Would definitely stay again because who needs the bling of the higher priced hotels. At home feeling is a must. Save the extra hotel cost for good dinners in St. Pete's Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bat0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am SO happy that you enjoyed everything about our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with the Front Desk staff and Housekeepers. As you mentioned, we do have many guest that come down from up north and spend the winter with us. All the rooms are spacious and have full kitchens, so it’s their Home Away from Home on the Beach. Our Slogan is “Traditions Start Here” and we have many families that have been visiting us for three generations.

Welcome to our extend family and I look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach.
Family Owned and Operated – (We REALLY are, not just saying it)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    497
    109
    45
    35
See reviews for
729
685
68
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I'm a little unsure how to review this place because I get the feeling that many of the establishments in St. Pete beach are similar. First of all, they all use words like resort and boutique when what they really mean is verging on motel. This hotel is right on the beach, which i assume is what they charge for. We paid $158, which I did not find unreasonable. I would find more than that unreasonable. It is a beautiful beach. It has what you would want. You can mix a drink and walk out and watch the sunset. They have cute super old little wooden seat thingies. But they go so far out of their way to say how great they are and to say please rate us on Trip Advisor that I wonder why they don't pay more attention to detail. The place was clean and fairly large, but the sheets were old and pilly--they felt like the had sand in them even when they didn't--the pillows were pretty bad, though that's not exclusive to motels. It was arranged oddly so that there was a couch and a coffee table in a weird corner that no one would ever want to sit in. I might be mistaken, but I saw in another room as I passed and I kind of got the impression it was nicer. We were there only two nights, which they normally don't do, so maybe they gave us their worst room, but still. You start to notice details when a place brags about itself, like the grime behind the vanity sink faucet, the crummy 70s style covers on the beds. I don't want to give the impression that i didn't like this place. We had a really nice time there. The water was hot (a must, it was so cold when we were there, and the indoor heat worked well, thank god), the shower good, the free coffee a nice perk,and actually decent coffee. It was clean (silverware was a bit dodgy but not awful) and quiet (except for what sounded like someone moving huge pieces of furniture early Monday morning above us). But it was kind of ugly, like there were no cute touches, There was a wide screen television hung so close to the ceiling that you would probably break your neck trying to watch it, it was a foot above my head. All and all, I would define this as budget, but I think they're trying for more. I would maybe stay again, the pool looked promising, but half the reason I would stay again is that the other places looked equally scary from the outside, and I'd be afraid of where I'd end up. Also, there's a Publix really near by, and a liquor store (though that applies to most of the strip I'd say)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamiamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Plaza Beach Hotel is a family-owned small hotel directly on a large, white sand beach. It is obvious that the family takes personal pride in this property and is truly interested in keeping their guests happy. I continually saw the owner, an older friendly gentleman, cleaning the grounds, while his son managed the business. The day after I complained about a wobbly ironing board it was replaced with a brand new one. Each room comes with a small stove, a microwave, and a decent sized refrigerator, as well as a flat-screen TV and cable. There is also wi-fi, along with two outdoor grills for charcoal grilling, plus a nice heated pool overlooking the beach. This place is not luxurious - there is no bar or restaurant on the premises, and no spa or fitness room, but there is all you need to provide your family with a memorable time at a beautiful beach and at a reasonable cost. The location is also convenient - with a Publix supermarket just a short walk away and all sorts of restaurants nearby. I gravitated toward this property after seeing the Trip Advisor reviews of people complaining of the noise and other problems with some other nearby hotels versus all the positive reviews for the Plaza Beach Resort. If the young adults in your group want the loud music and bar scene - that is available just down the road - while you relax in the quiet and serenity of this friendly and unassuming hotel. The owners take pride in the large number of "repeat" guests who come back year after year. My wife and I were very happy with our stay at Plaza Beach and we plan on returning when we have the chance.

Room Tip: Except for the rooms directly facing the beach, the even numbered rooms face the parking lot while t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The owners are very accommodating, ensuring their guests receive ultimate satisfaction from their visit. The free social hour with beer or wine is a wonderful idea and encourages socializing and meeting one's fellow guests to share tips about sightseeing and recommended restaurants. The prices are reasonable for clean, comfortable accommodations, with wireless internet, heated pool, and beach access. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILLINOIS
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend there. The room was clean and comfortable. It was a great location with the beach on site and many restaurants nearby. The social hour with complimentary beverages was very nice and a great time to meet other guest.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I are not new to this great, relaxing resort on a private St. Pete's beach.
We have been spending our week getaways at the Plaza Beach for 10 years now, but
my parents found this heavenly hideaway back in the sixty's and brought my sister and I
on yearly trips in August. We love the convience of restaurants and Publix shopping
right outside our door. The owners are wonderful people, making sure that your stay is
great. They have developed a wonderful clientele over the years and we feel like a part
of the Plaza Beach family.
Susie and David Delagarza from Allen Park, Michigan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanD29545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I had always wanted to stay in a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. I found the
perfect one. I can not find anything negative to say about the Plaza. Except that our stay
was too short. We stayed for 5 nights. The room was very clean and had everything we
needed. The kitchen had the toaster, coffee maker and dishes. There was a built in hot
plate but we didn't need it. We could walk to the Publix, and other stores and restaurants.
The people were very nice and friendly. There was coffee in the AM in the internet cafe.
At 4PM they had wine and beer for everyone. The room was always full of people visiting.
We met people who came from many states and canada. People who had been coming
there for many years. Some who were staying for months.
AWESOME beach and sunsets. We loved it and miss it being back in Minnesota.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated property from the 1950s, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by TripAdvisor, famous for its sugar white beaches. The Plaza Beach Hotel is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking purple sunset melt into the Gulf. Then relax in one of our spacious studio apartments with kitchenettes; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees! Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE beach chairs, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking, and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida and a Greenleaders Gold Award from TripAdvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations and has an amazing staff ready to assist you with an authentic Florida vacation. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is within walking distance: the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. The Plaza Beach staff is more than happy to help you find the many activities also available on the beach such as deep sea fishing, parasailing, jet skiing, dolphin cruises, sunset cruises and ferries available to visit the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney, Universal, and other Orlando theme parks. Try us and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing