We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and fabulous location”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and fabulous location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Alden is exactly as advertised online, pictures and all. We had a room on the sixth floor facing the gulf with a great view. Plenty of room in the suite for four adults. Having a full size fridge in the room along with dishes and flatware was really convenient. Parking access is controlled by room key which assures availability. Parking was at a premium over the Memorial Day weekend. The beach is great and remained uncrowded compared the the public beaches. The only knock we had was that the guests in the beach front rooms on the first floor were pretty loud until late at night. So request an upper room for a more quiet stay. Once the balcony doors were shut noise wasn't a problem. I'd definitely stay at the Alden again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank monkeyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We aim to please and looks like "mission accomplished"

Thanks for the 5-star review!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    607
    197
    80
    70
See reviews for
704
462
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I have visited the Alden Beach Resort three times in the last 4 years. Most recently, we booked a three night getaway to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. We booked an oceanfront room, and, we requested, if at all possible, to be in their western-most oceanfront wing, top (6th) floor, near or at the end of the building. The staff met our request, and we were thrilled. The whole staff was friendly and accommodating, and our suite spotless. It was our impression that the Alden was even nicer than it was the last time we stayed there (two years ago), with it being cleaner, better kept up, etc. We had a wonderful stay, enjoyed our anniversary immensely, and Alden was a major part of that enjoyment. We have recommended the Alden to friends, and intend to stay there again in the future. Thank you Alden for your hospitality.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are a real treat! The balcony was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
First of all, congrats on your 28th!!!!

Tony and his staff go way beyond in presenting the Alden to all our guesst, in a friendly, comfortable atmosphere...

Thanks for the kind review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the Alden Suites May 12-May 18th 2013. As we had not stayed there before, I was a little apprehensive. Normally the pictures that are on the website are not true to the rooms. We were pleasantly surprised that the pictures were indeed true! The room was very clean and quite big. The balcony we had was to die for and had room for both of us to sit and enjoy. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. The maids also were very accomidating with any requests that I left for them for extra towels or dish soap.

If I had one negative, it would be the size of the bathroom but that would not make me stay at another location.

We have found our vacation home in St Pete Beach :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
This guest said it all!

Thanks for taking the time to compose your review!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

St. Pete's Beach is the place to go! If you want a little sight seeing, then hop a trolley and take off. I just returned after a five day stay at this resort. I had the Gulf Front King Suite. It is a very clean hotel and well stocked with whatever you need. Staff are very nice. The beach - WOW, very wide and extra clean. I recommend this resort to anyone staying in this area. The court yard is also extremely clean and very nice.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the ocean then you will have to pay a good price, but it was worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dotelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thanks, we take great pride in our family hotel, and very much appreciate the comments about the staff and grounds, not to mention the best sugar white sand beach in the country!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We just finished a week stay at this resort and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were very clean and well stocked with extra towels and wash cloths, kitchen supplies, etc. The 2 pools were super clean and we also enjoyed the hot tub. The beach area was very clean and wide. Good location. Would definitely return or recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShariM50555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thanks very much!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston SC
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a very large facility and basically has two parts. One is the high rise on the beach, then the less expensive rooms behind that. We stayed in the less expensive section but were really pleased with our suites, access and parking. There is ample parking very close to your room with controlled in and out, so always seemed to be available spots. Our rooms were on the first floor and consisted of living room/kitchen and bedroom bath. Plenty of room. We were on a photo trip with lots of equipment so it was needed. Only issue with first floor was noise occasionally from the second floor and the walkway outside our rooms. It was not a bother to us, but could be. Staff was both friendly, accomodating and helpful. This location was perfect for our purposes and should be for most. We drove both south to Ft. Desoto park and north to St. Petersburg with little problem. Very good restuarants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We rented a Gulf front king room. The beaches in this part of west Florida are quite wide so even with Gulf front, you still have a bit of a walk to get to the water's edge, but the view is unobstructed. Lower units offer easy access to the beach, but higher units offer a slightly better view. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean and cozy. Like all Florida hotels, (especially beachfront) there may be a small amount of mold in the shower area, but despote what other reviews may say, this does not = dirty. It is just a bit of mold.
I recommend getting a room away from the elevator because the noise (both from elevator and rude guests) can wreck your sleep. They also have adorable little cottage type accommodations which I would highly recommend. They are reasonably priced although there is no view of the Gulf. However, the fact that they are one story and on the center of the property almost guarantee you a quiet night's rest.
There is a small pool and an upper deck that has three propane grills for guest use. The rooms have refrigerators and stoves, so there are more than adequate facilities for cooking so one does not have to eat out every meal. Families were welcome there but the majority of guests seemed to be couples. There is a small Tiki bar with limited brands of alcohol, but the bartender is super nice and can make just about whatever you request. The hotel offers a buy one get one coupon in your welcome packet to get you started. Most drinks are about $6.50 each.
There is free parking, and no resort fees. There are a couple of tennis courts for use that are open until 11 P.M. No free WiFi though. You have to pay $9.99 per day for WiFi use or other packages are available for longer stays.
The staff will give you honest feedback about local restaurants or attractions and are happy to talk to you.
The hotel could use some updating, but overall, it is a very good value and is located next door to the Tradewinds. In short you get more bang for the buck, plus, you can walk over and use Tradewinds restaurants, salon, bars, etc. You cannot use their pool or other hotel facilities.
Immediately out on the beach are kayak and paddleboard rentals. There are also cabanas on the beach but you have to rent them. Chaise lounges on the property are free but first come first served.
They do not have a gym but they do offer guest priviledges at a local gym for use. Just ask. They also have a deal/access for golfing at a special rate at a local course, so ask the staff and they will assist.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel but can only give it an average rating due to its age and lack of some on property amenities that travelers normally look for in a "very good" rated hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjdilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
537 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing