We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother/daughter get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mother/daughter get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My 19 year old daugher and I needed a relaxing break from the stressful and hectic life we were living in Colorado, so on a whim, we booked 4 nights at Guy Harvey Outpost in January. Best time we have had together in a long time! Although there was construction going on near the pool, it didn't bother us at all because we spent all of our time relaxing at the beach! Also, with access to both hotels, there were 3 other pools to choose from if we wanted. We were very fortunate to have decent weather most of the time we were there. We found the entire staff at both Guy Harvey hotels to be friendly, courteous and very helpful. (Shout out to Lisa at Guys Grill). The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The beach cabanas were definitely an added plus. We ate at several of the resort restaurants and found the food delicious and the wait staff very friendly at all of them. The concierge at the hotel went above and beyond our simple requests for things to do in the area. We loved that there were so many activities available at the resort that we really had no need to leave. It was exactly what we were looking for! We would definitely go back, and I would absolutely recommend both Guy Harvey hotels at St Pete Beach to anyone looking for a beautiful, relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator, so you could hear it humming at night. If you are a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello K H,
We're so glad we got to be a part of the special memories you made with your daughter! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recognizing some of our fantastic staff members. We appreciate you sharing the details of your visit and it makes us so happy to know that it was a wonderful trip. Hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    684
    284
    119
    77
See reviews for
1,014
762
66
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

When we first saw our room, our hearts sank a little, very Maplin's. However inside it was okay clean if a little small and comfy. The hotel is actually two hotels separated by another, non tradewinds hotel, It is in the other hotel where most of the amenities are, but it's just a short walk down the beach. There is a great choice of restaurants, seven I think, varying from burger bar to posh nosh. It is the staff that make the difference, always helpful, always happy. There is an amenity charge, which was included in our package, but its not compulsory. I don't know how much the room cost as we booked through a travel agent. You couldn't get nearer to the beach and of course they have sunbeds. Hawks Key might have better, more modern facilities but this place beats it hands down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noonan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello noonan101,
Thank you so much for sharing your review and feedback on our Guy Harvey Outpost property. We're really happy that your overall experience was a great one. As you said, our large amount of amenities really does allow us to stand out from the rest of the crowd. We hope you'll come back to see us again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived very irritated after an awful flight and horrible drive to the hotel. When my mom arrived to the hotel at the concierge desk Alicia greeted her with the utmost kindness and respect. She comped us for dinner for the evening and COMPLETELY changed our attitudes from a sense of irritability to a sense of serenity and happiness with her kindness and upbeat attitude. I didn't get the chance to meet Alicia, but i could see the change in not only my mothers mood, and the expression on her face, but also her overall attitude towards the trip. Having a bad start to the FIRST mother-daughter trip together can really alter the feeling and experience together over all, and she prevented an awful trip from happening into a wonderful stay here at the Trade Winds Hotel, Guy Harvey location.

Room Tip: Cleanliness of the grounds was awesome, but of the room overall was unsatisfactory. SPA- we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Guy Harvey Outpost during the third week of Feb. We had a wonderful time. We wanted a quiet get away from the NY winter and were not disappointed. When I checked in on Sunday evening the representative was helping someone else and proceeded to ignore me and the attempts I made to get his attention. However, that slight was made up by Derek who a few minutes later approached the counter and immediately asked if I was being helped. Derek was polite, listened to my complaint and quickly got my husband and I to our rooms. That truly was the only bump in our stay. The room was beautiful, staff exceptional (shout out to Mary in the Grill - great help and service and Justice the bellman who carried everything, answered questions about local places and even got ice for us!) and the beach is amazing. Love the reserve your cabana feature, when you get there in the morning, your cabana is set up and ready for your use, no wait time. I think paying extra for a room with the ocean view and the kitchen area is so worth it. This provides a stove, sink and fridge. Stop at the Public's on Gulf Blvd, less than a mile away, stock up and you can cook some meals or snacks.
We also recommend the D'lights across the street for ice cream and burgers. Great lunch choice.
We liked it so much we extended our stay an extra night. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room faced the ocean, center of the building, overlooking the children's pool. I think payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our 4th time to the TradeWinds and the 1st time since it became Guy Harvey Outpost. Once again the resort was welcoming and operating at full steam. The colorful additions of Guy Harvey flavor really add to the resort. The staff really does go out of their way to be friendly, answer questions and just make sure everything is in order. Denise and Captain Tim in the gift shop were full of ideas and stories. The gal that was in charge of 1814, sorry can't remember her name, really took care to come when we needed her and our room was spotless. My favorite person at Guy Harvey has to be Shelly at the Beach/Pool restaurant and bar. Shelly always had a huge smile and a suggestion of what was extra delicious that day. We looked forward to seeing her out at the pool.

Room Tip: We always get the room on first floor facing the gulf. Having the patio outside is like having anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello Teresa K,
Welcome back! Our staff was so happy to see you again for your 4th annual trip to visit us! We're glad you enjoyed our new Guy Harvey Outpost additions and that our staff was as accommodating as ever. Thank you for recognizing them and for sharing your experience. Hope to see you next year for #5.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I'm staying in room 1807. The room has a window that faces the main hallway. It is covered by a wall curtain in the room and a wood louver on the outside wall. You can hear the people talking in the hall as well as equipment being moved. That means the people in the hall could hear anyone in the room as well. I spoke to some people in 1805 who had the some noise. It seems a easy fix with some sound proofing and sheetrock and not have to offer a different room and still have the problem in 7 rooms. Everything else is top shelf.

Room Tip: DON"T ask for rooms 1801 - 1807 you feel a lack of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harold550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Pros: the room is clean, the staff are friendly, the beach is beautiful.

Cons: Half the hotel faces a neighboring bar/grill and local watering hole called the Toasted Monkey. They play music loudly all day long and late into the night (10pm on Thursday, midnight last night - Friday). I had to walk half a mile down the beach before I could lose the sound this evening.

But wait, there's more. I hear my neighbors very clearly through the closed door between our rooms. It is nearly as if they are in my room. And I was awakened at 5:30 this morning by the sound of the shower in the room above me. That too was as if it was in my room.

There is still more. They put me in a room that is at the end of the wing and across from the cleaning staff supply room. The cleaning carts are parked outside my door all day long. And I get to listen to cleaning staff conversations as they restock supplies and take breaks.

What makes this all still worse is that I explicitly asked for a quiet room. And I asked early in the day when they had plenty of choices.

If you are a party animal and love to hang out at bars like the Toasted Monkey, this is your place. If not, keep looking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank jamescthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for the excessive noise, some of which was within our control. We track all noise complaints with the local authorities that are related to The Toasted Monkey and are currently working with its' owners for a reasonable solution for all of us. The noise from the staff while they are preparing their carts for the day has already been forwarded for review in the morning meetings. One immediate solution may have been a request for a room move. As you stated at arrival, you requested a quiet room however that would obviously be based on room type availability at the time.
Again please accept my apology and if I could be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you.
drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing