We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as nice as their website would lead you to believe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite as nice as their website would lead you to believe”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our trip here started out poor, phone calls on how to get to the hotel from Tampa Air Port was less then honest. "Shuttles run every 15 minutes" Well sort of, you have to buy a seat in a "super shuttle" which was just under $100 round trip for my wife and I. This company is the low cost way to get there, but they fill a big van and drop all the others off at their door. So after a 1 1/2 hour ride we finally got to Guy Harvey's. We found the food at the little on site restaurant was expensive as heck, and mediocre at best. There are some great places to eat short walks from this hotel.

in the end the rooms were small, and just about ready for an update, and it was very expensive, lots of other places with lower prices on same beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    704
    290
    129
    86
See reviews for
1,096
812
71
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as the overflow hotel from the Sirata where our conference was being held.

Originally we were shown to a room that was jam packed with furniture with little room to move around. We requested a King Size bed and were moved to a much better room with a sitting room & a kitchenette. Much much better! We loved being right by the adult pool. And staff was cool about us wanting to float around even late (so long as we kept things quiet.)

There was a slight problem with leaking in the bathroom but maintenance was quick to respond & very friendly!

We were able to take advantage of the amenities of the sister property Tradewinds.

Parking was an issue with A LOT of construction going on. (The crew of workers didn't care if you wanted to get by. . They had to finish their conversation or cigarette or whatever. Grr!)

Last complaint, don't ever knock on my hotel room before 9am to ask if I'm checking out/ what time. Uh no! I'm freaking sleeping! Checkout isn't until 11.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I just wanted to thank you for the positive comments on the efforts to get you into a much better room which was right by the pool for those late night swims. Regarding the parking, the majority of the construction on our new restaurant RumFish Grill has been completed and just about all parking spaces are now available. I apologize for this inconvenience and hope that it alone will not prevent you from returning for a little rest and relaxation of your own.
Thank you. Director of Guest Satisfaction - drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On the Wednesday prior to last night's gala Animal Planet 'Tanked' Watch Party, my husband and I could tell that the G H Outpost was completing on the final touches of their renovation. What impressed us the most was the obvious staff training. Our bartender, Luckey, was attentive and very personable. The food was exceptional for a poolside tiki-hut bar. Can't wait to go back to the Guy Harvey Outpost for both the Rumfish Restaurant and and the SandBar.

Room Tip: We actually stayed at the sister property Tradewinds Island Grand, but walked to the nearby Guy Harv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello Jo C,
Thank you for recognizing our staff members and Luckey specifically, for outstanding service. We're so glad you enjoyed your time spent at The SandBox, the Sand Bar and Salty's Tiki Bar. We look forward to your return so you can enjoy a meal in the new Guy Harvey RumFish Grill!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you're only aspiring to have beer in a plastic cup, play beach volleyball, and sing drunken karaoke until the wee hours, this place is for you. I stayed for a conference that was based at the parent hotel at the next light down and I was jealous of my coworker's elegance. Not too much sleep to be had, horribly overpriced food and drink. I spent as much time as possible up the block.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marniesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Please accept my apology for not meeting your expectations. Apparently, there are a few Spring Beaker's left who were enjoying themselves on the beach. However, thank you for the positive comments about the Island Grand. Upon making reservations to return to the next conference, please contact me directly and I will assist in making sure you are in a larger room type at the Island Grand.
Thank you. Director of Guest Satisfaction - drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, NH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We would stay here again. Satisfied. Its not a 5 star luxury resort, but still nice. Maid service ok but not perfect. They didn't always clean dishes or replace items we took from snack bar. Staff very friendly. Will return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyjoe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello partyjoe27,
We're so happy to hear you plan to return to stay at our property again in the future. We also appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I honestly don't know how this place has good reviews. Most of the front is under construction. Most of the parking garage is roped off due to construction supplies and it's very difficult to even get into the resort because the workers and staff do not move out of the way. Not to sound impatient. But you pay to stay and then can't access the place when you get here. The room is okay. But my door seems to be in an unsafe place and the resort as a whole is in poor repair. They are making upgrades. But maybe the winter is time to do that and they should earn potential guests ahead of time. The place does have on site restaurants and amenities and an adults only pool. But the peeling and cracking paint everywhere and 89% torn up entrance and mostly unusable parking garage are just beyond unacceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for the inconvenience of the construction related to the new restaurant. The RumFish Grill will have it's Grand Opening tomorrow, May 16th! We attempted to complete most of the construction just after Spring Break and finish just before Summer. Once all the clean up is completed, I'm sure we will exceed everybody's expectations including the enhancement of the beach front along with the new fire pits and expanded bar for entertainment.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Simply amazing place perfectly set on St Pete Beach, Fl. Extremely helpful staff members and facilities were all excellent.
Sunsets to die for! Beach is first rate and he cabanas are well worth while.

Room Tip: Speak to Carmen and Joanne
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi LondonAlan63,
You can say that again… the St. Pete Beach sunsets really are spectacular! We're so glad you enjoyed your time at our property and that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate you. Thank you for sharing your experience and for recognizing Joanne and Carmen. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing