We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was on our itinerary at the end of our 2 week vacation. After our cruise and Universal, this was the part of our vacation that I had most looked forward to. St. Pete Beach is rated highly I understood on trip advisor. It just wasn't what I had expected. First of all, the area is a complete tourist trap. It seemed that all the buildings on the strip were built in the 70s. The resort itself had very narrow one car lanes to park in and it was not easy to back out of. The rooms were old and musty. The kids felt dirty coming out of the shower and onto the bathroom floor. We had two beds and a roll away cot. The cot was $20 a night. With the cot in the room, there was no way to navigate from one end to the other. There just wasn't enough room. Ironically, they have a big closet where you could put your luggage, but that space probably would have been better used as part of the room itself. The curtains also don't go all the way, so you could actually see into our room and others and look into a mirror on the wall and see everything. We also had a mini kitchen. Only 1 of the 4 stovetops worked. There wasn't any counter space. So, if you wanted to use the counter, you would have to move the dishrack or microwave out of the way. The floors in the kitchen were very grimy.

On the positive side, the housekeeping staff seemed very cordial. More so than the front desk. Best of all, they heat the pools up to 84 degrees. I think they are sincere in trying their best, but the facility is just a tad on the old side. You're paying for the vicinity to the beach. As long as you understand that, your expectations won't be out of whack.

Another thing: They have a bar on the premises. From our room, we can hear all the noise well past midnight. With the birds chirping in the early morning, it makes for a very tired bunch.

Probably won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYC2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    460
    229
    100
    76
See reviews for
481
655
76
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Before booking, I got a different rate than my girlfriend did. Spoke with the manager about this and she refused to honor the lower rate, despite my having the clerks name. Anyway, nothing special. The rooms were ok, if you want a microwave you have to pay extra for it. If you want to use the computer you have to pay extra unless you're printing a boarding pass. You only can park one car in the lot, if you have more than one, you're expected to park across the street and pay 30.00. I've stayed in this area many times and wouldn't go back here, there are others I would look at.

Room Tip: I would check other places. Theres alot of choices in this area and theres nothing special about thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We've been coming down to St. Pete for a few years for the Phillies Spring training, and we finally found the perfect spot! It is very reasonably priced. The room was quiet with a nice view of the inner gardens and fountain. Everyone working on the property could not have been nicer!!!! Cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Balcony off our room, awesome beach bar, amazing views and a perfect location to go to pass-a-grille and treasure island. Would recommend for sure! The rooms were very nice although I thought it was odd that they had tile floors in the rooms. The vents in the bathroom were dusty but the rooms overall were very clean. I'd go back again anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were staying next door at the Postcard Inn and the place was priced much higher than Beachcomber, had a million unsupervised kids running around, a leak in one room and overall was extremly disappointing. We decided , after the first day there, to walk next door and take a look at Beachcomber's rates and facilities. We were shocked how much cheaper it was and the rooms were in BETTER condition as well. Add to that the amazing bar in the back had live music all day and night and a full bar restaurant in the front and we were sold. We checked out of the other hotel and they got us a set of 3 rooms asap. The staff was over the top nice to us, the food excellent, parking easy and overall we had an amazing time. I would reccomend this hotel if you were like us, three couples in our 40's looking for a comfortable relaxing time.

Room Tip: If you want real quiet, just ask them not to give you a room by the beach side bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIMMYPAL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Grove, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The Beachcomber is a excellant property. We had a poolside room. Jimmy B's is a great beach bar. I was able to watch the kids swimming and enjoy the great music - the bartenders were excellant at the pool. 7/11 is right across the street. Parking was not bad at all. My daughter enjoyed the 2 ducks that would visit us every morning. They do charge for the cabana's. I believe it was $18.00 so that was one bummer. The hotel next store has a great snack shack. Will return next spring break!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KdubbO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Though this hotel is right on the main road, all the rooms face inward to a beautiful grassy courtyard with pools and fountain, which gives it a calm, relaxing feel. The staff is incredibly friendly and genuine and makes you feel right at home. The accomodations are basic, but clean and comfortable. I would recommend bringing your own beach towels-the ones from the hotel are very small and thin. This is a great location with restaurants, liquor store and convenience store all within a few blocks walk. And of course you are right on the beach- which is fabulous. Having the beach bar and comedy club right here means you don't have to leave to find good nightlife. We were happy that the pools were heated since the weather was a little cool when we visited. Overall, a great hotel for a fun beach getaway!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the live bands at night, ask for a room near the front lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing