We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprising.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprising.”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed at the Beachcomber on a weekend in November 2011. We had family members staying down the street at the Sirata, so we had ample opportunity to compare the two properties. We expected the Sirata to be better, but we were pleasantly surprised by the Beachcomber. The room was a reasonable rate (we were in the cheapest available); it was spotlessly clean, even if it was slightly dated; and the staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact, I think we had a better experience at the Beachcomber than we would have had at the Sirata.

Our room had a completely adequate bathroom, a small refrigerator, and plenty of space to move around. I was particularly pleased with the ventilation in the bathroom. So many beach hotels have a musty smell -- probably brought on by mold/mildew from inadequately vented bathrooms. The Beachcomber must have some enhanced system, because I noticed many small vents near the ceiling in the bathroom, and not once did we have too much humidity in the room -- despite the high humidity outdoors.

The room, including the bathroom, was very clean. The hotel is arranged like a rectangle, with the lobby on one end, the bar (Jimmy B's) on the other end (beyond the bar was the beach), and the rooms lining the other two sides. Unlike at the Sirata, where the noise from the bar permeates the rooms because of their proximity, we found the Beachcomber to be very quiet. This was true even when the bar was full. The bar seems to be a popular place -- a place to sit outside or inside, have a beer and watch their many, many televisions. Yet we found that even on nights on which the bar was quite active, we couldn't hear it.

They also had a large heated pool which we did not use, but would have if we stayed longer. Also, the Internet was unexpectedly free. A nice touch, and different from other hotels.

The beach itself is just incredibly spectacular. St. Pete Beach is the best beach in Florida, if you ask me.

I would recommend the Beachcomber to anyone looking for a reasonable and quiet room on St. Pete Beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Statgrrl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    479
    237
    104
    77
See reviews for
504
672
76
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

very friendly staff from the front desk to housekeeping. rooms very clean this was a wonderful time spent at beachcomber would recommend friends and family.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing beach great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptimeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We came to the Beachcomber for our annual "Girl's Trip, there were 11 of us this year. We normally go to an all inclusive in the Caribbean but wanted to try something different with a non stop flight this time. The resort was well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. the rooms are clean but a bit dated, 4 of the rooms were facing the pool and one was beachside on the first floor, all with kitchenette's. The first floor beachside room was much smaller than the others with no seperate room for the kitchen, but we wanted the bigger outside patio area so we could all sit and have drinks and snacks together. We also could not see the ocean because of a large hedge in front of us but we knew that. If you want to see the ocean, request a second floor room. There are plenty of places within walking distance for meals and drinks. Jimmie B's has entertainment from 2:30 PM until 11:30 PM. The noise from the bands wasn't bad with the door closed but on Saturday night the noise from the guests leaving at 2:30 AM was very loud and woke us all up. Another bar, Players, is a sports bar and was okay too. The pools, one medium size and one small were okay, the medium sized pool had very uncomfrtable hard plastic lounge chairs, the smaller pool had the plastic strap chairs which were a little more comfortable. The staff were always cleaning, sweeping or generally doing something to keep the property looking nice. We enjoyed our stay and came home tan and relaxed. I would recommend the Beachcomber to friends but will also let them know of the few negatives as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattycake57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Buena Vista, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This beach resort is simply fabulous! My room was super clean and amazing, my view spectacular, the staff, exceptional! Truly a great experience! The pool was clean & gorgeous, the flowers and tropical palm trees were postcard perfect! The front desk staff were perfect! I couldn't imagine a nicer place to stay! I will be back & cannot wait!

Room Tip: Any room at this resort has a fabulous view of the gardens, pool & beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9CandaceS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Beachcomber was a decent place to stay and is well located but certainly not special. If you are a person who enjoys a quiet and peaceful stay away from home you might want to steer clear of this place. This hotel is geared for the partying crowd. On the weekend I could hear drunken guests screaming and yelling almost the entire night. If you like the bar scene and you don't mind the noise, this is the place for you. The staff was friendly and professional and the rooms were clean but dated and in need of repairs. The pool was enjoyable and it was a short walk to the beach. Please be careful not to sit on the beach chairs without paying. The Beachcomber beach has an associate that watches the beach chairs for anyone that might be inclined to sit on one so as to collect the rental revenue.....pathetic! I will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leslie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I checked both reviews here and Expedia before booking into the Beachcomber resort, we were really looking forward to staying here even just for one night before we heading to Orlando.

Checked in on the 28 Oct., but it was raining, we got an upgrade too with a proper kitchen, but no one here mentioned the room and kitchen is very dated, bathroom is very small(we are very slim). I guess if the weather is good you will be out on the beach and just come back for shower and sleep, but as the weather was wet and cool we could only stayed in the room or sat on the corridor looking at the beautiful matured court yard garden + fountain. Perhaps it was humid and wet, the floor in the room feels really damp and smells muggy in the room & kitchen. both windows feel very dusty. But at least the bed was soft and we had a good rest here.

Beware, not to ask for a first floor room (2nd level) if you can't drag your luggage up the stairs as there is no lift and if you have a large 4x4 or SUV be sure don't park on the side, it's one way only.

Beach is beautiful and peaceful would love to go back for the beach, but might check out other hotels next time.

Room Tip: Gulf view room could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missKAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmetto Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Every one was very helpful Donna your manager was most helpful the girls at the front desk were most helpful very pleasent. house cleaning was very good. Great pool, Jimmy's bar had good hamburgers. We had a kitchen and we had a public's near and also a dollar store. Ithink this will be our fifth year. We spend at least ten days and it is wonderful

Room Tip: They were all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
990 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio and Flat Screen TV with free HBO. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing