We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Adventure”
Review of Shell Key Shuttle

Shell Key Shuttle
Ranked #5 of 29 Tours in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eco-friendly trip to unspoiled Shell Key for bird watching, shelling, dolphin watching. Sunset Dolphin Watching cruises by reservation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My friend and I took the 10am shuttle to the island and spent the next 4 hours walking the shores exploring. The water was a little cloudy and very choppy our vacation week so finding shells while snorkeling was not easy but there were still plenty of shells on the shore to collect. The further you walk away from the "drop off" point the more variety you see. Just off shore there were manatees playing and the local birds walk with you as they snack on the small clams. Make sure to bring plenty of water and sunscreen because there is no place to hide from the sun other than the umbrella provided.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Daria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    98
    30
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque, nm
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It is what you make it”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I was impressed with the value on our trip. We saw other excursions stop that did not equip their passengers as well. We were given a diving flag for safety, told how to shuffle our feet in the water ("stingray shuffle"), offered sunscreen, equipped with great beach umbrellas and a shovel, and our shell bags were big and could be taken in the water while looking for shells.

My suggestion: Pack a picnic, swim towel and goggles and make a day of it. Go to Breakfast at the Seahorse restaurant across from the Merry Pier and take the 10:15 shuttle. (We took the last shuttle of the day and wished we had stayed longer!). Since your are staying longer, walk further around the edge of the key than others do so that you have a better chance at finding unique shells.

It seems the best shells are found in the water. We found two sand dollars and gobs of shells. I had a manatee swim right by me while looking for shells!

Helpful?
4 Thank thomrho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing seashell adventure”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the best shell tour there is! They drop you off at the shell key island with a provided bag for shell collecting, and give you an umbrella and snorkel and mask to use. The other tours don't do that. They tell you the available pickup times so you can choose how long to stay out there. On the way back they give you a paper telling you what kind of shells you just got. Amazing adventure to take for only $25!!! Very highly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hot, fun, relaxing.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

They claim they can show you dolphins on almost every trip, and yes, we saw lots of them. Pretty big brown spotted sting rays swimming around the Shell Island beach, but they move quickly enough that it's hard to get more than a fleeting glimpse of them. Very few spectacular shells, but the number of undamaged shells is near infinite. Sand dollars out a ways, on the sand bars. We didn't go out that far, but found lots of large pieces of sand dollars. Small change, I guess. Worst part was we went on the noon shuttle, and had to stand around in the noon sun for almost half an hour. They were running short of umbrellas so we brought our own. When it was time to come home there were way too many people for one boat, so they made several trips, about fifteen minutes apart. Take food and cold stuff, because there's absolutely nothing there but beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KeAka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Shells!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We took the first shuttle out --10:15 -- and stayed until the 2:15 shuttle came back. Amazing shells were found. The big ones you need to snorkel/dive for but it was just another fun adventure for my boys. We found a huge conk shell and an abundance of sand dollars. The owner provides the snorkel equipment as well as an umbrella for those who want it. Highly recommend the umbrella as there is no shade on the island. On the shuttle ride back, we saw a group of dolphins which the owner was happy to delay the return so that everyone could get a good look. I would highly recommend this company. Can't wait to go back!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shell Key Shuttle also viewed

 

Been to Shell Key Shuttle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing