We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Crowded & Long Wait”
Review of The Brass Monkey

The Brass Monkey
Ranked #34 of 146 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Description: Casual dining with a 2nd story view of the Gulf of Mexico and amazing sunsets. Specializing in Colossal Lump Crab Cakes and a variety of Fresh Seafood Items, but also offering the finest Steaks, Salads and even Pizzas, The Brass Monkey has something for everyone. Drawing on 18 years of restaurant experience in the Maryland Chesapeake Bay area, Kelly and her husband Barry have worked to achieve uncompromised and superior food quality, service, value and consistency in a casual dining atmosphere. All of the menu items are prepared in-house with the highest quality ingredients and painstaking attention to detail and freshness, all offered at a reasonable price. We are proud to say: "We overlook nothing but the Gulf!"
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, Crowded & Long Wait”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Our 1st trip to the Brass Monkey was nice, but the wait for a table was extremely long, with no place to sit during the wait. Of all nights, the owner was having a private gathering which took up a large portion of the already crowded indoor dining area. We didn't dine on the deck due to a heavy storm moving through, but it does offer a beautiful view of the Gulf and sunset when not cloudy. The food was good and priced well. Beer was reasonably priced, but the signature mixed drinks were well overpriced at $8.50 for an 8oz drink (you can get a 16oz Rum Runner at a similar location nearby for $5.00). We will possibly go back on occasion as there's many other choices around the area. One additional note, we had to pay for parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomLee519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    225
    84
    48
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived around 1pm Friday. Not greeted at the top of the steps/ entryway. Finally found someone who said " sit wherever you want" . We sat outside on the terrace. Nice view of the beautiful pass-a-griie beach. The view is the only good thing about this bar/restaurant.
Waitress acted like she was doing us a favor by stopping by. Ordered soft drinks which were brought out in small solo cups. It was hot so the drinks went fast. No refills for a long long time. Ordered grouper sandwiches. Took forever to receive them and when we did the waitress forgot the mayo and the chips. She finally came back with the chips and drink refills but forgot the mayo. Waitress started to go get the mayo but saw a friend and decided to chat while
we were waiting. We had to ask another waitress to help us. By the time we received the mayo the food was cold and the bread was soggy.
Would not return here. Rude staff so so food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mtbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thumbs up from Marylanders on this fabulous MD-themed restaurant”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My girlfriends and I were staying in St. Pete Beach for a get away and headed into Passe Grille for sunset. While we were not the only ones with this idea on a beautiful evening, we were able to get seated on the deck of this MD themed restaurant (Ravens, Orioles, UMd, paraphernalia abounds). Being from Md, we were originally in search of something more 'local,' but were mistaken, as the menu attests. The food was terrific. A true Marylander knows how to prepare and crab and the crab reuben is a feast for the mouth. The grouper sandwich is also recommended. Our service was top notch- this visit capped off a wonderful evening- recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaleyJo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Food average, drinks average”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Food is ok. Typical beach bar. View is more impressive. Drinks not so good. Had a bloodymary, probably one of the worst I have ever had. Service was ok.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank r k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food & Awesome Sunsets”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you go, you've got to try the MONKEY BALLS(crab cake). They are to die for. The view of the sunset on the 2nd floor is just stunning. A must see.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylorgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brass Monkey also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to The Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing