We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May. Really great location, right on the beach with Publix and restaurants in walking distance. The rooms were a good size, beds could have been better but OK, the bathrooms were small but adequate, kitchen facilities were good and there was parking just outside. The only negatives were no in-room safe and the wifi is rubbish at the beach end and we had to go down the corridor to sit at the smoking table to get reception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,503 - 1,509 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent a week in St. Pete at the Plaza Beach Hotel and had a great time. The hotel is on the small side and is very quiet (the way I like it). They have rooms that let you see the gulf. Prices are about average for the smaller beach front hotels. Bathrooms were recently updated and are clean but a little on the small side. The pool and beach area are clean and nice. They serve beer for the adults during a one hour happy hour (can't beat that). They have a nice tiki hut that will sell hot dogs and hamburgers during the middle of the day for a resonable price. They let you bring in your own beer and booze if you want it. Over all it has been my best place yet out of three hotels on the water front. Don't hesitate in making reservations at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, room was great, pool area was great, staff was great, very clean would come back! Loved to watch the sunsets in the pool area. Also had nice lunch area right at hotel pool area.

Room Tip: They have beach view rooms, that would have been awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is a clean, fresh and very well maintained place to stay and that's what you get, nice pool, great beach access and terrific staffing, it's a great place to stage from because there is really nothing else there, no bar or food service but everything else is very close.

They have remodeled and upgraded all aspects of the building and grounds during the past off season, paint, tile, crown molding, paving stones all new and done very well, I've done contracting work so I noticed it right away.

If you have a family try to say at the west end of the building away from the street and if you're not a family try to stay by the street, noise is really not a problem and so then neither are the kids in the pool. Good number of families and international visitors, I over heard, German, British, Eastern European and Canadian conversations. American vacations are a bargain to most foreign visitors due to the weak dollar.

We would certainly consider PBR when we return to the area

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed six days and would have stayed longer if accommodation had been available at this excellent small family run and orientated Hotel.
Great position on Beach with plenty of restaurants nearby and a large Publix supermarket.
Staff excellent would not hesitate to return.

David & Linda Hayes
Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

1. If you are looking for a calm, relaxing, no fuss hotel? THIS IS IT!
2. We are not a picky couple. The beds were not very comfy and you can tell they only updated a few things since the 1970's but guess what?! THATS FINE BY US. They are so nice and accomidating.
3. The entire town is old, retro Florida. Lots of gray hairs.
4. We have the more relaxing vacation EVER. We enjoyed the pool, the fgree happy hour, the BIG BIG beach, and the FREE towels
5. This is not a stay-out-all-night-and-party-place either. Once 10:30 hit, it was pretty quiet but from being in the sun all day long, it was nice to have quiet time in the cabanas on the beach.
6. We went after all the SPRING BREAK people had left and that helped.
7. THANK YOU SO MUCH PLAZA BEACH. YOU MADE MY DREAM VACATION COME TRUE.

Room Tip: Try to be on the 2nd floor then you wont have anybody stomping around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just enjoyed a week in St. Pete Beach, Florida staying at the Plaza Beach Resort Hotel. It is a classic Florida family vacation hotel. Older and smaller in this case is what makes it so enjoyable. Beautiful beach, warm pool, shuffleboarding, bags, outdoor chess, foosball table, grills, Chicago hot dog stand by the pool and beach, social hour, and a good location whether walking or driving made this a very relaxing place to stay.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,996 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort

Address: 4506 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £128 - £523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated property from the 1950s, Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is an award winning boutique resort of only 39 suites on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach was voted #1 Beach in America by TripAdvisor, famous for its sugar white beaches. The Plaza Beach Hotel is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking purple sunset melt into the Gulf. Then relax in one of our spacious studio apartments with kitchenettes; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees! Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE beach chairs, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking, and FREE Fishing off of our private piers just across the street. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida and a Greenleaders Gold Award from TripAdvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations and has an amazing staff ready to assist you with an authentic Florida vacation. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is within walking distance: the grocery store, restaurants, and shopping are just across the street. The Plaza Beach staff is more than happy to help you find the many activities also available on the beach such as deep sea fishing, parasailing, jet skiing, dolphin cruises, sunset cruises and ferries available to visit the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney, Universal, and other Orlando theme parks. Try us and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Saint Pete Beach
Plaza Beach Saint Pete
Plaza Beach Resort
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing