We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - great value and wonderful service”
Review of Gulf Tides Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Tides Inn
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place - great value and wonderful service”
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed in Sept 09 and loved it. Let's get this straight - it's not the Ritz but it's not trying to be. If you have 5 star desires - stop in the Don Cesar down the road - the reviews seem positive. However, if you are on a budget and you want a clean, well positioned and pleasant stay - look no further. There are numerous bars well within walking distance - great for the Brits who have had a week in Orlando and now want to have a drink in a lively atmosphere and not worry about driving. Philthy Phils and the Sloppy Pelican are both about 5 mins walk down the sidestreets. But best of all for a lively local drink is the Reef - made fun by the barman Rick - a major character. Go there for the Rum Runners and Friday night $3 Margaritas. They will do the trick.
The owner Dave has great tips on where to eat - Cafe Luna is great as is Sea Hags and we had a superb Prime Rib at Silas's.
If you are in season try and watch a Rays game - tickets are far less than Premier League games and it is a great night.
But most of all go to Anna Maria island - it is gorgeous - the beaches are fab - better than Fort de Soto. We went and saw plenty of wildlife - pelicans dolphins and even a small shark. It was stunning. While you are there treat yourself to the best burger on the island at Duffy's Tavern.
The rooms are no frills furnishings but the beds are very comfortable. The appartments are great - and the air con is brand new and almost silent. Dave is spending money upgrading the rooms and it was well appreciated.
So I give this simple motel a 5 star review- you should go - it is simply great value for money and run by the extremely friendly and helpful Dave. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackpool_boy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
170
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I have to say that we weren't sure when we went to Gulf Tides Inn, but it didn't take time before we realized we made a very good choice. The owner Dave is an excellent host, always there to help, give tips, suggest places to go and restaurants, etc... The place is clean and well kept. Great job !

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank poutine1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Unlike the last reviewer we actually stayed at Gulf Tides Inn. The Saint Pete Beach area is very different from the Clearwater area. Sounds like someone needs to do their homework.
This is an older place but that is part of the charm. It is not owned by a large corporation. It is not a "resort" either. It is more a "Mom and Pop" operation where if you need something this guy bends over backwards to try to please you and makes things as "homey" and relaxing as possible.
I stayed here a week with my kids and they had an awesome ending to their summer vacation from school.
The beach is a 5 minute walk from Gulf Tides. It is also located near the business area and many things are within walking distance. My teens (16) liked the freedom of being able to walk to the ice cream stand or bait and tackle shop.
We all loved the pool. It was large and super clean. We were in it every night it didn't rain and had it mostly to ourselves. There was tons of outdoor seating and several tables to choose from. On a typical night when we didn't eat out I would use the gas grill and BBQ our dinner. I was able to watch my kids in the pool, have my chicken and ears of corn cooking on the grill, while standing in the kitchen preparing my salad all at the same time. Now that is living! LOL. We always ate outside at one of the tables...it was wonderful and the kids didn't have to track in dripping wet.
Here's some extras that I liked- there's a large bookshelf in the office if you like to read or aren't chasing small kids around, wink, like I mentioned there is a grill, chairs to bring to the beach, outside shower, a clothesline (around back), a full kitchen, hair dryer and coffee maker, washer and dryer and wireless for your laptop.
Here's what I didn't like- the bathroom sink had smelly water that came out of the faucet. I noticed at a local restaurant you could taste this weird water in their fountain sodas. I think it's typical for a beachy area in florida. There is no maid service. You can however get fresh towels and there is a broom and dustpan in the closet.
Make sure you take a ride to Pass-A-Grill one evening and sit by the water and watch the dolphins and the ships go by. You can also fish just about anywhere.
You can also take a ride to Tarpon Springs which is where they dock the boats that go "sponging" and almost everyone there is Greek. It is a tourist trap for the most part but the food is fantastic! I highly recommend "Hella's" for some of the best Greek food and pastries you'll ever eat in Florida.
OK this might sound Hokey or silly but if you like flea markets and you're there on a weekend do not and I repeat do not miss the Wagon Wheel in Pinella's park!!! Especially with teens. It is so big they offer a complimentary shuttle back and forth between buildings, LOL. It has everything from Ed Hardey knock-offs to butterflies from africa to vintage home decor. Don't forget to also visit Fort Desoto beach which is maybe 15 min. by car.
If you need groceries you have a Sweet Bay and Publix nearby. There is also a bowling alley and skating rink within driving distance for the rainy season.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YankeeCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My partner & I stayed here for 11 nights during September. We had a really great stay, very relaxing, and always felt safe during our time there as it was a pretty quiet area.
We loved the pool and spent most our time in it. The apartment was great it had everything we needed for our stay. The air conditioning is brilliant, all new air conditioning units. We frequently seen a maintenance guy there so you can tell the owners like to keep things in good working order which is great. Free wi-fi is a great bonus as we used it daily and it has excellent signal.
The owners are great to chat to and have plenty of information on the area which is very useful if its your first time to the area.
Becka

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BkaC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I’d like to echo the praises of others regarding the Gulf Tides Inn. Clean, affordable, great pool and staff. The newly installed ductless air conditioners are a welcome sign the owners care about improving their establishment. The Inn has a collection of beach chairs and umbrellas that you could borrow for the day, quite a convenience for those who arrive via air. As mentioned by previous reviewers, Dave (unfortunately we never met Adele) was an invaluable source of knowledge regarding the surrounding area (as well as being a heck of a nice guy). Took Dave’s recommendations and had high marks for all:
Restaurants – Café Luna (not your standard beach fare), Dave’s Dockside (Grouper sandwich) and Ceviche (tapas) if you make it to downtown St. Petersburg.
Area Beaches - Fort DeSoto Park has a nice beach and is only a 10 minute ride. If you have the time, a visit to Anna Maria Island (about 45 minutes away) has a great beach and a beachfront restaurant (Sandbar).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We spent a delightful week at the Gulf Tides Inn, not knowing what to expect as previously we had only stayed in hotel chains. It was a fantastic place well located to the beach and close to bars and retsaurants. Dave the owner was excellent, with great local knowledge of places to visit and see. Would strongly recommend a trip to Anna Marie Island, with a fantastic beach and Tarpon Springs - which is a bit of Greece in Florida. It is the sponge capital of the world, according to the sign and has a great array of Greek Restaurants. A must see. A good size pool, and BBQ on site which was fantastic. Usually we eat out nightly, but whilst here we BBQ'd at least 4 nights with some great steaks & seafood - again from a good recommendation from Dave.

Dave is a top guy - and from England - and nothing is too much trouble.

Only one minor criticism - Dave get some bigger bath towels!

We are going back next year - Russ & Sandra

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I stayed there for a couple of nights in July. We were on business but wanted to combine it with some sun and beach! We totally loved it. We always book hotels based tripadvisor reviews and this place certainly did not disappoint. It was very clean and the location is great. You can walk to the beach in a couple of minutes and the main street of St Pete’s is just around the corner. You only have to drive down the main road for 3 minutes to get to the supermarket. The bed was really comfy and huge. There is also free wifi! The owners, David and Adele, are really friendly and take the time to chat to everyone. They are what makes this place special. We’ll definitively be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
334 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides Inn

Property: Gulf Tides Inn
Address: 600 68th Ave, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2005
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gulf Tides Inn. We are a family owned and operated inn located on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. We offer beautiful apartment suites and efficiencies for your comfort during your stay in Florida. Come and enjoy our wonderful amenities, our large heated pool, free wireless internet, BBQ grill, laundry facilities, free in room safes, hairdryers, complimentary toiletries welcome set and many, many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Tides Motel
Gulf Tides Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing