We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT Anniversary Getaway!”
Review of Gulf Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
“PERFECT Anniversary Getaway!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

25 Years ago we stayed at a very nice place on the Gulf in the Clearwater area for our honeymoon. 25 years Later, we found The Gulf Beach Resort.... didn't know what we were missing 25 years ago! Smaller, quiet, excellent FULL accommodation Gulf view room, with walk-out right on the beach. Pool, hot tub, gas grills at your disposal. Unit with 1 King bdrm (with TV), 1 1/2 ba, 1 comfortable living area (with TV, DVD, CD/music option, and pull-out couch if needed), Nice size Kitchen (fully equipped with cooking/eating utensils), closet space, AND many other small details that make your stay comfortable and EASY (i.e. beach towels, beach toys, even a beach umbrella!). Just a great family-friendly place to stay!

Room Tip: Check out "thegulfbeachresort.com" to see what "room style" / view you like best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFW715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We travelled to St Petes in June this year after a week in Orlando and we loved every mminute of our holiday. We searched for months to find accomodation at St Petes and eventually decided on Gulf Beach Resort. This was my second visit as I have stayed before, about 10years ago. The place was exactly the same as I remember. I love the fact that it is directly on the beach, there is a gate that leads straight from the pool area right onto the hot white sand. The beach is absolutely stunning, and the sunsets are out of this world. The resort is also located right next to plenty shops, restuarants, bars etc, and an IHOP right across the street that definitely came in handy!
The rooms were big and spaciouos and so well equipted with everything you would ever need for a perfect beach holiday. We cannot recommend this place highly enough! Book now, you will not be disappointed. We cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbiexPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Gulf Beach Resort after researching places to stay in the St. Pete Beach area. It was a great decision. GBR allowed us to stay for 3 nights instead of a week which seems typical. The staff (Kathy and Tami) was friendly and very accommodating. GBR is close to a number of restaurants, beach bars, and stores. The unit was clean and bright and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We found this condo on tripadvisor and it was definitely the best choice for our family. There were four of us (me, my husband, 1 1/2 year old son, and my mother). We all fit comfortably since there was a master bedroom with bathroom and then also a couch in the living room that pulled out into a bed with a half bath for my mother. It also had a kitchen and we had access to a free washer and dryer. We stayed in a unit on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean. The view was beautiful! The condo had large sliding doors in the living room and master bedroom with a huge balcony overlooking the gulf. We liked that there were not a lot of units in the condo, so there were never a lot of people by the pool. There were also toys for my son to play with at the pool and beach. There were chairs, umbrella, and cooler. Honestly, this condo was move in ready. All you need is your clothes and some food. Kitchen was stocked. Everyone was very friendly.
Location was perfect. There were places to eat from low key beach bars to nice restaurants close by. We recommend Bongos a few doors down on the beach. Publix was right down the street. We liked to drive a few minutes down the beach to Pass-A-Grill, where there are more restaurants, including a delicious ice cream shop. We will definitely be back, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the full ocean view on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin_T0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I just returned from our third stay at the Gulf Beach Resort. Over the years we've stayed at three other condo resorts and two hotels on St. Pete Beach and the Gulf Beach is our favorite. This trip we rented #202 which is gulf front. The room was very clean and comfortable with a large balcony with lounge chairs, two tables and 4 chairs. The nights were quiet. When we were on the balcony or in the condo with the doors open during the daytime, the noise from the pool seems to amplify and is more of a distraction then on higher floors, but it wasn't a big deal. Great view of the beach in both directions. We enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi but also spent a couple of days on the beach. Beach chairs and an umbrella are available to rent for $15 a day, right in front of the hotel. We like the security at the Gulf Beach. The building is locked all the time and the gate to the beach is also locked. All in all, we had a very relaxing, stress-free stay. Book early. It can be difficult to reserve a condo here because it has such a great reputation as the place to stay on St. Pete Beach.

Room Tip: The gulf front condos are more expensive but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeS50406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEARBORN, MICHIGAN
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just returned from our 2nd stay at the Gulf Beach resort. It Was Wonderful! We were in unit 302 (same as last visit) which is a gulf front room. It is a one bedroom apartment with a bath and a half and a full kitchen. The kitchen is very well stocked and has pretty much everything you could need including a blender and crockpot! Next to that is a dining area with a table for 4 and 2 seats at the kitchen counter. The living room has 2 comfy chairs and a sleep couch and a sliding door to the huge balcony. There is a separate bedroom with a king bed and dresser and another set of sliders to the balcony. In a hallway to the full bath there is a walk-in closet and another huge closet with bi-fold doors and lots of shelving for clothes and back up bedding, pillows and towels. The full bathroom has a door from the bedroom area and a door from the main part of the unit. It is large and spacious. The 1/2 bath is right inside the front door. By far my favorite area of the unit is the balcony. It runs the entire width of the unit with two sets of sliding doors for access. There are 2 chairs with a table to eat at and 2 full size loungers with a small table for relaxing. The balcony overlooks the pool, so if you have kids it's great to be able to keep an eye on them. We spent much of our time on the balcony. It does get full sun in the afternoon, so on warm days it could get toasty, but it is a great spot to watch the sunset from!
The outdoor area is very nice and well maintained. The large pool and hot tub are spotless. There are many lounge chairs around the pool and we never had a problem getting a spot. There are no units on the first floor so the area under the 2nd floor is a nice covered patio. There are 2 large gas grills and 1/2 dozen tables and chairs. There are beach chairs and beach toys that everyone is welcome to use. Also a Wall Hooky game on the wall that my husband and daughter are quite good at! There is a locked gate to the beach so you need your room key to go back and forth. Actually you need your room key to go in and out of the building. The doors are always locked, which helped make us feel much more secure. The beach is wonderful to walk - which we did everyday! The water was still a bit chilly for us to swim, but warm enough to splash in. Beach was always busy, but more so in front of the hotels. It's just a long expanse of wonderfulness!
You really can get by without a car if you want to. There is a Publix grocery store within walking distance and countless restaurants closeby. There is a Trolley system that runs Gulf Blvd. but I am not sure of the details of it's schedule. Crabby Bill's is next store to the condo and constantly busy, but we never had a noise problem at all from them. Several Tiki bars at the hotels had live entertainment in the afternoon for when you need a break from the sun and a snack or beverage to replenish yourself with.
The manager Kathy and her staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. Staying here is very affordable and cheaper than some of the hotels on the beach where you only get a bed and a bathroom. I really can't think of any negatives to share. We have already booked our unit for next year! We can't wait!

Room Tip: The Gulf front rooms have a full view of the beach and the pol. The Gulf view rooms have a side bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I have stayed here for the past 4 years and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. The condos are comfy, right on the beach, lovely pool and hot tub, very friendly staff, especially Kathy, and a short stroll on the beach to several fun tiki bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachside condo. If none are available, ask for one on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort

Property: Gulf Beach Resort
Address: 140 51st Ave W, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2458
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gulf Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing