We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just got back from spending a couple of days at the Bay Palms in St. Pete Beach, and I was very happy with the service, the room, and the location. I had gotten a very good price compared to other hotels and resorts in the area and was not disappointed at all.

Please be aware that depending on your arrival time, you may need to check in across the street at another of this company's properties, the Plaza Beach Hotel. You also have access to that resort and it's amenities, such as the free cocktail hour with wine and beer, coffee in the morning, beach cabanas, ocean side pool, life-size chess board, etc. If you make your reservation directly with the Bay Palms, I would ask when making the reservation where you should check in. If it's through a third party like Orbitz, etc., call ahead to check.

I was by myself on this trip and felt perfectly safe on the grounds and in the area. There are many restaurants, stores, and other resorts within easy walking distance. The beautiful white sand beach is right across the street, but the Bay Palms has a lovely dock on a canal with a small pool. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a very comfortable bed and kitchen with dishes/silverware, a microwave, and small full size refrigerator. The room and the whole property was very clean and attractive.

I almost gave this review a "very good" instead of "excellent" because it is not directly on the beach, but then I knew that when I booked it, so I think it's an excellent value for the money!

Room Tip: If you like a really quiet room, you might ask for one that is not in the front directly on Gulf Blv...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel stresses environmentally friendly practices by providing water saving fixtures, a re-usable shopping bag in the kitchen, and energy saving bulbs.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divegirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for a great, detailed Five Star review of your stay at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. All of our check ins are handled at the beachfront property. Many booking through the third party sites miss this information, but it is in the property description and should also be on your confirmation from them. I’m glad you took advantage of the “Stay at One, Play at All Three” motto between our resorts to be able to enjoy all of our amenities. Thanks for also noticing our Green Features. We try to implement as many eco-friendly policies as we can to do our part. I hope we’ll be seeing you again at one of our resorts; next time call us to book directly with our Low Price Guarantee.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    128
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
187
227
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort and chose them because we were coming by boat. The place was well maintained and the staff were friendly. We were able to keep the boat at the resort all weekend which was very convenient. The two of us stayed in #110 which was a great room with small patio on the inter-coastal. We enjoyed sitting on the patio after a day on the water. The room was nice and clean - the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was recently updated. They also have a pool and BBQ grills.

Green Features: They have a few signs about being environmentally friendly and it was obvious that they follow these practices. I was happy to see it.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great hotel! Close to everything, very clean and great accomadations for the price. There is FREE parking and the staff was friendly and helpful. My daughter is a student at Eckerd College and it is very close to the school.

Room Tip: if your looking just for a clean room and close to proximity to the beach, this is a great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I enjoyed the trip with my family for 3 days. The resort was clean and calm. It had a beautiful place for fishing and outdoor pool. The beach was close to the resort and it was free to park there. However, the office is away from the resort so that I had to drive to get there. The price was quite affordable and I had a pleasant memory in this resort. I want to visit there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithfulTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This resort is close to everything. It is across the street from the beach resorts, half a block from Walgreens, 2 blocks from Publics, lots of restaurants within walking distance.

To get to the beach walk south (to the right towards Walgreens) 1/2 block and cross Gulf Blvd. Look for the white concrete arch. Walk through the arch, it is a path straight to the beach.

You do have to check in at a sister resort, Plaza Beach Hotel which is 2 blocks south. There is no office at the Bay Palms. If you want beach/pool towels you have to go to the Plaza Beach Hotel.

The Bay Palms has a huge deck that looks out over the inter-coastal waters. There is also a small pool. There are thatched "tiki huts" that provide shade if you want to be outside but not be in the sun.

They do not provide coffee in the rooms. There is coffee in the lobby of the Plaza Beach Hotel in the mornings, but I did not want to walk 2 blocks for morning coffee. The rooms do have a coffee machine and filters, but you have to bring your own coffee. Traffic noise does exist, if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

A big positive is the resort is eco friendly. The rooms have mounted dispensers for dish soap, hand soap, shampoo and conditioner, thus saving plastic bottles from the land fill.

Since I was alone, they put me in a small hotel style efficiency room. The room would be tight with two people. The suites with separate bedrooms are much bigger. There were many suites available the entire time I stayed there but I was not offered an upgrade. Also, when I checked in there was no running water. The desk said they would send maintenance. I waited for over two hours (lost vacation time) and finally checked and it worked! It would have been better customer service if they would have called to inform me it was fixed and I could have spent time at the beach. Two examples of not understanding customer service.

Over all the place is great if you prefer the old style resorts. I do not mean that to be a negative. I do not like the high rise style places, but like places with charm and character. This place has that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecodevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad you appreciated our eco-friendly initiatives and close proximity to the beach and stores. I apologize that the water was not working when you checked in. I looked into it and found they had shut the water to a few rooms off for about five minutes while making a quick repair. After your phone call, the front desk immediately called maintenance and they advised the water was already back on. The front desk called your room right away, but got no answer. We actually did not have any of the larger one bedroom suites available during your stay. Next time, we encourage you to book directly so that we can let you know exactly what is available. Your room was booked through a third party for a secret room type, which is our standard room. Since you prefer smaller resorts like ours, I hope you come back and visit again.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Ferry, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was so pleased with Bay Palms Waterfront. From the street it looked like your typical beach hotel but when you went to the back it was a whole different world with the dock, pool, deck and a great tropical decor, The place is beautiful and peaceful and very close to great restaurants and beaches. The staff at check in were very pleasant and accommodating...so very polite. Our housekeeper Inga was exceptional. Always smiling and always asking if there was anything we needed. Please take good care of her. What I loved especially about Bay Palms they didn't have carpet nor bedspreads. Unlike other hotels when your linens were changed you didn't have to worry about cleanliness. The floors were tiled so you were sure they were very clean because they were mopped and the room always smelled fresh. This is the first time there and I look forward to future stays at Bay Palms.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be top notch,
See more room tips
Green Features: Exceptional. Bay Palms' staff is very aware of the environment. The cleanliness of the room was above any other hotel I've stayed at.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRink51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Bay Palms Resort. The facility and staff were very accommodating and friendly. The room was clean, nicely decorated,and the boat docking was everything that i expected. I will be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing