We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Not Stay In These Conditions” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Could Not Stay In These Conditions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2006

We recently had made reservations for a week's stay at the Bay palm Resort in St. Pete Beach Fl. When we arrived and saw our room we informed them we were leaving the next day. I believe AAA should re-evaluate the rating on this motel. It is not a two diamond motel.
Our room (an efficiency apartment) had both arms of one of the easy chairs very badly chewed. Two of the kitchen chairs had broken rungs. Both easy chairs were very dirty. The bedcovers were in terrible shape and also very dirty. The bottom of the door was in shatters. The kitchen dished and utensils did not match.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwsmithmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for visiting the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort on St Pete Beach. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay, but a lot have changed since you were last here. This property has been taken over by the Czyszczon Family in April 2010.

Since April.2010, we have completely gutted the entire property and have renovated everything including pool area, decks, piers, walkway, completely new rooms with LCD’s, granite kitchens and bathrooms, and much more. The property is really a gem and I encourage everyone to please visit our new website and view are new photos.

Please disregard all the negative comments and bad photos before April.2010. And we look forward to seeing you at our new property.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager/Owner
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach

Plaza Beach Resorts - A collection of Boutique Resorts
Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort
***Stay at ONE Resort, Play at all THREE Resorts***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    128
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
186
226
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2006

Young couple in mid-20's stayed at the Bay Palm Resort (formerly Ritz Motel) for a few nights in Feb 2006. Hardly a "resort", but I guess the term "motel" is outdated. It is a budget friendly place, with rooms < $100 per night.

Nothing fancy here, just a place to stay with a minimal kitchen. Deck on the intercoastal is nice, and across the street most resorts/motels have walkways inbetween for common beach access.

Be warned: This strip of St Pete Beach is very much senior & earlybird-dinner friendly, and not the place to be if you're looking for action, touristy shops or restos. Parking on site is minimal.

Would I return? Yes, but I would first query for beach-front rooms in the area. If you are in the ages of 20-34, would suggest slightly further north in the "Indian Rocks" strip closer to Clearwater. The "Treasure Island" strip is not far too, rooms are much cheaper, but is also a sleepy-ish area, but closer to the mall and shops on Tyrone blvd.

Good luck with your stay!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for visiting the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort on St Pete Beach. I apologize that you did not fully enjoy your stay, but a lot have changed since you were last here. This property has been taken over by the Czyszczon Family in April 2010.

Since April.2010, we have completely gutted the entire property and have renovated everything including pool area, decks, piers, walkway, completely new rooms with LCD’s, granite kitchens and bathrooms, and much more. The property is really a gem and I encourage everyone to please visit our new website and view are new photos.

Please disregard all the negative comments and bad photos before April.2010. And we look forward to seeing you at our new property.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager/Owner
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach

Plaza Beach Resorts - A collection of Boutique Resorts
Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort
***Stay at ONE Resort, Play at all THREE Resorts***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2005

First lets state there are new owners and management. They were working very hard to really improve this motel. We were traveling with a pet, so we decided to come here. I have been coming to St. Pete Beach since 1958 and have stayed at most of the motels in this area. When you travel with a pet you never know what to expect in a motel but this was better than we expected. The room was large cold cold air conditioner wonderful and friendly staff everything was great. The owners are continueing to up grade to make it even more pet friendly. Woderful dock to fish off of nice swimming pool (even my 13 and 15 year old kids loved it) I will be back and with the new owners I would expect to see alot more improvement to make this even a better place to stay. I had no problems or complains the entire time I stayed there would recommend it to anyone for a nice quiet place to relax and enjoy. The last night we were there the owners bought pizza for all the quest and had it down on the dock NOW CAN YOU GET THAT AT THE DON CESAR OR TRADEWINDS (I THINK NOT)

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2005

" As Advertised "

Things could not have possibly have been any closer to " as advertised " at the properties web site! The rooms were well kept and spotlessly clean,We did indeed see dolphins almost on a daily basis and had reports from other guests of many manatee sitings in our abscence shopping and dining around St. Petes Beach.

My husband was pleased with his success fishing especially with his 8 lb yellow fin Jack, the two red snappers, the cat fish and his first catch a Ramora. He also was pleased that he was able to catch ample supplies of bait fish like pinfish with nothing more than bacon or hotdogs for bait! this again was accomplished as with the dolphin and manatee sightings right off the dock " as advertised ".

Our fellow guests were to a person repeat clients and all spoke very highly of their experiences whilst guests at Bay Palm Resorts we can now be added to the Bay Palm's following of repeat satisfied clients! As we will be returning for another holiday in April 2006!

Based on the reasonable prices offered we found this propertyt to be an excellent value with or with out a pet (we did not have a pet). It wasn't Don Ceasar's or the Tradewinds but neither were the prices.

We spent two comfortable weeks there and the hosts certainly advised us of the noise factor from Gulf Blvd. and in fact recommended a standard 1 bedroom suite at lower cost to a deluxe 1 bedroom suite(our original choice as both were available) because it was on the inland waterway side of the property were the noise would be of much lower volume!


Bob & Suzanne Chute
Toronto Canada

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2005

I recently spent a few days at the Bay Palm Resort on St. Pete Beach in Florida. The website advertising was interesting and the AAA two diamond rating plus the comment "the Bay Palm Resort is enjoyed by people dissatisfied with mediocrity" caught my attention. I ignored the obvious warning "pets are welcome". The Bay Palm Resort is a small "Mom and Pop" establishment run by two congenial, friendly hosts. Unfortunately the Bay Palm Resort is in need of improved management. If the Bay Palm Resort ever was rated two diamonds by AAA, it should definitely be re-evaluated. The unit where I stayed was in great need of further updating and cleaning. Screens and locks on windows and sliding doors were non-existent, at times the room smelled of pet odor, cooking utensils and cutlery should have been been properly cleaned or replaced long ago, the carpet was so filthy that dark footprints were left on other flooring surfaces, the windows appeared not to have been cleaned in months, the ceiling was stained from previous leakage, cabinets and doors were in need of repair and the appliances were old and in need of a thorough cleaning or replacement. I strongly suggest that most people, unless they are vacationers that just cannot leave their pets at home, stay away from an establishment that states that "pets are welcome" since management cannot control some irresponsible pet owners who unfortunatley let their animals urinate on pool decks or deficate on walkways. On the plus side the intercoastal waterway view was excellent and entertaining since dophins often arrived on a daily basis but the traffic noise from Gulf Blvd was unbearable for most of the day and night. To be honest, after a few days stay at the Bay Palm Resort, I would have been satisfied with just plain "mediocrity". I would not recommend the Bay Palm Resort as a vacation destination for most people unless one needs a place to stay with a pet and would also suggest that everyone be wary of what might appear to be questionable website advertising.

Helpful?
16 Thank rgwsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for visiting the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort on St Pete Beach. This property has been taken over by the Czyszczon Family in April 2010.

Since April.2010, we have completely gutted the entire property and have renovated everything including pool area, decks, piers, walkway, completely new rooms with LCD’s, granite kitchens and bathrooms, and much more. The property is really a gem and I encourage everyone to please visit our new website and view are new photos.

Please disregard all the negative comments and bad photos before April.2010. And we look forward to seeing you at our new property.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach

Plaza Beach Resorts - A collection of Boutique Resorts
Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort
***Stay at ONE Resort, Play at all THREE Resorts***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Property: Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing