We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and awesome food! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seared 1200 Chophouse

Seared 1200 Chophouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place and awesome food! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I found this wonderful place on Urbanspoon so we gave it a try based on the ratings. The atmosphere of this eatery is a fantastic. We started with the bacon wrapped diver scallops. They were incredible. Next came very fresh house salads that were crispy and cold. Very good. For the main course I had the special of the day which was a veal chop. It was superb. My wife had the filet and said it was perfect. As a compliment the waiter recommended a bottle of Zucardi Malbec. All in all one of the best meals we have had in a long time. When we come back to St Pete we will visit them again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank GSpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    156
    43
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

First off , service was excellent! Bruschetta appetizer is a must! House salad that comes with your entree is a perfect combo, of sweet, sour, crispy, & crunchy. Rib eye was perfectly cooked and delicious , Come eat here before you go home!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ynot124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected of a Chophouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Maybe it was a bad night, maybe I don't know what a chophouse is but I did not expect a loud, hot, dishes clattering, screaming babies vibe at a chophouse. I had read about the much anticipated, imported 1200 degee searing grill going in at the old Patrick"s Bistro (which had a semi upscale intimate ambiance - for the beaches anyway). I guess I expected the old downtown St Pete Brasserie but even at higher than chain steakhouse prices the tourists find better value in going upscale and saving the cost of the hotel babysitting service by bringing the little ones along. Sad for us local Schleps who want a nice anniversary out. The salad and bread were delicious but the rib eye was way way way salty (and I love salt). Server of course tried to steer us to the $60 bottle of wine - not. Kind of a blatant play on hiking the check rather demonstrating knowledge of the wine list. We settled on something at $20 less but it was a bit thin to be served with steak. Lots of better choices are out there at this price..just not on Seared's list. PS would be nice if the restaurant's windows were cleaned inside and out. We'll try again..but not in the near future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BGBurgChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places i have ever found !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is one of the best restaurants in the whole of St Pete if not the best ! the menu is fantastic just like the staff. Although the place is small the atmosphere is great, so do visit here and you will be pleased ! Highly Recommended shame i live the other side of the world or would come here every night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToughToPleaseReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great experience ...breaks into the top 5 ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

What a great find among the kitschy, beach front shacks of st Pete's beach. Small but mighty. The steaks are wonderful! The service...terrific! Our server, Chris, was knowledgeable, friendly and very efficient. We we're told it would be a 30 minute wait so we grabbed a drink and went outside to sit. Maybe 15 minutes later, we were seated. Chris walked us through the menu, making suggestions when asked, and gave us time to finish our drinks and relax.
We had the filet, the New York strip and the ribeye. I'm a steak fan from way back and will tell you they were all terrific. The filet was excellent, the best of the three. The beef was so good none of us even got to the mashed potatoes that came with it.
We struck up a conversation with Chris about wine and he recommended his favorite to us. The Groth cab. It was amazing. Thanks again, Chris for the terrific evening!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank swrCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seared 1200 Chophouse also viewed

St. Pete Beach, FL
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to Seared 1200 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing