We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really neat atmosphere and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really neat atmosphere and hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had the whole family to visit the area, after staying at Clearwater beach we ventured down to the Guy Harvey outpost for the weekend, the kids loved it and the adults hung by the pool all weekend, super relaxing, and all the kids loved the inflateable water toys on the beach. Dinner was great at the hotels resturaunt. The place is decorated really neat with all guy harvey themed stuff everywhere. This place is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get the water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,467
    692
    287
    123
    80
See reviews for
1,051
788
69
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros
* Overall staff was very friendly and helpful
* Live music at pool was great
* Chairs, Firepits were a great place to hang out in the evening
* Cabanas were wonderful and easy to reserve
* Adult pool is a nice touch
* Lots of restaurant choices between both resorts

Cons
* Rooms were extremely small (only about 450 sq feet for the gulf suite which was about $300
a night)
* Rooms made to look much larger on website. Website also made it look like there was a
balcony. There is not.
* Main pool is so small - nothing special at all compared to other places (Marriotts, Sheratons)
we have stayed in Florida.
* Outdoor bar staff was not friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology where we failed to meet your expectations. We take all comments very serious and appreciate your letting us know where to make improvements. I have forwarded this to our F&B managers as well. However, I would like to thank you for all the positive comments as well. I hope that you will not let this one experience prevent you from staying with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I had one of the most beautiful dinners and wonderful service from a very knowledgeable waiter named Eric. We sat a the incredible aquarium enjoying a fantastic dinner presentations that included there fish special hanging from a hook !!!
The girls loved the aquarium and the fish show kept us all entertained with a large variety of fish !!
We will be looking forward to our return!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harleyparts32903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We took my sister for her birthday expecting a fun, exciting birthday weekend, but we were completely let down. Everything was small, the rooms, the elevators, the pool, etc. Basic hotels were better than this "resort". We basically paid for the name, because what's "included" is your parking, beach cabana, and access to an inflatable "water slide". Everything else is a la carte and expensive. We ate one of the hotels restaurants for breakfast, and paid $4.50 for orange juice and $1/bacon slice. Overall, what you get is not worth what you pay. Now, on the upside, Rum Fish Grill was amazing! Great atmosphere, great food, great service, and the tank was awesome! So, my advice is stay at the Howard Johnson next store for 1/3 of the price, and have a great dinner at Rum Fish Grille.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology for failing to meet your expectations, especially for such an occasion as a family birthday. All of our staff take extra measures to accommodate our guest on special occasions and I would like for you to contact me to make further arrangements so as not to be let down again. Thank you for the positive comments about our new restaurant the RumFish Grill and staff. At your convenience. Thank you. drogers@twresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass-a-Grille
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We met friends on a Friday
night for drinks in the lounge.
Our waitress gave great recommendations for apps:
Buffalo wings, crab cakes and fried calamari. Delicious and plenty to eat along with our beers and wine.
The manager, Philip, came over to ask if everything was ok and when he found out we were locals, recommended applying for 15 percent off card for St Pete Beach locals!
We listened and danced to a live band with vocalist and highly recommend checking this place out whether just visiting or beach resident.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank USAFA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello USAFA62,
It sounds like you guys had an awesome time and we're so happy to hear it! Thank you for bringing your group out to RumFish Grill for an evening full of good food, great drinks, and dancing. Please come back to do it all over again soon.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastpoint, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just left the resort after a 5 night stay for my son and his friend to attend the Tampa Rays Baseball Camp. ( be sure to call about the discount if your child will be attending the camp, the savings are significant) I had no idea what to expect, but really enjoyed the trip. We had a lot going on, so I wasn't able to enjoy the resort, beach, pool, etc.as much as I would have liked due to lack of time.. I will definitely return and discover all I didn't have time for during this stay..

Definitely try the Guy Harvey Grill for lunch/dinner and the restaurant Skidder's, which is just down from resort- fantastic seafood/Greek dishes.

I felt very safe and secure letting the boys (age 12) venture out around the resort. The staff was always friendly and helpful. One employee, Justis, went out of his way to help us tie our surfboards safely back on our car - very sweet guy!

My one wish would have been for the room to be larger, will upgrade to a suite for our next stay. I would definitely recommend this to any family traveling with children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Me and my wife had a great time, She went on the wavejet fell off several times and got the hang of it, So she was able to stand up.Had a great time,Did the slide.overall just had a great time.

ps food was great to

Room Tip: Any room you won't be in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRT8MIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing