We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went to the Bon-Aire for the second time. The spot is great, directly on the white sandy beach!

We were 4 in a deluxe waterfront beach apartment. A thing to be improved: the size of beds! They should be changed for queen beds, it would be much more confortable and we would sleep better.

When you pay 200$ per night, you want to sleep well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    112
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
151
134
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were looking for somewhere inexpensive to stay after 4 nights at Disney World and we hit the jackpot by staying 5 nights with the Bon Aire (July16-21). There were some minor mix ups from the reservation stand point but all was remedied when we arrived. (Initially, we were told that we'd have to change rooms midway through our stay and they misspelled my last name.)
We loved the room and the proximity to the beach. The room was simple and similar to any other motel room. The room was on the ground floor and had a front door and a back door that opened to a walkway with a view of different pools on each side. The bathroom was updated and very nice. The bathroom was pretty standard size with a walk-in shower of full length. There was a leak in the ceiling and it looked like it had just been repaired. There was no getting around the two double beds even with us going as a couple. The dresser area is tight as the double bed was right up against it. There is a small kitchen area with a coffee maker, dorm fridge, and counter top. The room had a large closet with many hangers and an iron along with an ironing board. If you wanted fresh linens then you had to put the old ones on the floor. All of the amenities of a much pricier hotel.
The beach was amazing! It was about 30 steps from our door. The beach is wide and full of fluffy sand before it puts you into shallow waters. It was never very crowded and really only had motel guests in our area. Many walkers and joggers early in the morning. The sandbars held loads of sand dollars and conch shells. I was able to find a few shark teeth on the shore. We were at the beach every day and never had any issues. People are very respectful of your stuff and space even when left unattended.
The motel is two blocks away from Publix grocery store. We utilized the small kitchen space for breakfast and drinks after a quick shopping walk. In the same plaza is a liquor store and other essentials. There is a Walgreens caddy corner to the motel. Everything that you need is within walking distance. Wings was the better beach shop. We also walked to enjoy a few of the restaurants (GiGi's, MadFish, Twistee Treat, La Casa Del Pane, and The Drunken Clam).
Sand Bar Bill's is amazing! Don't get me wrong, there is better food and drink out there but for a motel bar...we didn't want to leave. It is a tiny little place and very welcoming. It is outdoors and open limited hours but the food and drink are great. Try the specialty drinks! Draft beers are cheaper than cans but the Walgreen's sells canned beer. We stuffed our faces at lunch while taking a break from the sun (while leaving our stuff on the beach).
There were many families, a few couples, a few business types staying while we were there. Everyone was super friendly and we had zero issues. Parking near your room is premium and the two times we drove, we re-parked in a different space. The grounds were well kept with lots of wildlife and foliage. Housekeeping was a little stand-offish but everyone else was super friendly.
It was a great stay at the Bon Aire and we really couldn't ask for anything more, especially the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This is our third year at Bon Aire but our family has been staying there for nearly 20 years. This year we had 27 rooms after it was all said and done. And we already reserved for next year.
Yes the property is older, they are celebrating 60 Years this year.
We stayed in the same room as last year which is a one bedroom apartment. We had plenty of room and were right there steps to the beach and cabana.
Kitchen is small but functional and there are grills spread throughout the property. BYO charcoal. I brought BBQ tools because I'm picky but I'd venture to guess the hotel has them to borrow.
Our room was good like I said the only complaint was that the bathroom, especially the tub needs some TLC. We had minimal issues with the drain plug and they were addressed immediately by the staff.
The pools are nice and always kept clean. Staff is always seen sweeping, cleaning, emptying trash, and generally speaking keeping things shipshape.

We plan on coming here for a long time to come.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We enjoyed our long weekend stay at the Bon Aire in our 1 bedroom efficiency. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. The mattress was extremely comfortable. The kitchen was perfect for our needs and makes a stay so much easier. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is nice having the sand bar there - we grabbed an easy lunch without having to leave the beach. Lots of things to do close by. I would return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hapytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The holiday weekend was very busy everywhere at St. Pete's Beach. Bon Aire was packed with people. Lots of repeat guests, tons of families with young children. Lots of people smoking cigarettes which is allowed outside. It was a holiday and people were there to have fun and shoot off fireworks. (Not complaining, just stating facts).
Because of the heat we ran our a/c the whole time we were there, so even with fireworks we were not bothered much by noise.
The motel is older but immaculately maintained. Our room, and public areas were all freshly painted, swept and very clean and tidy. There is not an elevator in case stairs are a problem for hauling suitcases etc.
My husband had the ribs at the on site bar/restaurant and said they were delicious!
The beach is huge. We would go back. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Was looking forward to my stay here. Wow! My housekeeper was an older lady named patty, she was obviously on drugs or something, would not even attempt to clean my room if I didn't tip her. Incredible. She practically asked me to tip her if I wanted good service. Where does that happen?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Crussell547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGBon-Aire, Manager at Bon Aire Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Customer,

I am sorry to hear of your experience at our Hotel. Housekeeping is a service of your stay and gratuities are not expected or required. As I am having to address this situation in a public forum and not in person all I can do is apologize and assure you that this behavior is not acceptable for any employee of the Bon-Aire. Housekeeping is one of the most important operations of the Hotel Business and we strive everyday to make your stay the best possible.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and again I apologize for the incident.

Catherine Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

It was great to stay here on the 4th of July weekend. Everyone is friendly and it's nice to see how many guests are coming back. The shuffleboard tournament is great fun. The Sandbar is the best bar! The ribs on 4th of July were awesome! The staff did a great job with the ground-keeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
1.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
0.9 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Property: Bon Aire Resort
Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing