We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So absolutely clean and cozy”
Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We just spent three nights here and absolutely loved it. Clean and cosy and the staff were so pleasant, that is the cleaning staff too. We would recommend this resort to our friends. What more can I say? We loved it. Right on the beach, Long beautiful walks and one day we took a lovely drive Down to fort de soto national park. It was just delightful. We thank you, for our restful stay at Bon aire. Margaret and Brian Maan

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

For two years in a row now, we have stayed here. Bon Aire was the same this year as it was last year. Excellent excellent vacation. The staff is fantastic and the service is great. One of the best things about it is the sense of community. Many of the visitors there have been coming for multiple years. As a result, we saw many people we met last year. A welcome bonus to a great vacation! We liked it so much we've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was my 2nd visit to Bon Aire. My mother has been going almost every year for a 10 years and we stop in to see them. I love that the exterior is the same as when originally built in 1953. The grounds are kept immaculate, staff is helpful, rooms clean. Several options in room layouts - we typically get one with a small stove and full sized refrigerator to avoid eating out every meal. I found the bed a bit hard (my arms would fall asleep when on my side) but that truly is my only complaint.

The beach is huge and I mean HUGE. The flour soft sand never seems to get hot but does stick to everything. I would suggest buying or if you have a long stay bringing with small chairs for the beach. Also for drinking adult beverages an insulated mug to keep you cool out in the sun is nice too.

SandBar Bills is a casual tiki bar onsite and has good food and yummy cocktails reasonably priced that you can enjoy while watching the sunset.

There is a Walgreens across the street and you can walk the beach to local bars, restaurants or shops but there is beach cab in case you do not want to rent a car. The rides are normally tips only and others ask for a donation of $3+ per rider. We found the taxis rides varied anywhere from $45 -$70 one way from Tampa.

When visiting in November we saw many dolphins playing out in the water. We've yet to bring our kids but I know they would love it. If the water is too cool they have heated pools and shuffleboard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FritzyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Been coming here since I was a kid. Great location. Easy beach access. Nice terrace to watch the sunset from. Fun shuffle board courts, two heated pools, and a tiki bar. Rooms are clean. What more do you need? Only drawback is that one member management seemed a bit unfriendly in years past but he seems to have mellowed with age.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Best burger on the beach, best sunset view, best rooms and rates, best staff, best beach bar ~ the Bon Aire is simply the very BEST! It's the only place my friends and family want to stay when they visit, and they're never disappointed. As a local resident, I enjoy having a bite to eat ~ every item on the menu is delicious ~ and watching whatever sporting event is on TV while the sun is setting in the background. It doesn't get much better than that! .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here 3 nights in one of the basic hotel rooms. The room was simple, lacking even a desk, but the bed was comfortable and the place was clean. I was disappointed that although wifi was advertised it never reached to my room, and often the only place I could pick it up was at Sandbar Bills bar. The on site swimming pools are nice but by early morning each day a small crowd of people had already gathered at the tables around the pool, so it felt a bit awkward to go into the pool. The best feature of this motel is the location. St Pete Beach is long and beautiful with wonderful sand, and after walking the whole beach i'd say Bon-Aire is located at probably the nicest section of the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Bon Aire first opened in 1953 and from the outside, it looks every bit of its sixty years. You almost expect to see a 1958 Edsel pulling out of the driveway! But don't judge this book by its cover. The rooms are clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a high end room - this isn't the place for you! Management is always available if you have any problems. The Bon Aire is right on St. Pete Beach, so there is direct beach access, as well as two pools, if the ocean seems to chilly. The rooms are simply furnished but are very well priced compared to other hotels on St. Pete Beach. It is the perfect place for family reunions, and it seems as if most of the guests who were there when we were, have been coming back with their friend or family for many years. We were there for a long weekend - this is our 3rd or 4th visit. We are already planning for next year's trip back to the Bon Aire.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,033 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £57 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bon-Aire Resort in beautiful St. Pete Beach, Florida is the ideal family vacation spot. The Bon Aire is a welcome alternative to mainstream hotels and motels, this boutique hotel, located directly on Saint Pete Beach, has that Florida 50’s-style charm and character that pulls you away from today’s hectic lifestyles. The Bon-Aire is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with 400 feet of beachfront property on one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida. Our Tiki Bar, Sandbar Bill’s Bar and Grille, a local favorite, offers the best cheeseburger and “Rum Runner” on the beach. Every beach deserves a great hotel, come as a guest and leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing