We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, a little outdated”
Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place, a little outdated”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My son, (9 years old) myself and my mother visited the Bon Aire for 2 nights April 3 & 4.
We tried to check in at 1:00pm but they said the computers were down and to come back in an hour or so. No big deal, we put our suits on and enjoyed the beach and had lunch. Now being spring break, the place was very busy. Sandbar bills was very busy but got lucky and we got one of the 3 tables and went to the bar to order lunch. I saw a review about a rude bartender and I know who the woman was referring to....I don't think she was rude, just very busy. I was able to order drinks and lunch from the gentleman bartender and he too was busy but friendly and efficient. (another bartender Jackie works later in the afternoon and she rocks)
We had a deluxe apartment and it had a view of the ocean. It wasn't deluxe but it was fine. It had a bedroom, small kitchen area and bedroom.
The beach was great, the weather fantastic and we met some nice people staying there.
I do not think I would stay there again but the location on the beach is great.
If you do book the Bon Aire, enjoy, I am sure you will have a good time.
Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    115
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
155
137
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Visited SANDBAR BILLS ON THE BEACH BAR famous burger joint and enjoyed an amazing cheeseburger and a just as good strawberry banana daquiri however could not believe the rudeness of the older female bartender, she worked the lunch hour of 4/3 and 4/4. She was SO rude and offensive, I am not sure how she continues to be employed there, this is not how you treat customers. Would really have to consider if the food and drink is worth going back for due to her extremely poor behavior and attitude.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Bon Aire is a nice little motel setting right on the Beach with very clean rooms and a friendly staff. It has a old Florida atmosphere that feels like the 1950's. The only thing that was a little odd was the parking. The way it's designed and the limited number of slots,  I was kinda worried that I might not have a place to park but I never had a problem. But definitely will be back!  

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was by far a wonderful holiday for us......the folks at this Resort are very attentive, friendly and polite. The grounds are meticulous. The rooms are really clean and roomy. The Resort is central to most of what we wanted to see and do. We will most certainly book here again, it was well worth every penny spent. The burgers at Bills Bar and Grill on the beach of this Resort are the best we have ever had. Thank you to management and staff of the Bon Aire for the great time we had.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank domarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our third time "trying" Bon-Aire. Just remember if you are not a local, DONT try to get a drink at the bar! SANDBAR BILLS.. nice name since again if you are not a local you better WATCH your bills because they have one price for locals and one price for everyone else. make sure to take your own shampoo-soap, the front desk person just shook his head and laughed when I asked if they had shampoo in the rooms? They front desk people could really care less if you stay there "if you do you do", if not there are alot of places up and down the street"! is what I heard one guy say to a person. If i would not have had to put down so much DEPOSIT... I would have moved down the street to where for $13.00 more a night you have a microwave-refrig. stove and a 1 bedroom and the people are nice! what a concept... I have been in the customer service business for over 30 years and If any of the staff I have worked with treated people like we were treated on this visit they would not be working for me. Nikko the bartender will be more then happy to tell you how hungover he is...nice Nikko.. great staff member you are!, I will close with it starts from the top! From what I understood the Father who started this place was top notch and cared about people. CUSTOMER SERVICE to bad his daughters did not pick up on his traits. Go spend your money elsewhere you will be MUCH happier!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank flagman5229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Fawn, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My boyfriend and I were just passing through on our way back home from a cruise. He had lived in Tampa and wanted to swing by Treasure Island for some seafood and watch the gulf sunset. As we drove away from the dock restaurant we realized we were too tired and full to continue and the sun was setting. He thought he recognized the hotel from his childhood in the 70's when they used to vacation down here. We pulled in and it was wonderful. The beach was ll but deserted. the sand was the softest I've ever felt under my feet and the hotel staff (owner) was great. We only stayed one night, but we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soarjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Spent 10 days at the Bon Aire and love it again. Love the Bar, the people and the property. It is time for some new mattresses other than that I love it and highly recommend it<

Room Tip: We like the one bedroom apts best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Property: Bon Aire Resort
Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing