We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average for the price”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Don Cesar Beach Suites for 4 days this past July while visiting the St. Pete/Sarasota area. We found an excellent deal on the web, i believe thru hotels.com, and the main reason we went with the hotel was because of proximity to the places we wanted to see, and the fact that they took dogs. The process to get our dog 'accepted' seemed a little ridiculous, we had to fax a dog release letter, along with a health certificate prior to arriving. Not too big of a deal, but still a little more work than other hotels policies. We arrived very late, @ 1:45am, and the check in person was very helpful, said she was waiting for us, and was a little worried! (Our flight was delayed) We were checked in to the 5th floor, and the view was excellent. Our room was on the side that faces south, we had a great view of the ocean, but id recommend getting a room that faces west, in order to be able to fully see the sun setting. Overall, I thought the views from our balcony were great. The room was very dated, looked like '80's decor, not exactly 'luxury', but it's an old hotel, as is the whole area of St. Pete Beach. The room was clean, however, as were the sheets on the bed. Can't complain too much about the room, other than it just looking pretty 'old'. The front door was diffcult to get shut all the way. The staff on the beach, around the hotel, and at the bar i must say were all very, very good. We got a nice, friendly 'good morning!' or 'good evening!' from any hotel staff that passed us by, and I thought they all did a great job. I think this is a great hotel to saty with kids, the rooms have a well-set up kitchen, with fridge, stove, and microwave, so eating in would be easy to do. There's a shuttle to take you down to the main Don Cesar hotel, which is way nicer than the beach suites. Overall, I'll give it 4 stars based on the friendly staff, great beach access, and great views. But if i was rating it on the facility alone, it'd be just 3 stars, since it's not a super-nice hotel. If we were to ever return to St. Pete, we'd stay down at the main Don Cesar hotel.

  • Liked — Staff were nice, and beach right downstairs.
  • Disliked — old, out-dated decor in the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtmbizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    158
    67
    41
    29
See reviews for
316
203
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north royalton,ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Beach House Suites
Date June 29,2008
We have returned from a 9 day stay. The trip was great all around.
First : The hotel was great. We had stayed here before, that is why we returned. Reservations were no problem , and we got AAA rate for our room. Check in and out was smooth as can be,desk help very good. The overall property was as expected, well maintained and up to par. Yes the room furniture could use updating, but what place in Florida doesn't need to be updated.
Room was clean and well maintained. Plenty of space with the extra bathroom.
The pool was nice and clean. The help at the pool was always ready to assist in anyway. Towels were always on hand during normal hours ( 8.00/4.30 ). Clean and nice, not worn or stained .
Never used the bar at the pool. We had plenty of things in the room.
Staff at the Beach House were very pleasant. From the maid, driver for shuttle van, maint. workers, to the property staff.
The shuttle van that takes you to the main building was excellent. Always there and never had to wait for a ride either
way. The drivers were very professional.
We had had a problem with the one couch and within 5 mins of calling the front desk. Someone was there to fix it.
Second :We had spent some time at the main building swimming. Used both pools . Very nice service all around. Always had clean towels and a chairs to lounge on. Very big umbrellas to shade the sun when needed. The pools were really never to crowded. Yes there were plenty of people at the pool.
The bar prices on drinks were a little high. But what can you expect from a resort. They handed out free smoothies, Italian ice
and none alcohol drinks . They also had ice towels , which were great in the hot sun. Always had fresh cold water at pool side. Some days there was a gentleman playing all types of music.
Ate at the pool side ones, they added a 20% tip , be careful.
Never used the whirlpool, to hot outside to sit in it.
After 9 days of being here, cant really say much bad about the two places. For extend stay I would stay at the Beach House. With the kitchen and washer and dryer in unit. It cuts down on cost alot.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kallay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I will start off by agreeing with the reviews before me and say that the units could stand to be refurbished a little. The decor is a little outdated. That being said, I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The units are spacious, the staff is more than hospitable, the location is great, there is access to the main resort (spa, children's activities, etc.).
The staff is by far the greatest attribute to the hotel. You couldn't even walk to the elevator without being asked if you needed anything. When going down to the pool, an attendant was at your side with a cushion and fresh towels before you could even sit down. I would also like to add that the older gentleman working behind the bar makes a mean margarita! :)
I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with a family or maybe someone looking for a quick getaway.
If you're expecting 5-star amenities, this may not be the hotel for you.

  • Liked — The awesome staff and the great pool!
  • Disliked — The furnishings in the room.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pappasshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenwhit82
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Yes the rooms are a little on the small side, and there are a few children there. BUT...this place is absolutely gorgeous! Anyways…who comes to a resort and wants to STAY in their room the whole time. This hotel is amazing! My husband I were there 2 days after we got married, we drove from Atlanta, GA! And I couldn’t have asked for a better honeymoon. From the chicken caesar salad I wanted from the Beachcomber Bar when we got there...to the room service we received one night! The ball rooms are amazing...the piano playing at the lobby bar is tantalizing. I could go on....I would definitely recommend this to anyone!!!

  • Liked — The hotel is absolutely beautiful
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwhit82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We loved this hotel. Beach area was quite. Pool area very nice. Pool man would come around and put towels on the chairs we chose. Took the free transport down to the Don Cesar, which is a very unique hotel, with lots of photo ops.

There appeared to be lots of snobby people at the Don in the common areas. We had breakfast at the Don one morning. It was nothing special.

The furniture, carpet, etc. need to be updated at the Beach House Suites.

I am very picky about the cleanliness of any beach. In front of our hotel and up and down both sides of it were tons of dead seaweed. We were told that the city was suppose to pick it up. I think they finally did our last day there. I don't like walking barefoot through dead, prickly seaweed.

I would definitely stay here again someday. I would request the oceanfront rooms that are beachside and not poolside. We had alot of balconies looking straight into our room as well as all the people in the breezeway staring if we were on our balcony.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magic1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

The Beach House Suites is far from luxury accomidations but is spacious and close to the beach. We chose to stay at this hotel for the added space, as we were traveling with our two small children. The 'hotel' is marketed as a 'short 4 block walk' to the main hotel. I'd HARDLY describe the walk as 'short', especially in the upper 90 degree temperature range. They 'suites' location has no restaurants or food service establisments on property. When we inquired about this at the registration desk they promptly pointed us toward the direction of shelves of cereal and snacks they sold...hardly what we wanted after having traveled several hours to get there.

The rooms were modestly decorated with simple, older style, furnishings. They were quite large, each with a balcony with a table and chairs. Towels were old (either had holes or stains in most of them). The bathroom tiles were old, many in the shower were gone! The grout in the tile floor was clearly very dirty as you could see where it USED to be light colored and is now black. The furniture was clean. The sofa beds were typically uncomfortable.

Our first problem was encountered within an hour or so of settling in. We were placed on the side of the building nearest to the neighboring bar (I believe it was called the Undertow). This was VERY VERY loud...motorcycles reving their engines nearly every 5-10 minutes, people shouting, constant horns beeping...MISERY. Our 9 month old son could not nap and we were very annoyed with this noise. I complained to the manager who was rather rude, telling me it was "afternoon" and should end soon. I asked for a room change which he said he would try to accomidate. After several hours another room was located and the VERY nice young girl who helped us move told us that their regular customers know to request the opposite side of the building and that this is a very common complaint (although the manager made me feel like it was the first he was hearing of it). SO---request the opposite side of the building when booking your reservation. We were MUCH happier there, although that side did have frequent door slamming and shouting (although the hotel couldn't be held responsible for this).

The shuttle, that is described as 'complementary' (it's included in your 'resort fee'), was usually right there. We did wait about 20 minutes one evening at the main hotel but they were very nice there an apoligized for our wait.

The pool was nice, rarely crowded and clean. Although, again, towels were well worn out...my husband's had a very LARGE hole in it! We did hear that the pool at the main hotel was so crowded you couldn't swim, and this was NOT the case here.

I would recommend this hotel for those travelers with children who want refrigerators and microwaves, extra space (there were 2 bathrooms in our suite, and proximity to the beach (very short walk). I would not recommend this for those looking for luxury and accomidations. You would be better off at the main hotel.

  • Liked — Short walk to the beach
  • Disliked — Noise, elevator HOT, cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wdw4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

My wife and I plus our two daughters (3 and 6) just ended a four night stay at the Beach House Suites. It is a great quiet escape for a family - but no where near the standard at the Don.

Rooms are clean, but could use some updating. We stayed in a deluxe suite - which had two bathrooms. The bedroom was pretty small - barely fit the queen bed. The two fold-out couches worked well for the kids - but I don't think they would be too comfortable for adults.

They have a nice pool - which stayed busy but not overly crowded during our stay. By comparison, the pool at the Don was packed.

Service was very good. The staff was friendly and offered great advice on dining options. Our room was always cleaned promptly in the morning.

Only real downer for our stay was that there was a major seaweed wash-up during the first day of our trip. So there was about 15 feet of thick seaweed that lingered in the surf for the entire time. Made it impossible to enjoy a swim in the ocean - the main reason for staying on the beach in the first place. Our only real beach time was spent on North Beach in Fort DeSoto Park -- which is a GREAT beach and well worth a drive to enjoy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor in rooms needs an update
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar

Property: Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Address: 3860 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3933
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House Suites by the Don CeSar are located directly on St. Pete Beach and feature seventy all-suite accommodations. Ideal for extended stays group blocks and families. Each suite is equipped with a separate living room with sofa bed, washer and dryer, and a kitchenette with mini-refrigerator, dishwasher, Keurig coffee-maker, microwave, and induction stove top. Pet-friendly accommodations are available. Guest rooms have spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico. There is one heated outdoor pool. The property has a lounge and dining outlet, Sand Dollar Bar, adjacent to its pool area. Guests are able to use the world-class services and amenities at the nearby Don CeSar, which is about a half mile walk down the beach. These amenities include access to the two large heated outdoor pools, fitness center, yoga and aerobics classes, non-motorized watersport rentals, history tours, complimentary tastings, Kids Club, business center, PressReader access, and pool and beach games. Guests are able to make charges at the Spa Oceana, six drinking and dining outlets, and beach and watersport rentals. Access is included in the resort fee. Also included in the resort fee is premium Wi-Fi and two bottled waters, daily turndown service, upon request, and unlimited local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Suites By The Don Cesar Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beach Hotel Saint Pete
Beach St Pete
Beach Resort Saint Pete
Beach House Suites By The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing