We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great price, great location”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great hotel, great price, great location”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just ret'd from a wonderful week stay at Alden Suites, loved the location, room was wonderful, easy parking, easy in and out of hotel premises. Very friendly staff. Our one and only compaint - Wifi was awful. We even paid for the upgrade which was no better than the free wifi. We called front desk about it, they were apologetic and tried to get us to call tech support, which was not something we felt like doing on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post this review.

The new WiFi is a brand new FREE system for guests and we are getting good service 99% of the time, however, I apologize for the less than great service during your stay. Like any new system, we are getting the "kinks" worked out, and thus far have not received many complaints or issues.

Glad everything went so well!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    585
    186
    80
    68
See reviews for
660
456
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I personally appreciate the "all inclusive" concept in the hotels, but I will go back in this hotel even without the all in! :) The location is excellent - close to many good restaurants, shops. I highly recommend this place. The beach is... WOW! Clean, no streets to cross, gorgeous send.... fabulous! I don't have much experience regarding the USA hotels since I'm European, but i loved every minute there. And I will go back one day...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Wow!

All the way from Serbia comes a fantastic review!

We pride ourselves on the best beach in the U.S.A, in terms of it's cleanliness, it's powder white sand (and lots of it), and the calmness of the Gulf of Mexico, relative to the rougher Atlantic Ocean on the east coast of Florida, with the browner, more course sand.

Enough said...

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed as part of a reunion group of folks who worked together in the 1980s, and it was our second time here. I am a former general manager and the first thing that hits me when I stay at this property is that almost all the staff, including housekeeping and maintenance staff, look you in the eye and greet you (that is really rare). The location of the property, directly on the Gulf of Mexico, cannot be beat, and the accommodations are very comfortable - and most importantly, very clean. The kitchenettes in the suites are wonderful for fixing breakfast or lunch, and the property is situated very close to many restaurants. If you are looking for a relaxing and friendly place to stay, I can highly recommend the Alden.

Room Tip: Suites facing the Gulf are pricier, of course, but you cannot beat the view. However, the suites wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 828Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Well said!

Our Employees go out of their way to be friendly, courteous, and professional.

Thanks for the nice comments about our suites, location, and our staff!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

ok rooms, not the cleanest place but did the job. The beach was great. The pool was not so good, small, crowded. I guess good for kids. Location was good, easy to find. Little kitchen was good for making snacks and keeping drinks cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River Nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

if you wish to visit the west coast of fla. st pete beach is one of many great places. the Alden suites resort is located directly on the beach along side many other resort hotels. the difference is in the cost and every suite seems to have been refurbished and comfortable. the building itself is of the older fla. style but it is well kept and very clean.
the cost is lower then the upscale places that surround the alden but if you come for the beach it is all the same. tennis 2 pools hot tub private villas tiki bar and fire pitts at the edge of the property on the beach. very good restaurants of all levels are within walking distance or short ridesif you chose not to cook or grill on the many grills available all in all a great spot to spend in the sun. the only flaw was the need to rent a sun shaded, two lounge cabana for $.

Room Tip: all suites be sure to ask for a balcony suite overlooking the beach, well worth the great sunsets an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for the very nice comments....

The only topic that I feel I need to respond to is the beach cabana rentals: We do no operate that business, it is handled by an independent beach services vendor. They only charge $20 for a full day, and it is all brand new (Sep 2013) equipment.

We do not charge resort fees (like many of the local hotels) that can be from $15-35 per day, even if you do not use any of the amenities that are included with the resort fee.

Thanks again for the nice comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Alden Suites. It is at a very convenient location to many of the activities in the St. Pete Beach area including access to the wonderful visitor opportunities of St. Petersburg. The facility overall appeared to have a few years of age, but it was for the most part well maintained with many amenities...pools, spa, beach cabanas, many places for outdoor relaxing, 2 nice tennis courts and even a table tennis table. Our suite was on the 6th (top) floor of the facility fronting directly on the beautiful white sand beach. The furnishings in the suite were quite modest and basic, especially in the living room area. The kitchen area is advertised as "fully equipped," however, our suite did not have a full stove with an oven and contained only the bare minimum kitchen utensils and table service. We had only a small cook top and microwave to cook our meals. The beds were quite nice. For the money, our accommodations were very adequate and the people were quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Most of the suites have an oven, however some do not, but still have kitchens, which is a rarity in local St Pete Beach hotels.

Next visit, simply ask for a suite type that has full cooking facilities.

Thanks for the review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I am staying here now with my kids in a pool side 1 bedroom suite, 4th floor. Overall impression is that this is a well taken care of place. Nothing fancy, but probably the best deal on the beach. The amenities in the room are great, efficiency with separate bedroom and kitchen/eating/living area with a nice balcony overlooking one of the heated pools. Nice grill area to cook, clean pools, free wifi, parking and coffee in lobby, nice cabana bar. Nothing to really point to to say I wouldn't come back. But, there are a lot of smokers staying here which I know the resort cannot control - just unfortunate if you're trying to avoid this. The only disappointment I have that the resort can control is the overall cleanliness of the room. Not the day-to-day making of the beds and new towels etc but the room is somewhat old and unless the reset button is hit periodically and the room completely cleaned once over, you start to notice the dirty light switches and outlets (an easy and inexpensive fix), dirty walls, dirty door handles/knobs, worn and dirty corners where walls meet, hair in the bathtub upon arrival, dirty corners of the floor where the walls meet the floor etc. it just needs a thorough cleaning outside of the day-to-day. I feel like I should go through it with sanitary wipes to get that layer of guck off. Nice hot tub too, but cigarette ashes around the edge, cig butts and beer bottle caps make you wonder who was in there last. It's just after noon which tells me no one has cleaned the hot tub area since last night. A little extra tlc on the rooms (scrub them down once in a while!) that have not been renovated would go a long way I think. Despite this, we are enjoying our stay and hope management takes positive action.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nuketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I was concerned reading about the overall cleanliness issue in this poolside suite....I am surprised, as we complete "deep cleaning" of each and every one of the 143 suites, in the late fall of each year. I will personally inspect some of the poolside suites this week.

This is a rare review, in that we usually receive rave reviews in this regard.

The hot tub area is non smoking and no glass containers allowed on the deck. I am sorry that you experienced both in one day...this is unacceptable, as that area is supposed to be checked periodically each day and night, by our Housemen.

I am pleased to hear the nice comments about our huge suites and the other free amenities that this guest cited.

We will follow up ASAP!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
965 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing