We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, run down hotel in need of updating”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here very recently, had to move rooms to another suite as we had children in the two queen beds and we had the sleeper in the kitchen and could not sleep due to very noisy fridge and air con. Asked to move to another room but staff were very unsympathetic and just moved us down to same suite but different level, fridge was still very noisy! Hotel is in need of updating, mould around bath, pools need updating but the actual location on the beach is great! Would not say value for money and no free wifi they were charging $5.99 per hr or $29.99 for 3 days, most other popular all had free wifi!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt&Sarah1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our first family vacation and we split our time between Clearwater Beach and St Petersburg beach. I found the Alden Beach Resort online through Expedia. I was a bit nervous because it was only rated 3 stars. I studied the pictures, read reviews and really was scared to book it, mostly because I wanted to the most bang for our buck and did not want to disappoint the family. We LOVED the resort! We were pleasantly surprised the moment we checked in. The lobby was clean and updated and the staff was very pleasant. Our room was perfect! We had a pool view room with a balcony. I would have preferred a gulf view and I should have asked upon check in but our room was fine for our family. We had a full kitchen that we were able to prepare meals and snacks for the beach and pool. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff was pleasant. The two pools were never too crowded and all of the other guests were pleasant too! It seemed to me like everyone was really enjoying themselves. Two of the nights we used the grills and cooked out. The grilling area was also clean and we had everything we needed to make a great meal. One of the nights we ate in the grill area and one of the nights we ate in the grassy area overlooking the gulf! The bartender Cali was wonderful! She was personable and friendly. She remembered our favorite drinks and always made our two young boys feel special with special "cocktails" for them. We played corn toss almost everynight and walked on the beach which was right there. Overall, the resort was very comfortable. We were sad to leave and can't wait to go back! (The stay overall was much better for our family than our stay in Clearwater.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Wow!

Great review...I especially like that LOVED the resort was in all CAPS!

Thanks for the kind comments and please come back and see us again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Alden is exactly as advertised online, pictures and all. We had a room on the sixth floor facing the gulf with a great view. Plenty of room in the suite for four adults. Having a full size fridge in the room along with dishes and flatware was really convenient. Parking access is controlled by room key which assures availability. Parking was at a premium over the Memorial Day weekend. The beach is great and remained uncrowded compared the the public beaches. The only knock we had was that the guests in the beach front rooms on the first floor were pretty loud until late at night. So request an upper room for a more quiet stay. Once the balcony doors were shut noise wasn't a problem. I'd definitely stay at the Alden again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank monkeyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We aim to please and looks like "mission accomplished"

Thanks for the 5-star review!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I have visited the Alden Beach Resort three times in the last 4 years. Most recently, we booked a three night getaway to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. We booked an oceanfront room, and, we requested, if at all possible, to be in their western-most oceanfront wing, top (6th) floor, near or at the end of the building. The staff met our request, and we were thrilled. The whole staff was friendly and accommodating, and our suite spotless. It was our impression that the Alden was even nicer than it was the last time we stayed there (two years ago), with it being cleaner, better kept up, etc. We had a wonderful stay, enjoyed our anniversary immensely, and Alden was a major part of that enjoyment. We have recommended the Alden to friends, and intend to stay there again in the future. Thank you Alden for your hospitality.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are a real treat! The balcony was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

First of all, congrats on your 28th!!!!

Tony and his staff go way beyond in presenting the Alden to all our guesst, in a friendly, comfortable atmosphere...

Thanks for the kind review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the Alden Suites May 12-May 18th 2013. As we had not stayed there before, I was a little apprehensive. Normally the pictures that are on the website are not true to the rooms. We were pleasantly surprised that the pictures were indeed true! The room was very clean and quite big. The balcony we had was to die for and had room for both of us to sit and enjoy. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. The maids also were very accomidating with any requests that I left for them for extra towels or dish soap.

If I had one negative, it would be the size of the bathroom but that would not make me stay at another location.

We have found our vacation home in St Pete Beach :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

This guest said it all!

Thanks for taking the time to compose your review!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

St. Pete's Beach is the place to go! If you want a little sight seeing, then hop a trolley and take off. I just returned after a five day stay at this resort. I had the Gulf Front King Suite. It is a very clean hotel and well stocked with whatever you need. Staff are very nice. The beach - WOW, very wide and extra clean. I recommend this resort to anyone staying in this area. The court yard is also extremely clean and very nice.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the ocean then you will have to pay a good price, but it was worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dotelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks, we take great pride in our family hotel, and very much appreciate the comments about the staff and grounds, not to mention the best sugar white sand beach in the country!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We just finished a week stay at this resort and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were very clean and well stocked with extra towels and wash cloths, kitchen supplies, etc. The 2 pools were super clean and we also enjoyed the hot tub. The beach area was very clean and wide. Good location. Would definitely return or recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShariM50555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks very much!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: £106 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing