We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Enjoyed a Wednesday-Sunday stay at the Tradewinds Resort, which spans two resort hotels that aren't connected. From either hotel, you have access to amenities at the other hotel, but it's a short hike or drive back and forth.

We found the staff to be wonderful, often spontaneously offering fresher towels or a special coffee drink, which was really nice.

(Several "free" services at the resort are covered by a $25 daily resort fee -- parking, tennis courts, towels, etc.)

Room Tip: If you plan to stay in the room a good bit, or have more than two people, some kind of upgrade would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyHunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    684
    284
    119
    77
See reviews for
1,016
764
66
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Beautiful beach, beautiful hotel and worlds best beachs that are not crowded close by you can't beat this location, hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillesa_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Be warned do not stay here if you travel with family more than a couple of days. We had stayed here several years ago and decided to come back to visit beach. After we made reservations my wife said remember there was something we experienced and said we would never come back, to bad for me I remembered after we got there. Most of the reviews you will read are from locals that only stay very short periods of time. There is no modern conveniences Dishwashers, clothing washers / dryers, very small refrigerator, no oven, very small 2 top range. So my point is if you plan buying groceries to save eating cost forget it. Room was clean but very run down paint peeling off doors and walls, back door would not close without breaking your back. Showers had mold and chalking peeling off. Room was way over priced compared to nice condos at Clearwater or Panama City. The front desk staff, Perks, and cabana fellows where very nice to deal with everyone else acted as they wish they were not there, several employees told me how much they hated being there but because of economy had no choice and their actions supported that. The real issue I had their was, they seem to like to enter rooms with no notice because of people smoking. I base this statement because same thing happened to room above me and she was a smoker, they busted in her room at 1 am because they thought they smelled smoke but she was in bed sleeping according to her. First time daughter was getting dressed and person knocked and entered without any delay or time to get to door to open it, which terrified her as she was half dressed. My wife was afraid to tell me until next day. The next day I was in kitchen area and my wife was changing out of swimming suit and I heard her scream this time they entered with no knock. I am not a violent person but if would have got a hold of that guy he would have been in the hospital, but when he seen me coming he ran out like a little girl and I stopped to comfort wife instead of pursuing him. I went to front desk and basically told them if they entered my room again without knocking and ample time to answer that person would be hurt badly. After that there was 1 more time they came in but they did provide time to open door before entering.

Room Tip: Stay some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Staying at the Sandpiper is the perfect getaway for relaxation. You have use of all the amenities at the Trade Winds Island Grand without the hustle and bustle of it. The beach is gorgeous and the suite had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The staff is hard working and very friendly and eager to please. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepOnTruckin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILAN,IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Had a great girls trip! Friendly and helpful service at front desk ... thanks James! Everything was perfect. The only thing I would mention is that if you have a car, bring a small one if you are planning to use the parking ramp. Small spaces and tight corners. Also, if your room is on the north side expect to hear the music from the neighboring bar all night. It didn't bother me, but if you are a light sleeper it will. Other then that, I have nothing bad to say. Clean, food good, helpful friendly staff from the check in, to cabana man, to house cleaning to gift shop clerk and security. Great views! I WILL be back!!

Room Tip: If your room is on the north side, expect to hear the music from the neighboring bar. They play late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSLLUVSFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

we would refer the tradewinds to all our friends. The rooms and staff exceeded our expectations. We are returning to this hotel the next time we hit Fla. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrhranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our second time here; our room was lovely! The staff is friendly and courteous. The restaurants are great. We also visited Island sister property . The beach front was so great! I highly recommend this property to tourists!

Room Tip: The staff at front desk assisted our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyldToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing