We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Bachelor Weekend "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The Bachelor Weekend "”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the friendly and laid-back service staff. There were 10 of us that flew out and met at the Beachcomber Beach Resort for our soon to be EPIC party weekend. JULIE at Jimmy B's was our awesome bartender from start to finish. She actually single-handedly made this guys' experience much better! Very courteous, polite, willing to chit chat it up...JULIE (from Iowa) we will not forget! We are planning a trip next year....I'm sure she will be in Management by then.... see ya again Saint Pete!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    470
    230
    102
    76
See reviews for
491
663
76
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently visited a girlfriend in Port Charlotte and we decided to take a ride to the Beachcomber to see the rennovations. As usual, the staff came running out to greet me like I was family. My friend and I decided to stay the night because we heard there was going to be an exceptional band at Jimmy Bs that night. I must tell you the rooms are just beautiful and so comfortable. This was my 7th stay at the Beachcomber since I retired. When we went to the bar, the bartender came over to great us and she gave us a great big hug. The grouds are just stunning. There are beautiful new chairs in the bar area with little fountains! I always loved staying there, but the new place made it even more inviting. Can't wait to go back in the fall for my yearly trip with the girls. I think we are up to around 20 in our group now. Thank you so much to the staff and management for treating me like royalty and for continually making The Beachcomber and Jimmy Bs Beach Bar the absolute best place to stay in Florida. I am counting the days until my next trip. Love you all!

Room Tip: I love to stay in the garden/fountain area away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franminissale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Fl
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose the Beachcomber because of all of the positive reviews, the location and the on site beach bar. We are so glad we did. This was a weekend get away to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. There is shopping, dining including breakfast and delis, other bars and ice cream all within walking distance. There is NO reason to get into your car for anything once you arrive. The Beachcomber is exactly what the pictures and positive reviews indicate. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept. If you are looking for a lively and fun place to spend time at the beach....this is it! If you are looking for a quiet retreat with few distractions, go somewhere else. The Beachcomber revolves around the exciting, loud and fun Jimmy B's beach bar - it is rated the number 1 beach bar in Florida for a reason. (Check out their reviews if you want more info). The swimming pools are very nice and the bar offers food and drink service at the pool....a big plus! They also offer rafts, noodles and other pool toys for your use. All of the help is extremely friendly and the bar help does a great job considering the place is always packed. The food is excellent bar food at a reasonable price, especially for on the beach. The rooms are recently remodeled and very clean. The bathroom is decent sized and the walk in closet is ample. Take note, the rooms are small like a modest hotel or motel. Who uses rooms at the beach for anything other than sleeping, showering and changing? They work just fine. Now, I want to address a few of the negative reviews I read to help you evaluate the validity of them. Some negative reviews said the Beachcomber was too loud. It is and it does not portray itself to be anything different. The complainers obviously did not do there due diligence if they were expecting quiet. A few reviews complained that this was no resort and misrepresented. It does have resort in it's name, but is not a resort. It is a typical old St Pete beach hotel....but with exceptional grounds and amenities.......for a St Pete Beach property. Properties on the beach are long and narrow because beach property was at a premium years ago when everything was built. Parking has been an issue on some reviews. We did not experience any of this. There are parking attendants on duty that only allow guests to park in the main lot adjacent to the property. There is a secondary lot across the street for bar patrons and visitors. This lot is also monitored. You are issued a parking pass at check in. Maybe all of parking lot attendants do not do their job as well as the one we had for 3 days. She was in total control and I saw spaces open every time we walked somewhere. I saw reviews complaining they had to drive somewhere for breakfast because the resort did not offer breakfast. That's pure ignorance. The Toasted Monkey next door, The Post Card Inn on the other side of the Beachcomber and Skidders 2 blocks away all offer great breakfasts in easy walking distance. Why drive? There are at least 6 great dinner restaurants in walking distance and that does not include the hotel restaurants along the beach. There are also 2 delis and 2 ice cream shops within 2 blocks. Do your research and save yourself some headaches before you arrive. Bottom line, if you chose the Beachcomber, you will NOT need to jump in a vehicle - what a treat. You will have fun, you will enjoy the beautiful beach and you will leave relaxed and happy!

Room Tip: The rooms near the pools and beach bar are not as noisy as some reviews indicate. After 8pm the musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Miknkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Clean rooms,accommodating staff and the pool and beach bar are a fun time. St. Pete beach is one of the best beaches around. This is a great place to relax and unwind. Friendly atmosphere and people, not like the fuss buttons next door at the Postcard!

Room Tip: Poolside or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. Have family in St. Pete so thought being on the beach and visiting family were a good combo. The hotel does NOT have adequate parking not only for visitors but for the actual guests of the hotel. Went out in the evening to visit the family & downtown only to return by 11pm and not find parking. The hotel staff tried to accommodate but they had trouble too, They let the general public park if they are going to the beach bar and take up guest parking,
In addition, there is no accommodation for a quick breakfast. The restaurant doesnt open till 11am and only for lunch and dinner. So if you want breakfast you have to get into the car, drive to a restaurant and hope there is a spot when you come back.
Hotel also charges for use of the in-room safe. How weird! Why not add the $2/day to each rate and don't insult the guests with "nickel & diming" for petty stuff.
Hotel doesnt have beach chairs & umbrellas so you have to pay an outside vendor an extra $22/day for that too. AND, the vendors pick up your chair cushions and the cabana covering at 4:30-5PM. That's still the middle of a beach day during the warmer Spring & Summer months! We're used to Sanibel Island were the resorts and B&Bs are alot more accommodating.
The staff at the hotel are very pleasant and try to accommodate but their hands are tied regarding the above. Guess it's senior management that is not listening!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agarf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I recently stayed at the beachcomber for three nights. I'll start by staying the staff here is very friendly and accommodating but they should not refer to themselves as a resort. This is a motel. We reserved a kitchenette with a garden view. My view on one side was the neighboring hotels dumpsters and parking lot. The other side was the hallway leading to the bar. Needless to say, my room was very dark. It's also a bit of a hike to the beach and you have to go through the bar to get there (not great when travelling with a toddler). You also have to rent chairs and their beach towels were pathetic. There are also a TON of smokers on the premises. Expect smokers everywhere.

A "Resort" implies amenities for which this place didn't offer many at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great little old Florida style weekend getaway hotel on the beach. I agree that the term "resort" is probably a stretch for this property but it's perfect for what it is. The rooms are super clean, the staff is accommodating and friendly and you couldn't ask for better service at the bar and pool. My family (two young kids) and I stayed over Memorial Day weekend on a ground floor pool view room with a kitchen and yes it gets pretty wild by the beach bar (it was a holiday weekend after all) but we honestly weren't disturbed by any of it when we were ready to call it a night. Old buildings = good insulation. It's also nice that this property happens to be directly across the street from 7/11 which makes it easy to load up on drinks, snacks, etc. It's also on hotel row in St. Pete Beach which means it's a short walk to all the other beach bars, pools, and Tradewinds slide. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you don't want to participate in the party scene and you have younger children, book a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
470 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio and Flat Screen TV with free HBO. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing