We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FAMILY VACATION !!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
footville wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY VACATION !!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We just returned from our first Florida Vaction and we stayed at the Bay Palms... FABULOUS place...

Loved having the bay on one side and the ocean on the other (usually I am an ocean front person). The kids totally enjoyed the bay and fishing .We did not see a manatee but it gives us something to look forward to next year..:)

The one bedroom suite was a wonderful surprise...Very clean and spacious.

My whole family had a great time and we will definitely reccomend these resorts to others and be returning next year !!!!

Room Tip: very clean and spacious room..great location...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    128
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
186
226
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Arrived on 4/14 for a week long stay. Arrived early and was told the room was not ready understandably. Was told we could use the facilities and would be called when the room was ready. Sat by the pool and waited. Check in time was 3:00 pm. About 3:30 pm went to the front desk and asked if the room was ready yet and was told that the shift changed and they did not know to call us. OK no big deal. We rented a deluxe one bedroom suite with a queen bed in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the suite area. We were given a suite with two double beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed. When we checked with the front desk we were told the suites did not have queen beds only double beds. Not only do I have an issue with truth in advertising but our confirmation clearly stated a queen bed.
So finally checked in and found the cleanliness to be sub-par. The room was cleaned but only on a cursory level. There were frozen ice cream bowls in the freezer, empty candy wrappers in the closet and worse of all a half filled baby bottle stuffed in the cushions of the sofa bed. Thank goodness we planned to use the sofa bed because when we opened it and found the half filled baby bottle we tossed it immediately. It could have been incredibly offensive.

I hope to be able to write better reviews as the week progresses but first impressions are not very good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangla26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to provide me with feedback. Guest suggestions and opinions are so important to help me improve our resort. First, I want to apologize that we did not fully meet you expectations on the day of check-in. Check-in is after 3:00pm, we do allow guest to come as early as noon to enjoy the facilities while they wait for their room. I am sorry that the front office did not call you to let you know that your room was ready, they are usually very good about that, but this time someone overlooked it. As for our Deluxe One Bedroom Suites and all of our rooms, we don’t guarantee room bedding, when you book we guarantee the room type and that it will accommodate the number of people you booked for. Because we have so many different rooms arranged in different ways with different bedding there is no way we could list all of them. The majority of the Deluxe One Bedroom Suites at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort are One Queen and Two Sleeper sofa’s however we do have many other configurations. I really apologize for that misunderstanding. As for your room being cleaned sub-par, that is completely unacceptable in my book. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and if you read other reviews you will see that everyone mentions how clean and spacious the rooms are. I wish you would have contacted me about that; I would have had sent the housekeeper back up to re-clean and re-check the room. This is not a typical case as our property as I mentioned earlier so I really apologizes about that.

Thank you again for bringing these items to my attention.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently spent a month at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. It was our 15 year staying in the same apartment. During the past few years there have been many improvements both in the apartment and in the grounds that surround the resort. It is rare that we don't see one of the owners during the day and the housekeeping service is excellent. We wouldn't want to stay at any other place in Florida. We step out our door and the bay is there to watch for dolphins and manatees. It's quiet at night and we have so many friends that return each year that it's like a reunion to see them. This year we had four apartments or motel rooms occupied by us and our friends during all or part of our stay. They all plan to return again next year. We love that it's pet friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I brought our family to stay at the Bay Palms Resort and the rooms were very clean and updated. The location was perfect it was near great restaurants and bars. The kids fished everyday and we swam in the pool. It was a beautiful stay. The first day we saw a manatee with her baby and she swam up to us so we can spray fresh water in their mouths. Great place and a great stay!!! Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolinerrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My family and I live 1 hour North of St Pete and were looking to take a family vacation, to take the kids and other family members for a spring break getaway! We had 12 people going and wanted to keep it local. Little did we know how great this place would be! We were able to bring our dog Lucy, the rooms accommodated all of our needs, everything was clean, it had a great family vibe, great surroundings and will definitely be back in the near future! The owner Robert is very personable and look forward to staying at the Plaza Beach next time with the wife!

When you see the Manatee, spray the hose in the water and they will come to the dock to drink the fresh water! it's a great family experience!

The Rosario family

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank errol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I love the pictures of the manatees, thank you for posting them. We are always thrilled when our local’s discover our properties. I am glad to hear that your entire family enjoyed their stay; being that you are only 1-hour away I look forward to hosting everyone more often.

Welcome to our extend family and our resorts, as we say “Traditions Start Here” and I look forward to seeing your family again this summer.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
“Family Owned and Operated since 1988”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We just returned from staying at Bay Palms the week of March 24-31st, 2012. Everything looks exactly like the pictures. We checked in at Plaza Beach Resort (their main resort 100 yards away). Check in was curtious, friendly and quick by Ingrid and Catrina. We would also stop in occasionally for information or directions to a local spot. The ladies were always helpful and friendly. As soon as we checked into our room which, by the way, was spotless, and looked as if it had been totally re-done, we went out to the deck that overlooked Boca Ciega Bay. Everyone we met were so friendly and we ended up sharing many conversations over coffee or breakfast in the morning out on the deck. It was some great adult time. Our kids would get up later, have breakfast, then we'd hang out by the pool, and then go across the street to the beach by noon. Guests of Bay Palm and Bay View enter the beach via Plaza Beach resort, which you can use thier amenities as well. (They have free beer and wine from 4-5 every day in thier rec. room) There's a great little hot dog/burgers/beefs hut just behind the pool there that we visited several times for lunch while at the beach. Bay Palms is a small property and I have say we were a little nervous when we first pulled up but was pleasantly surprised when we got into our room and went to the back to view the bay and pool and deck area. Everything is super clean and well kept. We grilled out on the deck one night and ate our dinner out there and it was just awesome! Every morning and every dusk some manatees come up to the pier for drinks of water. There is a water hose off of the pool area and if you put the hose in the water the manatee come up for drinks. Our kids loved that! I only saw one dolphin in the bay while we were there. One of the other guests said they usually don't come around if it's warmer than usual. It was in the mid to high 80's while we were there! We were thrilled to death with the warm weather. I have to mention that we walked our little dog 1/2 block down to the Walgreens as there is grass there and there is also a park nearby. That worked great for us and she needed to walk as well as we put her in the kennel while we were out. It was not an inconvenience at all for us. Also, there is Gigi's Italian restaurant on the corner that we had some really good pizza from and the little Italian deli beside it is to-die-for! We bought fresh baked loaves of bread in morning and pastries and cookies and we also had some really good salami there as well. By about Thursday my husband and I were thinking the same thing....we want to go back. We loved our room....and loved that we could park the van right beside the door. It is a trip we will not long forget and staying at the Bay Palms was the icing on the cake! We highly recommend this little gem to anyone who is curious about it.

Room Tip: We had a front unit facing the street....and we couldn't even hear the traffic. We stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
On behalf of everyone at the Plaza Beach Resorts, I would like to “Thank You” for your wonderful review and GREAT pictures. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to see both the Manatees and Dolphins that frequent are resort.

I am happy you discovered our wonderful resorts and I want to personally welcome you to our extend family. Our Slogan is “Tradition Start Here” and I look forward to seeing you and your family on your next to Florida.

Also, Thank you for your specific mention of Ingrid and Catrina, I will be sure to share your comments with them.

Thank you again, See you soon

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
“Family Owned and Operated Since 1988”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We just spent a week here and had the best time! The hotel was well kept, quiet and a very accommodating to everything we needed. Everyone was so nice to us and welcomed our dog, the maids would come by a say good morning every day and there were lots of places for us to walk him, there were parks everywhere. It's in walking distance to everything in St. Pete beach and the restaurants are all great we went out to eat everyday. Our room was perfect for us, it had a nice size refrigerator and microwave, we had the end room with our own private deck and a great view. We would recommend this hotel to others and we will definitely be returning again. Thank you for everything bay palms staff

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay, theres so cool things to see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkDiamond2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing