We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb! It just gets better and better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Guy Harvey Outpost when it was still Sandpiper. We love it for so many reasons....#1 is CARMEN! She is the best ever, you feel like family when you come here. The staff they employ are far above other places. Evidently they train very well and truly screen for those who provide the best customer service. We also love having the adult pool because we don't have little ones, it is so nice to lounge at the pool and not have little kids running and jumping and splashing! There is a separate pool for the families which also looks enjoyable for them. They have fabulous double hammocks under the trees to nap in the breezy shade after a day of sun, they have new awesome lunging couches with fire pits, cabanas, water slide things for the kids, and the new aquarium and restaurant. The rooms are super clean, the decor is beautiful. And the view from the gulf front rooms is gorgeous. Oh and the beds are more comfy than mine at home :). I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: Gulf front suite is great with full kitchen an desperate bedroom with fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,822 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

So we stayed here for this years family vacation and it's a nice place. There are two hotels spaced 250 feet (+/-) apart. The Guy Harvey Outpost is the one without the Beach Slide in back but its so close it doesn't matter. My kids were disappointed in the wait to go down the slide so even though it was the principal reason for booking it wound up not being a factor. Kids had a great time anyway. The pool bar was ok and the little cafe was good. We tried to eat at Rumfish; the nice restaurant on property with a big fish tank.... but it requires reservations (didn't know that, but I should have). And to be fair we could have eaten on the deck but its pretty hot out there even with the mister fans blowing.
Rooms were very good and clean. I'd say cleaner than I expect in a beach destination, A+. In fact, the entire property was very clean and the staff was overall very helpful.
So why not a 5??? It's really not the property's fault, more to do with there's not much to walk to in St. Pete and this is true for the surrounding Hotels so if its St.Pete for your destination then you'll enjoy GHO

Room Tip: Parking is a premium, dont give up...always someone leaving. Any room you get will have something of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smchaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we arrived at the Guy Harvey hotel April 2014 and were shown our room also another room overlooking the beach and pool and told for a $100.00 approx we could change rooms and as we were staying there for 8 days i decided it was a good idea.so we duly put bags in the aforementioned room and were we very pleased lovely kitchen,bathroom and large lounge and also a bedroom home from home,could have stayed there forever....nearby were many restaurants for breakfast also a great icecream place..next to the hotel was another hotel as it was the same company we could use all their facilities and restaurants..i would recommend the Guy Harvey to any one 5 stars.........

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the sea.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We took our young family to this resort because it was located right on the beach in the Gulf. It was so family friendly. Our suite was accommodating and offered us the flexibility of eating in often. Our patio room overlooked the pool and made our stay so easy and carefree. We could watch the children in the pool from our outside patio table. The beach was just steps away! We stayed at the Outpost. The only downside was walking back and forth between properties, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy many of the activities happening at the Grand. It would be great if they had a shuttle to shuttle guests back and forth. It's not a long walk, but for small children, it was tiring. We loved our stay and would return again. The staff is super courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went to Rum Fish Grill for the first time on our Vacation to St. Pete Beach during July 4th week. Food was amazing, service impeccable enough to rival Walt Disney Worlds best restaurants, we should know, we eat there a lot. Abbey was our server the first time, she was very personable and always checking to make sure everything was good. Aside from that, the 33,000 gallon fish tank, which was done by the guys from Tanked, looks AWESOME!

Upon our second visit, the manager and our server from our first visit, remembered and greeted us like they were legitimately happy to see us again. The server on the second night admittedly wasn't all that great but he was still prompt and the food was amazing.

p.s. The Spice Crab Bisque was AMAZING!

Room Tip: Penthouse north side has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had the whole family to visit the area, after staying at Clearwater beach we ventured down to the Guy Harvey outpost for the weekend, the kids loved it and the adults hung by the pool all weekend, super relaxing, and all the kids loved the inflateable water toys on the beach. Dinner was great at the hotels resturaunt. The place is decorated really neat with all guy harvey themed stuff everywhere. This place is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get the water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros
* Overall staff was very friendly and helpful
* Live music at pool was great
* Chairs, Firepits were a great place to hang out in the evening
* Cabanas were wonderful and easy to reserve
* Adult pool is a nice touch
* Lots of restaurant choices between both resorts

Cons
* Rooms were extremely small (only about 450 sq feet for the gulf suite which was about $300
a night)
* Rooms made to look much larger on website. Website also made it look like there was a
balcony. There is not.
* Main pool is so small - nothing special at all compared to other places (Marriotts, Sheratons)
we have stayed in Florida.
* Outdoor bar staff was not friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

As the Director of Guest Satisfaction please accept my apology where we failed to meet your expectations. We take all comments very serious and appreciate your letting us know where to make improvements. I have forwarded this to our F&B managers as well. However, I would like to thank you for all the positive comments as well. I hope that you will not let this one experience prevent you from staying with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £178 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing