We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before but won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Stephens City, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stayed here before but won't be back”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I stayed here nearly 2 years ago and even wrote a review about it here. I must say that I won't be back. This is a true disappointment. From the moment of check-in, when the desk clerk stated that I could have saved money by booking directly with the hotel instead of online, I felt rubbed the wrong way. Arrival at my room confirmed my disappointment.

Water won't drain in bathroom sink. The room just feels unclean. The room and decor are certainly in desperate need of an upgrade. Air conditioning works too good. Can't find a comfortable level. Noisy too.

Parking does stink here. Make sure your back-up skills are polished before parking here. You'll need them.

The beach bar is a nice perk and they have live music daily. $3 for a cup of draft beer (10 ounce?) is a bit pricey, but this is a resort so expect to pay resort prices. My room was adjacent to the live music and I can't say that I could hear it. I think the air conditioner drowns out the outside noise.

The bottom line: When I walk in and the clerk tells me I could have saved money, well, like I said above, that rubs me the wrong way. If I weren't such a nice guy, I should have said "Shut up and give me a discount".

Maybe if they'd dump some money in and clean up and upgrade, I'd come back. In the meantime, should I decide to come back to this area in the future, I'll be looking for some place else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    479
    237
    104
    77
See reviews for
504
673
76
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The only thing that we did not like was the parking.....or lack thereof.....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzieNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winter haven
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

nice hotel, friendly staff, nice ammenities, great beach-access and wonderful atmosphere. Rooms could have been a little more updated with better kitchen appliances and a flat screen, nowadays I think that would be standard.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhoward82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2010

we come to the resort every other month because we live in orange city fl. by daytona beach but we stay in st.pete because my husband has cat scane for cancer i think this place is very nice and i would tell anyone to stay thire if they visit st.pete

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenisha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The resort was Beautiful! The rooms were very clean and nice. Staff was helpful. Free internet. Fully stocked kitchen. Close to everything. Safe! Best bar in town located right in resort!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank townsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Would definitely stay here again! Staff is professional and courteous, but also fun and friendly. Rooms large and clean. Resort is close to everything; great location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Only reason I gave a 4 outta 5 rather than a 5 outta 5 was the room me and my girlfriend stayed in. It was waay too small for all the stuff they furnished it with. With two beds, a huge tv/dresser, two chairs, a night stand, a end table, and a mini fridge crammed in there, we could barely walk around everything. Other than that the place is great! The courtyard was beautifully manicured and features two pools. Excellent staff and service more than happy to answer any questions you have. Plus the location is awesome. Right on the beach, and right in the middle of the blvd with activities left and right. Also they sport two bar/restaraunts on the premises so you never have to go far for a bite to eat or a cocktail. So if your looking for a good value and spend most of your time outside your room (which is what me and my girlfriend do), it doesn't get much better than Beachcombers

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
990 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio and Flat Screen TV with free HBO. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing