We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation stay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just a fantastic experience.Our stay was fun,relaxing,and extremely enjoyable.Spotless rooms,great views,and A very pleasant staff! We will return.Had friends stay at other hotels along the beach and all commented on what great rooms we had.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwyretom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello Dwyretom,
What a compliment that your stay with us was "the best vacation stay ever!" We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property, accommodations, and staff. Please DO come back and bring all of your friends with you who didn't get to experience the full "Just Let Go" experience at TradeWinds Island Resorts. Thank you for sharing and hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great customer service all over the hotel and restaurants! Room was clean and loves having a fridge and microwave in the room. Both pools were clean and very nice! Using the cabana on the beach for the day made the day so much better! Also enjoyed the inflatable water slide, made me feel like a kid again and LOVED IT! Also, for being a much needed last minute getaway they got me in with no hassle no questions and was genuinely happy to have me.

Katherine Claypool

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieclaypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hi Katieclaypool,
Do you know how wonderful it is to hear you say that we helped you "feel like a kid again"?! Fantastic! That is exactly the lasting impression that we want our guests to walk away with, in addition to feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We would love for you to come back to visit again whether it's a planned or last minute trip!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I loved staying right on the beach at the Guy Harvey Outpost. The idea of an adults only area was great.....enjoyed the hot tub there. I loved happy hour at the Tiki Bar. The bartender (I think his name was Noel) kept the bar open past 10:00 PM so we could continue our enjoyable conversation. I will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello JeanieJ,
Thank you for coming to visit us at the Guy Harvey Outpost on St. Pete Beach! We are so happy to hear you relaxed by the 'adult only' pool, the hot tub and at Salty's Tiki Bar. We will notify Noel's management team about his outstanding efforts to make sure your evening was enjoyable. We can't wait for you to come back and do it all over again!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a great hotel, we loved every minute we were there. If you are looking for somewhere to stay on the beach when travelling from England this is the spot. We had a gulf view room which was great, the sunsets are spectacular and we never missed one while we were there. The hotel is quieter and smaller than its sister hotel just up the beach but you can use all their facilities too, which we did for meals and drinks and you can charge to your room also. The staff here were the best we encountered while in Florida friendly yet not overbearing.
We had the wristbands and enjoyed free use of cabanas (beach chairs with shade), also the kids were able to use the inflatable slides on the beach. Happy hour at the beach hut bar was busy but a nice touch. We loved walking the beach on a morning then having a coffee and a chat at the coffee bar.
The rooms were clean and spacious, larger than we expected. They are also well equipped so that you could cook yourself if you wanted.
The hotel car park is a bit tight but we had a large car and never had a problem parking although it was October. There was plenty of restaurants in the area and of course the beach was superb. A trip to St Johns Pass is recommended and Clearwater isn't that far if you fancy venturing further. The pools are a bit on the small side and one is for adults only but this wasn't a problem for us.
To sum up a gem of a hotel which I would be happy to return to if we came back to Florida.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hello Mick R,
Of all the resorts you could have selected in Florida, we are so thankful that you chose us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at the Guy Harvey Outpost property in addition to utilizing all the amenities available at our other property, Island Grand. It's wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our free happy hour, beachside cabanas and visit some of our fun local attractions in the area. We truly hope you will return to see us if you decide to make your way back to Florida someday.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Guy Harvey Resort for a little getaway, just the two of us. My husband is an avid fisherman was enthralled by all the fish mounts and pictures. The property is small and quiet for a nice retreat . For a little more excitement you have the option of using the amenities of their other property a short distance down the beach . Both properties are beautiful and the resort fee gives you many amenities to use at both locations. My husbands truck was a little hard to park but going up to the upper deck of the parking garage helped with easier access to a parking spot . We both agreed that the paper wristbands were silly . Maybe another option would be to just scan room keys to verify that you are a guest . The price was a little high for our room . So we will probably not be going back . We did enjoy our stay nonetheless .

Room Tip: A must have is an ocean view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi Vicki B,
We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us at the Guy Harvey Outpost. We love that you selected us because your husband is an avid fisherman and that you were able to experience all the fun amenities that we offer to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your feedback regarding our wristband program. We will certainly forward your suggestions to management for future consideration. Although you stated that you will most likely not return, we hope that we can change your mind and get you back to enjoy beautiful St. Pete Beach with us the next time you need a relaxing getaway.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I needed a weekend getaway & went to the Guy Harvey Outpost. It was SO nice! Great location, friendly staff, clean & comfortable room and the amenities were really nice. It was still baseball season when we were there - we got to watch a Tampa Bay Rays game on the BIG tv set up on the beach in the evening. They do the same thing during hockey season too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatorFan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hello GatorFan64,
How wonderful that you and your husband were able to come to the Guy Harvey Outpost for a relaxing and enjoyable weekend getaway! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We are glad to hear you got to join in on our Rays Watch Party. This has proven to be a very popular activity, and as you mentioned, we are now offering the same parties for the Tampa Bay Lightning games. Please come back to see us the next time you feel like you need to get away again!
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to Guy Harvey outpost for my husband's birthday. We stayed at the hotel and had friends come out to visit us at the hotel to help celebrate. The Staff was excellent and very accommodating to our needs and helped us set up cabanas on the beach where our friends could get together. We were super excited when we found out we could watch the Rays and Lightning game on a big screen on the beach with the other hotel guests. The Lightning Cheerleaders were even gracious enough to join me in bringing the cake and sing Happy Birthday to my husband with his friends. Mary who works in the coffeeshop in the hotel helped me coordinate the set up and location of the cake cutting and was extremely helpful.

We loved all the amenities that the hotel had to offer as well as having access to all the amenities at the Tradewinds Island Grand which was just a 3 - 5 minute walk down the beach. We had fun going down the High Tides Slide, went to a Yoga class, relaxed on the hammocks, sat by the pools and on the beach by the cabanas, walked on the beach and enjoyed the daily happy hour at our hotel.

Having the full size refrigerator, the 2 stove tops and microwave were really convenient to have in our room as well as the suite set up. We had a 1 bedroom courtyard view suite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerstampabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Hi travelerstampabay!
We're so happy we were able to help you celebrate your husband's birthday in style! I love that we were able to arrange for the Lightning Cheerleaders to deliver his birthday cake during the watch party. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and your positive review on our property, staff, rooms and amenities. We hope you will come back to celebrate more special occasions with us in the future.
Kind Regards,
Leni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £179 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing