We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Stay”
Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Empire, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“4th of July Stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The holiday weekend was very busy everywhere at St. Pete's Beach. Bon Aire was packed with people. Lots of repeat guests, tons of families with young children. Lots of people smoking cigarettes which is allowed outside. It was a holiday and people were there to have fun and shoot off fireworks. (Not complaining, just stating facts).
Because of the heat we ran our a/c the whole time we were there, so even with fireworks we were not bothered much by noise.
The motel is older but immaculately maintained. Our room, and public areas were all freshly painted, swept and very clean and tidy. There is not an elevator in case stairs are a problem for hauling suitcases etc.
My husband had the ribs at the on site bar/restaurant and said they were delicious!
The beach is huge. We would go back. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    118
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
157
140
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Was looking forward to my stay here. Wow! My housekeeper was an older lady named patty, she was obviously on drugs or something, would not even attempt to clean my room if I didn't tip her. Incredible. She practically asked me to tip her if I wanted good service. Where does that happen?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Crussell547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGBon-Aire, Manager at Bon Aire Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Customer,

I am sorry to hear of your experience at our Hotel. Housekeeping is a service of your stay and gratuities are not expected or required. As I am having to address this situation in a public forum and not in person all I can do is apologize and assure you that this behavior is not acceptable for any employee of the Bon-Aire. Housekeeping is one of the most important operations of the Hotel Business and we strive everyday to make your stay the best possible.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and again I apologize for the incident.

Catherine Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It was great to stay here on the 4th of July weekend. Everyone is friendly and it's nice to see how many guests are coming back. The shuffleboard tournament is great fun. The Sandbar is the best bar! The ribs on 4th of July were awesome! The staff did a great job with the ground-keeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our family has been staying at the Bon Aire Resort Motel for over 20 years and continue to enjoy the property each visit. It's in a great location right on the beach and very convenient to restaurants and shopping. Yes, the rooms are old and it's doesn't have the "resort" style some travelers prefer but we like the "Old Florida" feel. They are in the process or remodeling but I hope it doesn't loose it old charm. The rooms are clean, the grounds well maintained and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: We like the beach front rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatbobOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

First time staying at the Bon Aire and will be a go to place when booking next vacay to St Pete! The staff were helpful, house keeping was great, rooms were clean, hotel is right on the beach! Both pool areas had plenty of chairs to lounge and right before you get on the beach there are shaded areas and showers which I loved! It was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our first time to the Gulf. We weren't sure where to stay. I looked at a lot of different places online, reviews and such. We settled on the Bon Aire Resort. We are so glad we did. This resort was wonderful. We loved our room. We got an efficiency. It was very clean. The staff was friendly. And a bonus is you have the Tiki Bar Sandbar Bill's right there on the beach. Beach wasn't crowded. We had a very pleasant stay. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calicobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Bon Aire Resort for a wedding on the beach. The staff was very friendly and made sure everything went smooth. It was very clean and the view of the gulf was fabulous!! Sandbar Bill's Bar and Grille on the property was OUTSTANDING. Great food and great staff!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
1.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Property: Bon Aire Resort
Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing