We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kimpton Hotel Zamora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kimpton Hotel Zamora
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well the pros are it is new and clean, the restaurant is attractive and the food was good. The staff that we encountered throughout were very nice. The hotel has a very attractive modern feel. The pool area is nice, including the boat docks. Now, for the cons, behind a very beautiful wooden door in the hallway you will find the door to two suites, the connecting door between the suites seem to act as a noise AMPLIFIER, we tried desperately not to listen to the colorful, very loud language of our neighbors, EVERY activity, including the water in the shower, gargling, the blow dryer, etc. There are no outlets in the bathroom for the blow dryer, therefore, you are forced to use it in front of the only other mirror in the room, next to the AMPLIFYING door. All of the noise comes from the door, not the walls. Internet service is spotty.As a hotel guest you pay a valet fee, in addition to your resort fee, as a restaurant guest, you do not have to pay a valet fee. The valet had difficulty finding our car and brought the wrong one. If you would like a refrigerator in your room, you need to request it, in our case it wouldn't have been available until, 9:00 pm when another guest checked out, that is if it was clean and ready to be used. The quiet weekend we had so anticipated was anything but. They definitely have kinks to work out and I hope they get it right.

Room Tip: If there is a room without a connecting room, try that one, avoid the AMPLIFYING connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank straina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Straina, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. I apologize your stay was not the get away you had anticipated. As we are newly opened it is helpful to hear about our areas of improvement. Not having an electrical outlet in the bathroom of the room you stayed in is one of those items that somehow slipped past while we were turning the room from the construction side. We will have the outlet installed this week. We are also looking at options for sound proofing the connecting room doors. On a positive note, I am pleased to hear that you found our restaurant and staff to be helpful. I hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we are better than this stay dictated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    121
    69
    36
    11
See reviews for
94
253
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Classiest place in the Bay Area that will go toe to toe with the Ritz's the Don Cesar's and the Vinoys of the Bay Area.

Wonderful place to take the family or the significant other showing them class just steps from the beach. Fantastic restaurant, beautiful rooms, quality staff and hotel to enjoy a relaxing experience in St Pete beach without the trip to Spain!
Rates are way below the 5 star rating this hotel should have!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Shaipatel, You really said it all...thank you so much for the amazing 5 Star Review and for taking the time to tell everyone else what we already know...we have a real gem here :-) We look forward to being your hotel of choice for future visits to St. Pete Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed one night at the Hotel Zamora and it was one of the best experiences Ive had at a Hotel in a while. The look of the hotel inside and out is beautiful. The staff is so helpful and nice. The pool area is so relaxing, feels very private with an inside/ outside pool area to enjoy. Very close to beach, within walking distance. I can't wait to go back and enjoy the roof top bar when it is done!!

Room Tip: Higher floors to enjoy the beach view is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaTigre727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi LaTigre727, Thank you for your amazing comments. It was great to hear that we made such a positive impact on your stay and are are glad you appreciated the beauty of our hotel design. We hope to have the rooftop open by the July 4th weekend and look forward to having you come back to check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The rooms are beautiful, all of which have amazing views of the ocean. Just a simple walk to the beach and only a mile away from Post Card Inn if you're down to have a good time! The staff is very welcoming and catering to its guests. The food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious and on the Saturday night that I stayed the hotel bar area even had a live performer. Great ambiance!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Lauren O, Thank you for taking the time to tell us, and the world, that you are a fan of our newly opened hotel and restaurant. The entire staff truly try our best to provide the kind of service that we would all like to receive. I am glad we made such a positive impression. We hope to have you back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Live local and just had to try out the lunch menu. Mussels with the Sambucca and Fennel was delicious and I had the juiciest burger in recent memory. Burger had serrano ham & onion jam. Menus for breakfast ,brunch and dinner look fabulous as well. My next trip will be cocktails sampling the bar menu.

Room Tip: Valet Parking Only, but it's free if you are a patron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4pawsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 4pawsFlorida, We are very glad you enjoyed our lunch menu and the restaurant atmosphere. Can't wait to have you back in to sample the rest of our culinary delights! Thanks for taking the time to post your comments and for the 5 Star Review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a breath of fresh air. Finally a high quality hotel to stay at in St. Pete. Travel there for business frequently and having a brand new hotel to stay at is nice. Room sizes are very generous and everything is brand new. I know where I will be staying going forward. Also has a nice restaurant / bar with a great vibe and very solid food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear BritElise,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate you taking the time to educate our fellow TripAdvisor readers about the property. As we are brand new it really helps to get the word out. We hope you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed on a Saturday night. Room was clean and new. Staff was friendly. Dined in the Castile restaurant on some amazing tapas as well. This hotel has a very pretty view of the inter-coastal and all of the decor is amazing. Very Meditteranean touch to it. Nice touches like flavored water and mineral water were nice. Shower is cavernous with two shower heads. Will be even nicer when the rooftop hotel lounge area opens up to watch the sun go down. Chad, the rooms manager, treated us well during out stay. Free continental breakfast was good, the chef make home made blueberry pop tarts! Want to go back and try the Ommeletes for brunch.

Room Tip: Get a view on the top floor over the Intercoastal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMGR, General Manager at The Kimpton Hotel Zamora, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Matt M,

Thank you for your 5-star review on TripAdvisor! I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding our brand new property. I am very happy you enjoyed some of our special amenities during your stay and appreciated the fantastic views and décor. I look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
1.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.9 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimpton Hotel Zamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimpton Hotel Zamora

Property: The Kimpton Hotel Zamora
Address: 3701 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3915 (Formerly The Hotel Zamora)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimpton Hotel Zamora 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first new hotel to be built in St. Pete Beach in decades, The Kimpton Hotel Zamora is a white-washed Mediterranean palace that though breathtakingly modern feels anchored in a bygone era. Inspired by the architecture of its namesake Spanish province, the hotel's striking Romanesque facade is the framework for expansive luxury suites with "balconies overlooking the Intracoastal Waterway and Gulf of Mexico," stylish dining and the laid-back leisure of Florida's fashionable Tampa Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HotelsClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Kimpton Hotel Zamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kimpton Hotel Zamora St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing