We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fishing for kids”
Review of Merry Pier

Merry Pier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic fishing pier with bait and tackle shop, fishing charters, island excursion charters and fresh seafood for sale. Bike and rod rentals.
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We rented 3 poles and went fishing. They have a 24 hour license there just for their pier that's only about $3 and 4 hour rental for $15 that includes 6 shrimp/rental. Lots of little fish around that are pretty easy to catch. Kids had a blast.

2  Thank ChuckL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The pier is in Pass-a-Grille, Florida which is an area of St. Pete Beach. There are many mom and pop restaurants both on the ocean side and intracoastal. It is a very small strip of land so it's literally steps from the beach to the intracoastal where this pier is located. The small shop sells some souvenier items as well as everything you need to do a little fishing from bait and tackle to rod rentals, ect. You may see dolphins in the water or people paddle boading. You probably won't make a record catch off the docks and pier but you'll likely catch some small reef fish or grunt at the least. Great place just to hang out and enjoy the day.

2  Thank Miami622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stopped in to rent fishing poles. We know nothing about fishing and needed some guidance. Man working provided no guidance, got more help from the other people fishing on the pier. Rented two poles and got a bag of shrimp. The pier had no railings. Not kid friendly. The kids wanted to look over to see the line in the water, but kept tripping on the pier. The stress that they were going to fall in was too much. There was no shade. One of the poles broke when we were reeling in a line with nothing on it. Made us pay for the pole. The pole felt funny when we got it, yet we still had to pay for breaking it. Not a great experience. Perhaps if we went out on a fishing tour, or had older children, it would have been different.

2  Thank Girl1Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuttle54, Owner at Merry Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Sorry you did not feel the staff was helpful. We always take time to explain how best to fish off of the pier when people are not experienced, especially if they tell us they need some guidance. The fee we charged you was just to offset some of our equipment cost, all of which was lost when the reel broke. I don't think you conveyed to anyone that day that there might have been something wrong with the reel from the outset. If you had mentioned that you would have been given a different rod to use. Again, sorry you did not enjoy your time at the pier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, lots of places for adventures like Miss pass a grille deep sea fishing (excellent fishing at a great price) shell key shuttle too. store for drinks and batteries, shirts etc.

4  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Awesome fish spread and catch of the day fish.. Reasonable prices. Will come back for more................ :)

1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merry Pier also viewed

 

Been to Merry Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing