We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Good, but it could be Better....”
Review of Sunrise Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Resorts
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It's Good, but it could be Better....”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We try to stay at The Gulf Beach complex right on the beach but they were full so we decided to try The Sunrise Resort on a recommendation. We stayed in room 405 the last week of February, and room 606 for the 1st two weeks of March. Room 405 was not as nice as 606 even though it had a new kitchen - 606 had more amenities and was more functional. Overall our stay was very pleasant. The following are our pros and cons for this resort condo complex.

PROS: (1) Beautiful sunrises, and waterfront bay views from the balcony which can also accommodate outdoor dining. (2) Amenities for young families - large pool, tennis courts, and the use of The Tradewinds group of resorts, which include cabanas, gym, towels + 10% discount on restaurants and stores. (3) Two bedroom units accommodate 4 and the PH units sleep 6. (4) The complex is well maintained, is sheltered from the wind chill of the gulf and the rooms are clean.

CONS: (1) Noise from Gulf Boulevard affects the unit front bedroom and sunset view is blocked by buildings across the street from complex. (2) There are more families and children who like to use the pool a lot (we like children), but perhaps an adult only swim time frame for an hour would be appropriate.(3) There is a big inconsistency between unit amenities. Some have better towels and linen, more dishes, flat panel tv's and room renovations.(4) Internet is EXTREMELY slow and drops signal constantly - this was experienced by many other guests (5) Two keys are required for access and it's easy for the key ring to fall apart - there is a fee if you lose a key. (6) Management is OK but can be aloof about guest concerns, i.e., slow internet (they said it was just updated), key ring problem (safer option needs to be put in place).They didn't care about this or that the front buzzer did not work, the newspaper machine was jammed - no one posted any out of order signs even though they were aware of the problems. They could easily improve on these shortcomings.

To be fair they do correct inaccuracies, unfortunately for an advertised luxury resort they come short on service. It would also be nicer if the office staff was a bit more friendly. Overall....I would consider returning to this complex.

Room Tip: Try to get higher level room - 6th floor is best. Be aware that the 2 bedroom units sometimes have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanukTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay and plenty of things to do for any age. From just walking the beach to hanging out at the condo at the pool or playing shuffle board or tennis. Plenty of shops & restaurants, around as well as grocery store down the road which we found very convenient so when we wanted to grill there at the condo or just have a sandwich or make our own little specialty dish we could do just that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I stayed with our best friends for a couple of weeks in early October 2013. The view from our 4th floor suite was brilliant. The resort is well maintained and in a perfect position for the beaches, restaurants and shopping nearby. Nice pool, barbecue area and dock for fishing.
This would be a good weeks break following a hectic time in Orlando.I would have no hesitation in coming back again.

Room Tip: Looking for a nice bottle of wine, try Norms about 400 yards down the road - fantastic choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeroSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in Room 409 which has been updated throughout. Lovely view of the bay. Resort is directly across from Tradewinds and access card allows use of the Tradewinds beach chairs and pool. Kids (6&8) were happy to play in the large pool at Sunrise as well. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Skidders Restaurant is a great nearby family restaurant that was able to accommodate my daughter's milk, egg and nut allergies. Will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Sunrise Resort during our family vacation to St. Pete Beach. It was our first time visiting this part of Florida, so we were really not sure where to find a clean, quiet place to stay that was close to the beach but also affordable for a family traveling with kids. We chose Sunrise Resort based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. Sunrise Resort is very nice and clean overall, and our condo had fresh bed and bath linens provided, along with all the kitchen materials you could need for the week's stay. There was a full kitchen so we could cook in some nights and go out to eat on others. They even provided beach chairs, pool materials and toys to use at the beach as well. The complex has a nice pool, hot tub, shuffleboard and tennis court available, as well as a nice pier to watch the minnows and manatees when you want to relax. Sunrise is beautifully located directly across the street (Gulf Blvd) from the beach, and we even got to use all of the facilities at nearby Tradewinds Resort across the street. We had access to all of Tradewinds amenities, except for the big blue water slide on the beach (extra $10charge). Beach Cabanas could be used as well, but could not be reserved ahead of time (that was only available to Tradewinds guests). There were plenty of cabanas available each day, so that was no problem. Overall, our stay at Sunrise was wonderful. I would absolutely recommend it as a comfortable, affordable choice for families, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchoolinJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I and our 3 kids stayed for a week in June. We could not have been happier with the condo. The condo was spacious and clean and well stocked with towels and linens. The pool was great and my kids really enjoyed having it there. The location was right across the street from the beach. Another plus is that you have access to the amenities at the Tradewinds resort across the street which was nice to have. Thanks Sunrise and see you in December for the holidays.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Rented a condo at the Sunrise. Everything was great. Large and clean rooms. Towels and bed linens were provided and the kitchen was stocked with pans and utensils. Plenty of room for the 5 of us. Beach is right across the street and the condo pool was perfect. Staff was very helpful and always pleasant. Kids had a great time and we plan to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMM7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
965 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resorts

Property: Sunrise Resorts
Address: 5445 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2360
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sunrise Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resorts St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing