We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Long Key Beach Resort & Motel
Nearby Hotels
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$236
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
US$349
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
US$407
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$254
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
69
29
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
29
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun deckcharcoal grillsmall resortsmall kitchenolder placereasonable ratesalready booked for next yearyear after yearpool areaover christmascan't beat the locationliving roomgreat place for familieshome away from homeother guestsbed was comfortablebeach resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for almost a week and had the best time! The resort has everything! We went with another couple and we each stayed in a one bedroom suite apartment. They were so spacious and very nice. The pool and beach area was beautiful. The location also was perfect with most anythin within walking distance or a short trolley ride. We will definitely be back. Roman was a wonderful host and it was so nice to have coffee available in the morning. I am already planning our trip next year. I would recommend this to everyone. The maid service was done early in the day which was very nice for us! It was very quiet too even at the pool area w/ people around!

Room Tip: We had rooms 110 and 109 and they were very nice and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sungirl015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you prefer “mom & pop” style lodging, this is a hidden gem! We have recently come to love this place so much, that I am hesitant to write this review….with only 20 rooms, I may start having an extra tough time booking when I want! 
But in all fairness, I have to write this review. The place is clean, and manicured daily. In just 2 stays, (One in March and another this month) we have come to genuinely appreciate the family who owns this resort.
The rooms aren’t modern, but they are super clean. The guests who stay here tend to book the same week year after year. We have met many families who have been coming here for decades! That, in itself, speaks volumes.
You won’t have to take an elevator or walk through miles of lobby space to get to the beach. Just steps away from each room is a clean, quiet, beautiful pool area, complete with “noodles”, charcoal grill, propane grill, ring toss game, shuffleboard and the white, sugary sand beaches of St. Pete Beach.
The prices aren’t ridiculous. Instead, they are completely reasonable and make it possible for everyone to be able to enjoy a beachfront stay from time to time.
Thank you to Roman, Lotti, and the whole family for making this beautiful location relaxing and enjoyable for everyone! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! 107 is my favorite, although many familes aim for 115, 114.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InsideSc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We look forward to our stay here at Long Key Beach Resort every October. We come down with our children (now 6, 3 and 2). The staff are friendly, accommodating and hard workers. The guests who come during the time we come are always nice and friendly, retirees. We love the fact that it is not a "party" hotel, no loud music or drunk people at the pool or out by the bar (there is not one) like most hotels around the area. We feel comfortable and safe here, it's a very home-like atmosphere. The only downside would be that the rooms are quite dated, the furniture a little worn, but nonetheless, we love it here! We usually try to stay in the suites so that we don't always have to go out to eat. The utensils and kitchenware provided are plenty enough for us. The beach is only a couple steps away from our doorstep and the sunsets are amazing! Great fishing in the area as well!!

Room Tip: Apartment suite like rooms are great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StayatHomeMomof3Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at Long Key in October/November 2012. We were over in America, because of a family members wedding who lives in Tampa. When we got there late evening, we looked around the motel, and checked our motel room. Well, we got in and I was amazed! Me and my eight year old sister, ran in and made our self familiar with the place. My mum&Dad had the double bed, and me and my sister had the sofa(which was very comfy) The nearest bar, is next door and the shops are a 5-15 minute walk. Would love to go back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We (myself, my husband and our two daughters aged 20 & 17) stayed at The Long Key beach Resort in room 107 from 20th - 29th August 2013.
We love this resort and have returned every two to three years as we love St. Pete's Beach and even though we have travelled extensively over Florida, we have not yet found a beach or area to rival it.
As other previous reviewers have said, the rooms are a little bit dated and maybe tired or in need of renovating, but you cannot beat the location and the views.
You have an uninterrupted view from your pool sun-bed to the beach and sea, there is nothing to block your view at all and the pool and beach is almost always pretty much empty if you go in August (as this is the quiet period) - although the size of the beach I doubt very much that it could ever get busy. Even on weekends when you get lots of locals coming down to the beach in their cars or boats, dropping anchor in the sea just outside your resort to visit the local Tiki bar two doors down, which for several years of coming, we never knew was there as we never heard any noise coming from there.
The sea this year was unbelievably clear, we could see everything, shoals of Manta or Cow Rays swimming past us, hundreds of fish, baby hammerhead sharks, dolphins just off the sand-banks every evening and even a manatee one day swam past a little way out, leaving a wake in it's path!
We even saw lone spotted Rays and small almost invisible Sting Rays (which are the ones to look out for as you can't always see them and may step on them resulting in a painful sting) Always do the Stingray Shuffle!
A great beach for walking as well, my husband and I would walk every morning from the motel to the end of Pass-a-grille beach, past the Don Cesar and back and sometimes the other way down to the very end of the beach past all the larger hotels and busier public areas. But the areas just outside our motel and towards Pass-a-grille was the best as it was quieter, cleaner and the sand was softer.
Anyway back to the room - we stayed in a Gulf Front one bedroom - Room 107 ($90 per night) and the views were wonderful from this room, both from the living area and bedroom - straight out to the pool and beach/sea - no obstructions. We usually stay in Room 114 - again another Gulf View room but an efficiency, in which there are two double beds in the living area and a separate large kitchen etc, but as our daughters are older now, we wanted a separate bedroom.
The living area had ample room and a large sofa bed for our daughters to sleep on, which was very comfortable I am told and two equally comfortable armchairs with side tables. The TV's are old school CRT monitors as opposed to flat screen and the furniture has seen better days, but everything was in full working order and was comfortable so we had no complaints. There is a small dining table under the window and a small but perfectly formed kitchenette off the living room, which could be closed off via doors if you wanted. The kitchen appliances were quite old and not so great, but they worked with a little adjustment here and there (cooker top). Toaster worked but was a bit of a danger for children as the outside of it got very hot and could burn little fingers if touched and the kettle supplied did not turn itself off automatically, so you had to be careful of it boiling itself out. You also had to do a bit of juggling with the appliances as there is only two power points available in the same place, so you had to unplug some things to use others. Everything was supplied that you needed for cooking, just a little lack of top space for preparing food, but hey who wants to cook at the beach and there are two large BBQ's outside by the pool deck.
The bedroom and bed was very comfortable, plenty of drawer space and a large walk in closet off the bedroom - which also housed the air conditioning unit.
The bathroom was a good size and although again dated and in need of some renovation, everything worked (apart from the sink not holding the water - minor issue) and the shower was wonderful, good water pressure and lovely hot water - no going hot and cold on you - it maintained it's temperature.
Grounds and rooms are kept clean enough and tidy, towels are lovely and soft, would suggest bringing your own toiletries and these are not provided, only soap.
We did not see any bugs whatsoever during our stay - in the rooms or out in the grounds - which is pretty much a first for a Florida motel, as they come as standard in most cases, due to the hot weather. Another indication of how clean Roman keeps the place and keeps it maintained well in the grounds and pool areas.
There is a resident Egret - who they've named Charlie - who is always there every year that we return and now there is a smaller younger Egret who has joined him. They are both characters who appear miraculously at every lunch and dinner time looking for scraps of meat or fish and are quite tame.
This time when we stayed, there was a protective area set-up on the beach (as opposed to the usual turtle nests which are always sectioned off) for birds who were nesting and these birds would swoop at you if you got too close to them, their nests or their chicks, which they would often take down to the waters edge to teach them how to feed etc, Consequently during our 9 night stay, the protected area got increasingly larger as the birds moved around the beach and you would sometimes have to make a very detailed detour down the beach to avoid the swooping birds, but interesting never-the-less.
Lots of great places to eat - we enjoyed Hurricanes at Pass-a-grille and also the live entertainment on the roof, the Italian across the road was good too, but other than that we always venture further afield in to St Petersburg to The Olive Garden - Italian, The Acropolis - Greek and of course our favourite TGI Friday's, all just 20 mins drive from the motel.
For a little night time entertainment, apart from the rooftop at Hurricane's there is Bongos Beach Bar at the Grand Plaza which has live entertainment nightly - which we very much enjoyed and their cocktails are made from scratch, none of that pre-mixed frozen rubbish.
We had a wonderful stay yet again and Roman, Lottie (his lovely wife - who by the way never looks any older no matter how many years we come) and the lady who cleans are all lovely and very helpful, it is always a pleasure to stay at The Long Key Beach Resort and we will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Gulf Front rooms are worth the extra bit of money.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ginnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews