We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and balcony”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caprice Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caprice Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view and balcony”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The Caprice is a privately owned condo facility. We stayed in 501, a top floor corner unit and spent a lot of time on the balcony looking at the ocean. You are within walking distance to restaurants, shops and groceries. There was 5 of us that stayed here comfortably. The condo has grills that are located out by the beach so you can grill while watching the sunset. There is shuffleboard by the pool area. The condo was comfortable and clean. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry0553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    38
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sabula
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

our family of 6 rented unit number 101 from may 23-27....IT WAS AWESOME......we had just spent prior 5 days at Walt Disney and this was just what we needed...a place to relax and enjoy the water... We are from Iowa and live on the Missisippi river, so enjoy the water... Sue was very nice and allowed us to check out at a later time, as our flight left later.. we saw fireworks on Sunday night...we were here over Memorial weekend. We will be back... this was a wonderful clean welcome home resort... Thanks for making our vacation complete. :) the pool toys and beach chairs they allow everyone to use is great.everyone pays it forward

Room Tip: 101 was fun room with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manglerSabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

My family recently stayed a week at the Caprice Resort, unit 407. The condo was just lovely and the view was outstanding. We could see the whole St. Pete Beach strip from our balcony. The condo was spotless and decorated lovely. We had two bedrooms and one bath and used the pullout sofa. If you decide to stay here, you will need to bring extra toilet paper and towels. Even though the condo starts you out with a few of these things, you will run out quickly if you have six people as we did. There are grills on the property which makes it nice if you decide to dine in. The guests were so friendly and everyone talks to everyone at the pool and in the elevator and corridors. The resort takes such good care of the pool and the grounds, everything was so nice. The resort is right next to the public beach, but to even get on the grounds of the resort, you have to use your room key. This made us feel more private and safe.

If there was a downside, it was the huge sandbags on this end of the beach. The beach is eroding and they put these huge yellow sandbags to help with this problem. It does distract from the beauty of the beach some, but we walked the beach and hunted for shells all around them. If you want to see the beach without the sandbags right in front of you, you will need to go down the beach. This can be a long walk depending on how far you go, or call a free beach ride and have lunch and drinks at one of the hotels as we did. We then walked out onto the lovely beach there and walked the beach back to our resort.

Room Tip: I recommend a higher floor, just because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sammydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We spent two weeks in early December at the Caprice and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was a quiet time (off season), but we enjoyed the relaxed pace.
We rented a unit not from the main agency but from an off-site management agency: http://www.resortrentals.us/condo_caprice.php This unit was on the top (5th) floor with a great view down the main beach, see photo.
The location was outstanding -- the main beach was basically just outside the front door, and a wide selection of great bars and restaurants were only a short walk away.
Our only complaint was slow response on a maintenance problem with the dishwasher.
All in all, we had a great time and hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fred_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband, toddler son & parents stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo at the Caprice Thanksgiving week, and it was perfect for us. The condo was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a week's stay (including items like dish soap, cooking supplies, towels, beach chairs/toys, wine glasses). The management even delivered a cooked turkey to us the day before Thanksgiving.
All condos have balconies facing the ocean & pool. We stayed in a condo with renovated bathrooms and kitchen & new flat screen tv's but older (well-maintained) carpet and furniture. However, not all condos have been renovated, so it's advisable to call or view the YouTube videos of most condos that are available from the property website to make sure you book a condo that has been updated. You can request specific condos, as long as they are available.

The facilities include a pool, 2 grills, shuffle board, free parking & a very tiny workout facility (1 bike, 1 treadmill, 10 lb free weights, small bench machine -- I opted for beach runs). The facilities are older but are meticulously maintained. The pool was never crowded, but did usually have a handful of children in it.

The property is perfect for families or couples - it is not a party place like some neighboring hotels. But, with that being said, it's within walking distance to at least 15 beach bars and restaurants. For me, it's the perfect location because you can walk to dinner or a beach bar and enjoy the sunset, loud music and evening out, but return to a quiet and peaceful night's rest without the late night raucous at some of the beach hotels I've previously stayed.

The Caprice is also a great value, especially if you have a group of 4-6. I have stayed in at least 15 different properties (mostly hotels, but a few condos) along St Pete Beach and neighboring beaches, and this one really outshines almost all(if not all) of them, especially for it's price range. We will undoubtably be back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NMJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed for two weeks in October this year in condo 403 at the Caprice. Just me and my wife for the first time without the kids, all away now. 403 has everything for a very comfortable stay. The very best thing though was waking up with a view of the whole beach down to Pass a Grille from the bedroom window then every morning walking (and a bit of running ....but not much :) down to the Don Cesar hotel and back. Seabirds galore to watch, pelicans diving into the sea just yards off the shore and some really friendly people. Yes and we did see dolphins playing in the sea just off shore at dusk on the last night which was fantastic too. So all in all a good value and relaxing holiday in a town with plenty of varied retaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We have stayed at the Caprice for years. Each unit is individually owned and the building is managed by a management company. The property is very well maintaned and very clean. I agree that Sue, in the office could work on her people skills. We love it here because the beach is perfect and so is the condo. Great gulf view and very relaxing. Restaurants and grocery store are in walking distance. Park your car and enjoy walking to nearby restaurants. I would recommend the Caprise to people without kids, not much for them to do here and small pool.
It is perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
0.6 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprice Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice Resort

Property: Caprice Resort
Address: 6950 Beach Plz, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caprice Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caprice Resort offers 30 exceptional one and two bedroom contemporary units situated in a 6 story elevator-equipped building. Each luxury condominium vacation home is privately owned and furnished with fully equipped kitchens, private Gulf-front balconies and nightly sunsets. We are known as the "Jewel of St. Pete Beach". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Caprice Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Caprice Saint Pete Beach
Caprice Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing