We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but room not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Winds Resort Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We arrived at the Gulf Winds and were given the key and directed to our condo , it smelt a bit musty, and the furniture is a little outdated, the floor needed a clean and the bathroom sink was stained, the bedrooms were quite adequate,and the sheets were clean, the twin room was next to a generator which was very noisy ! The towels were hard but useable.The condo was okay, but we were not aware that they are graded so just be careful which one you choose, ask when you book .
The location is very good, with the beach over the road, the swimming pool is lovely but not a lot of umbrellas. The restaurants are within walking distance, and there is a free beach buggy ride to where ever you want to go, all you do is give a tip of $1 .

Room Tip: good location, friendly people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank lesley365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner and I, along with his 78 year old mom and her 80 year old friend booked Gulf Winds for our vacation from June 9 - 23, 2010. We had a late flight in and told the agency that we would require a "late check-in". They assured us that they would leave the key in lock box - which they did. We arrived at Gulf Winds at 2:00 a.m. Only problem - the agency (which proclaims 24/7 service) did not answer the phone when we call numerous times and left numerous messages! We ended up sleeping in the rental car the first night of our vacation. Furthermore, we were NOT compensated for any inconvience nor were we given an apology by management. The lady who worked in the office was super and very genuine. When asked why our call wasn't answered, the response, "the guy working was otherwise occupied". They refunded the night we slept in the car (ya think.)- so in actual fact..we got nothing!! No apology or discount for the remainder of our stay. Our senior travellors spend the remainder of their holiday trying to get the "kinks" out of their neck and back. .If you want to risk sleeping in your car until the office opens at 9:00 a.m., by all means I recommend this condo. Trust me when I tell you - you will be disappointed because they certainly do not know the meaning of customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wall093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Gulf Winds Resort in unit 1506 for a week at the end of May. Our unit was booked privately thru VBRO but the cleaning and maintenance is done by the office. We arrived after office hours and had by prior arrangements had the key left in a lock box. There is plenty of street parking but you need to show a parking permit which is provided by the office. Where I live there is zero tolerance and didn't want to start or stay with a ticket. There was metered parking a 1/2 block away n/c after 6 pm. Unit 1506 is on the third floor facing away from the ocean. Large generous sized unit 2 bedrooms; master had a two twins pushed together and second two twins apart, living room, dining room, bathroom and a large deck accessed from the master bedroom. We did a double take as the unit looked very different from the pictures on the website turned out it was not the same but the other unit for rent. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, pots and pans even two dishwasher tablets. There is a mall not far with a Publix and we stocked up for the week. The beach could be seen from the windows and deck and a quick walk and your there. Beach chairs and noodles were provided. The pool area was always very clean and never too full. Wonderful to come home from a day of sightseeing and take a quick dip before dinner. The unit was clean where we arrived no cleaning was included during our stay. A large stack of wonderfully fluffy towels in the bathroom but the linens on the bed were cheap and pilled very uncomfortable on a sunburnt and sand rubbed body. The main burner on the stove didn't work reported it to the office on Sunday but still hadn't been repaired when we left on Saturday. The sunshine ceiling in the bathroom was erratic due to the humidity. The blinds in the unit were being changed but the master still had the mini blinds and all the rods were broken so couldn't open/close. Overall we were pleased with Gulf Winds and would stay again but not in this unit due to the maintenance issues.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The unit we stayed in has a full fenced in padio on the ground level and was close to the pool and the beach and the Russian Restaurant. We had 2 bedrooms one with a giant bed and the other with 2 singles and 2 pull out leather sofas in the living room to sleep at least 8 people. The place comes with stroller, armfloats and toys in the closet along with all the extra blankets and pillows to make anyone comfey. With 2 TV's and wireless internet acess right in the unit everyone can me doing something different. It had all the kitchen things you could possiblly need including a griddle, crock pot, and many other small appliances. When you open up the cabnet in the bathroom there is any kind of sunscreen you can imagine and other things you may have forgotten to pack. Between the beach chairs, books and playingcards there is always something to do even if it rains. Great place to escape hectic tampa bay area life and go to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sillysallyFL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

There were three of us (women) in a condo with two bedrooms and one bath. One slept on a pull out couch in the living room which was no problem. We took turns for the shower which again was no problem. The kitchen wasn't all that clean when we arrived but we cleaned it up. Didn't take but a minute. The bedrooms were good size as was the living room. The kitchen was ok as was the dining area. The condo itself was ok but we were up on third floor which meant lots of stairs (30) to climb and carry things up and down. That was a pain in the butt.
The beach which was only a minute or two away was wonderful as was the pool. Spent time at pool which was lots of fun. I met many new people which are friends now. Looking forward to seeing them next year. The girl in the office and the maintance men were great. They would help with any questions you may have or any help you may need.
Free parking and a place to do laundry.
There are many places to go and things to do in the St. Pete Beach area.
The beach is so white and water is so blue/green and warm. The sunsets are beautiful. I loved Gulf Winds Condo's in St. Pete Beach so much I booked my condo for next year already. Only next year on FIRST FLOOR, NO STAIRS.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank Raspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

My parents just checked to Gulf Winds Resort and are very disappointed in everything. Not the room they were promised, got a studio instead of one bedroom. Absolutely filthy. Had to wash bedclothes before they went to bed. Staff would do absolutely nothing for them. No refund or upgrade available. Hotel wedsite a complete farce. Do not stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank keetasmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

The Gulf Winds complex is wonderful it offers everything to have a great vacation. Condo #504 is bright and beautiful you can see the beach from the living room window. I would recommend people ask for this room if you want a 1 bedroom with a pullout with top notch quality.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hopecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Winds Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Winds Resort Condominium

Address: 6800 Sunset Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2084
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £104 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Winds Resort Condominium 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gulf Winds Resort Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Winds Resort Condominium Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Winds Resort Condominium St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing