We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a Girls Getaway Weekend !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Girls Getaway Weekend !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Group of high school friends planned a long weekend at the beach . Check in - Rooms were made available at noon time which was wonderful .,,,,parking was tight but we got spots for 2 cars ( 1 per room) rooms very clean , kitchen with everything included ,,,staff on our floor was wonderful , helped with anything we needed ,,always pleasant,,,we were looking for sun & fun ,,,connecting with old friends and we got ,,,just that,,,the staff at pool , bar, fire pit , and cabanas ( Travis ) couldnt have been nicer, Mary @ Coffee cafe, Cassie? awesome server , Victor ,to name a few ,,,made our trip all more enjoyable ,,,great singer at pool ,,,we laughed , so much ,,,never felt we needed a plan,,stayed on beach every night and watched the sunset ,we plan on making it a tradition and come back every other year ,,,

Room Tip: 6th floor suites , stayed beach side ,,,left sliders open ,,sound of waves ,,perfect for sleeping !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello Kathy M,
It sounds like you and the girls had an absolutely magnificent retreat at the Guy Harvey Outpost. Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your reunion. We're so glad we got to be the backdrop for so many laughs and memories that you will cherish for years to come. Also, we appreciate the recognition of some of our awesome staff members. Hope to see you all again next year to do it all over again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,377
    674
    280
    118
    77
See reviews for
989
757
66
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Having stayed at the resort for a week in May 2014 we were delighted with the resort. It is smaller than most on this beach but makes up for that in service and quality. All the staff were very helpful and special mention to Fiona and Linda in the Grill and Efren in Customer Service. We would recommend the Outpost for anyone looking for personal service rather than a louder ,busier hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with courtyard and partial sea-view are favoured
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAMRS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello LINDAMRS B,
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our property. Thank you for recognizing our outstanding staff members for their customer service and attention to detail. We hope you'll come back to see us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

second time here, liked it more second time around.We were there for Halloween which was good fun. Very good base to drive to Tampa, Clearwater and Orlando too if you want to. Theservice is second to none and the beach is fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in a Gulf View Suite. We are very fussy and cleanliness is important to both of us when choosing a hotel. Unlike other reviews, we found our room to be be very clean and always made up promptly. We also observed staff vacuuming the common areas regularly and making sure everything was clean. All the staff members we dealt with were very personable and always had a smile or a good morning. The beach staff also did a very good job and were very helpful. The beach and views were excellent. Reserving a cabana online was very easy and a nice feature. Our room did face the Toasted Monkey Beach Bar and Grill and did hear the music and bar crowd. Luckily, we go to bed late and it was not a big problem but it is something you can do without or consider when making a reservation.

Room Tip: I would request a room that is on the side of the hotel that does not have the Toasted Monkey Bar ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mario T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

It's a bit tired in terms of decor, but otherwise this is a nice enough hotel. The staff are really friendly, and whilst the place lacks somewhere decent to eat at night, there are a few nice options at the sister hotel about 5 mins walk away. The BIG problem is that the hotel next door emits VERY LOUD MUSIC from mid afternoon until MIDNIGHT (despite an apparent order to keep it down from 11). I know that there's probably nothing much this hotel can do, but it does detract from the stay - it was so loud it was causing water in a glass to move! Add the ongoing construction at the hotel that starts at 8am, a good night's sleep requires precision planning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for not meeting your expectations. However, I would like to take this opportunity to let everyone know that the construction on our new restaurant will be completed as scheduled with our Grand Opening May 16th. Regarding the noise from next door, we do make every effort to keep this under control as we work very closely with the properties management and local authorities. I hope that you will not let this prevent you from staying with us again at the Guy Harvey OutPost.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here one night before moving to the sister property that hosted our conference. Thank God it was only one night. The discounted price of $250/night was at least $200 too much. I felt like I was in a 1 star motel. When our shuttle turned into the parking lot, our mouths dropped open, there was massive construction everywhere and the entrance looked far from inviting.

The hotel staff were not the most attentive. It took a while to receive service. Once we did have the opportunity to speak with a clerk, she made us feel like we were being difficult. When I asked about shuttle service between the two properties, which was something promised when the reservation was made, she walked away, threw up her hands, and said "I can't deal with this"? However, in the end, she did return and made all of the necessary arrangements.

We were told that we received an upgrade, however the room was extremely small and the furniture was circa 1980. We might have been able to look past this if the room was clean. The bathroom was totally disgusting and unusable. Prior to our using the bathroom the housekeeping staff had to clean the bathroom. The bed comforter was stained and the vents looked like they had not been cleaned in years. We were at the end of a hall that flooded from all of the rain; hence we had to walk through puddles to get to our room.

We ventured downstairs to the on-site restaurant. Although it was raining we opted to sit outside under the awning to eat due to the frigid temperatures inside. Unfortunately the awning leaked in several places, so our seating options were limited. The table we chose looked safe, but a few minutes later, my colleague had to re-position her beverage to avoid dripping rain water. The bar was located in a Tiki hut approximately 20 feet from the restaurant. The waiters/waitresses were transporting food and drinks between the two venues uncovered in moderately heavy rain. So anyone under the awning, who wanted a drink from the bar, received a drink watered down by rain; and if you were in the bar area and wanted food, it arrived soggy.

Needless to say, I will do my homework and read reviews prior to booking a room. I booked this based upon the advice from the staff of the sister property, Tradewinds. I won't make this mistake again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
As the Director of Guest please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations at the Guy Harvey Outpost. I am thankful that we were able to accommodate you at the Island Grand. I have forwarded your concerns to our General Manager and others for further review. However, the construction is nearly completed and the Grand Opening of the restaurant is scheduled for May 16th. After reviewing your folio, I see that a complimentary upgrade was provided. Seeing that you then moved to the Island Grand, I just wish that you would have reached out to any of our managers or myself with your concerns.
I hope this will not prevent you from staying with us again, and please let me know I could be of any further assistance.
Thank you.drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband, 10 year old son and myself stayed here for four nights at the beginning of May 2014. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
1. Excellent staff. Everyone who worked here was nice and friendly.

2. Location is right on the beach. We had a room that overlooked the pool and beach and the view was amazing!!

3. Room and hotel are kept very clean.

4. You can use all the amenities at their sister property, Tradewinds, which is very, very close to this hotel.

CONS:
1. Hotel is next door to a nightclub, the Toasted Monkey, which plays loud music in the evening. Our room was on the side of the hotel that is adjacent to the nightclub and we were subjected to listening to the loud music when trying to relax/sleep in our hotel room in the evening. When we called the front desk about this they were very nice and explained that there was a city ordinance requiring the nightclub to "quiet down" at 11pm. The noise from the nightclub did disappear at 11pm however up until then it was difficult to relax or get to sleep. If you are looking to relax in your room in the evening I would suggest requesting a room on the other side of the hotel. And I would recommend to the hotel not to put families on this side of the hotel.

2. Poor water pressure in the shower - no matter what time of day.

3. For the price we paid per night I expected a higher quality room. You are basically paying a five star hotel price for a three star motel room. We stayed at the Trump in Miami last year for the same price and the suite was much, much nicer. And Trump was also on the beach. With Guy Harvey you are definitely paying a lot to be on the beach, don't expect the price you pay to be reflective of the quality of the room.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, just make sure to take into account the cons listed above. Next time we are in the area we will stay at the Tradewinds. Would have stayed there this time but they were sold out.

Room Tip: If you don't like loud music in the evening request a room on the side of hotel that does not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_A_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing