We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay on St Pete Beach!”
Review of Bon Aire Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay on St Pete Beach!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We like the smaller hotels/motels rather than the large ones with 10+ stories. This one was perfect in every aspect! From our room, it was a short walk to the beach itself. No streets to cross, all was within a short walk from our room. The property was kept very clean, and it was a pleasure to sit on a lounge chair and watch the sunset every evening. Another plus was the Tiki Bar on the beach. It was the perfect place to have a drink and watch the sun go down. The bar served great hamburgers and piled high nachos! The drinks were great too. We will definitely go back here when we want to stay on St Pete Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    115
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
155
137
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We keep returning to the Bonaire Resort because it is such a beautiful place to visit. We have been going there for over 40 years. It is family owned with a 2 story plan. They have a 2 person hotel room and progressing up to a 6 person suite.
For a family of 6-8 I recommend rooms 110, 210,211,212, 111, 112.
They have a 400 ft. Private beach that ends at the high tide mark. Four beautiful cabanas, and over 12 individual BBQ Grills scattered around the resort. They have 2 beautiful pools.
The landscaping is to die for. Hibiscus that the blooms are 16 in. across. Palm Trees of several kinds.
A note to Parents (Don't let the kid's feed the seagulls) You feed 1 and suddenly there are 50 coming from all directions. This can be very frightening for a small child.
On site is Sandbar Bill's for delicious drinks and sandwiches. Dairy Queen is 1/2 block away. A very large PUBLIX MARKET that has everything you could possibly want.
There are countless restaurants going up Gulf Boulevard.

Room Tip: for a family of 6 to 8 I would recommend rooms 110 111 112 210 211 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My sister is on the list for a room for Memorial Day, every year. This year she was able to upgrade to a unit with a separate bedroom and full living/kitchen. It was the perfect amount of space for us and our daughters. It was ocean view and just beautiful. The staff was incredible...as every year. If you can get a room here...I highly recommend it, especially for the family scene. Clean, bright and great maid service.

Room Tip: Upper floor is quieter. Book well in advance as it is hard to get a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The fact is some rooms/ suites are so much better then others !!!! You just have to get lucky, and stay more then a few nights. It's very laid back and relaxing. The bar and grill on the beach is a wonderful added enjoyment. The beach is beautiful!!!

Room Tip: Stay at least 5 nights and put your request in and cross your fingers. Go on the web cite to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Let’s start with what the Bon-Aire is not… it’s not a huge, fancy, overpriced resort with a fancy lobby, waterfalls in the pool, night clubs, etc. If that is your scene there are other options up and down this strip of coast.

Bon-Aire is classic “old Florida.” It’s a series of two story cinderblock and stucco buildings centered around the parking lots and pools. Even the signage is old-school neon. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We had two queen beds, a large TV and a small kitchen. There are lots of other options too, from full apartments with separate living rooms and bedrooms, to your basic hotel room with nothing but beds and a bathroom. There is an option for every budget.

The staff and other guests were really friendly. Almost all of the other guests we talked to were repeat customers, with some coming back to the Bon-Aire for decades. One couple my parents met had been coming back every year since their honeymoon in the late 50s.

The real star of the Bon-Aire is the beach. You are about two steps from the sand at the back of the hotel. Also, the Bon-Aire sits at the widest, nicest part of the beach with powder soft white sand. It was amazing.

A small beach bar, Sandbar Bill’s is part of the resort as well and sits on the patio back by the beach. Great place to watch a sunset and grab a burger (great, huge food). Frozen drinks are a little expensive, but they are also huge, so no complaints there.

My only real complaint was that the pool heaters were not turned on – which I understand a lot of places only run them in the winter – and the water in both pools was frigid due to the cool nights when we were there. It didn’t bother my kids at all, but it was too chilly despite 80-84 degree air temperatures for me to swim. The other issue for me was the amount of smokers. I haven’t seen that many smokers in one place since my parents were in a bowling league in the 70s. That said, the place is immaculately kept, well maintained and I never saw a stray cigarette butt. The rooms are all non-smoking too, but there is a lot of smoke in the walkways and around the pools and patios. It’s a small thing, but if you are sensitive to it you should know before you book a room here.

All in all, a great experience and I hope to make it back to the Bon-Aire soon! Just know what you are getting before you book, this is a local hangout and an older place. Very casual and carefree.

Room Tip: There's a room type here for every budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Need2TravelMuchMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Bon Aire Resort was everything we looked for ...location on a beach Gulf side,roomy accomodations at a moderate price pool facilities and a beach side grill serving excellent burgers, wraps, chicken kabobs, etc. All for good prices! We utilized the Free Ride transportation service which was very dependable and inexpensive. Excellent breakfast at the Dolphin Resort approx. 3 blks from us. Room 210 was a deluxe apt. unit with full kitchen facilities, separate large bedroom, and bathroom with walkin shower. Spacious living room was surrounded by windows with a Gulf view!! Best accommodations in the complex!! A few of the casual restaurants we would recommend includes Crabby Bills, The Wharf, Gigi's Italian cafe and several options at John's Pass Village approx. 7 miles away. A visit to John's Pass is a must..boardwalk along the marina with numerous shops and bars/restaurants..Dolphin tours etc. are available here. Beautiful beach with white sands and a great sunset view from the beach side of the Bon Aire. A great relaxing time was had!! highly recommend! .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherandfig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

From the easy fast check in throughout the entire week the Bob-Aire was excellent. The room was cleaned each day. The beautiful white sandy beach was raked and cleaned. The grounds were all cleaned each day. The restaurant/bar on site was great as well. The food was really good with good prices !!! Going back for sure.
Met many people there that have been coming here for years, can't find anything more reasonable.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the first floor, if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Aire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort

Property: Bon Aire Resort
Address: 4350 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3831
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing