We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Taylorville, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Tradwinds is a great place to stay. All of the staff are wonderful. We arrived very late one night or early the next morning and check was a breeze. Anytime we asked for towels we received them almost immediately. The front desk staff are top notch. They were always ready to give us directions or tell us great places to go. The bartenders at the Sand Bar are great too. We always had a good time sitting there for drinks. I would definately stay here again. We went down the Island Grand a few times. While they definately have more to offer there are alot more people too. Also, check out Jimmy B's, they have live music and its a great little place on the bar.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    692
    287
    123
    80
See reviews for
1,050
788
69
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I am so sorry to be typing this but don't want others to have to go through what I did! And several other business partners as well! I had to go to three different rooms until I found one without a live roach in it. Others that traveled with me found a dead roach at the end of their bed and another found an inch worm in her sheets once she pulled them back!
I can't stress enough how ill I felt paying $100 plus a night and the cleaning consisted of trash emptying and barely making the bed, awful does not cover it! would NEVER go back! if I had a vehicle would have stayed in it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila Area
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

St. Pete Beach is a wonderful area. The Beach is just awesome. I was looking for a hotel on the beach for my vacation with the kids. I had seen the Tradewinds other property on my prior visit to the area and it looked like a really fun place. As I searched other choices, I kept coming back to the Tradewinds for the value. I was then at a tossup as to which property. I choose the Sandpiper over the Island Grand, primarily due to cost savings. The Island Grand has many more amenities (more pools, restraunts, etc. as it is a larger property, but you have full privledges at the both and they are only a short walk apart).
The things I liked about the Sandpiper:
- The rooms were nicely decorated. (bright colors, festive) I upgraded from a Std. Suite to a Balcony Suite for $10 (a bargain) and I was given one facing the gulf. Beautiful views of the gulf and the courtyard.
- The grounds and common areas are meticulously maintained. Very clean (staff stays on top of it!)
- The Beach - It's just great - huge, not crowded, free 2 person cabana included in resort fee(that I did not have to pay by booking via expedia).
- They provided as many towels as you wanted for the pool or beach.
- Pool side bar was nice! They always had free pitchers of water out if you were thirsty.
- The fitness center was awesome - usually they don't have much at these places but this had all modern equipment, very nice treadmills, elipticals, free weights - TV, towels, fully equipped - really nice!
- The store and the restraunt, etc. were all reasonably priced (you expect to pay a premium in the hotel but prices were basically on par with other local establishements.)
- The service was great - I had a slow drain in the shower upon arrival and it was fixed immediatly after I called.


The only thing that I can see for improvement:
- The room (I had a suite facing the gulf) didn't have a full dresser in the bedroom. It had an armoire with a TV and drawers. This is minor, but I found myself looking for flat surfaces to put stuff down on that weren't there. The night stand was available but a tight squeeze for 3 people to unload watches, hair bands, and all that stuff.
- The hotel store closed at 6, but there is a 7-11 almost across the street. I made frequent trips there for snacks, etc.
- There is a bar at a property down the beach that has live bands every evening. You can hear it from the side of the hotel that I was on, but they shut down every night around 11 or 11:30. I didn't bother me at all, but some people who are light sleepers who go to bed early may want a room facing the other side.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have always loved the Sandpiper. We took extended family this year, they fell in love with Sandpiper too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stpetelover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterling heights
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

we were there at 2007 and that was vacation to remember that was all about going back to this place again.My children are 5,12 and18 years old and for each one it was place to enjoy very nice family resort and we will be back again soon

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skopjanka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slate River Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Whenever we go to St. Pete we always stay at the Island Grand Hotel. When we booked our april vacation the Island Grand had no vacancy and the front desk personel asked us if we had ever stayed at their sister hotel, Sandpiper. We never had so we thought we would give it a try. Well, we thought the Island Grand was a great palce to beach bum but we found that the Sandpiper had even more to offer. Being a smaller property we found it to be a little more private but with the same great customer service and amenities as its big sister the Island Grand. We could still enjoy the services of the Island Grand and then escape to the serenity of our little jewel, The Sandpiper. What a great place for a spring getaway.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My daughter and I took a week's vacation at the Sandpiper and was very happy with just about everything. The concierge was very friendly and helpful when we arrived. She reduced our daily amenity charge since we did not have a car and upgraded our room to a 6th floor suite overlooking the pool and ocean for a minimal charge. The beach is beautiful, the adult pool was quiet and relaxing, and everyone was very friendly. The room was small but just perfect for two people. For the most part it was quiet at night and houskeeping kept things clean. We did not rent a car but instead used the FreeBeachRide Service and it was so convenient. The drivers were very friendly and gave us tips on where to go and what to see. They would always pick us up within 15 minutes...usually sooner and it would only cost a couple dollars for a tip. We did rent a car one day to see some sights that were further away but that ended up being the only rainy day so things did not go as planned. Other than one rainy day the weather was perfect...hot but who cares when you are at the beach. The best place we ate was SeaHags. The food was yummy, huge portions and $4 cosmos!!! They also had a great country music band that night. We also ate at Sloppy Pelicans which was really good. The Wharf was a neat setting but the food was not that great. Skidders across the street was OK....the food downstairs at Piper's Patio was actually very good. All in all, we had a great time and would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieTrentonOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,025 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Property: Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium tank, indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Surf WipeOut ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing